We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean n private space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean n private space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We love this place!!! We stayed here for 5 days. And we enjoy the lazy, relax life... We cooked our own diner, breakfast. Have lot of the quality time around. The apartment r fully equipped. Environment is great too. Will be back again!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Hoon T

Great review, thank you

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    409
    148
    52
    30
See reviews for
173
642
75
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna BC Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Kawarau Village in Queenstown is on the lake near the airport. It has two hotels, the Kawarau Hotel and the Hilton Queenstown Resort. The Kawarau Hotel shares the facilities of the Hilton but is much less expensive. The rooms are very nice and contain a small kitchenette with a microwave, fridge, and a two burner range top.

Because the king bedroom is small, there is no eating area other than a coffee table.

The deluxe king room is well appointed and would be comfortable for a short stay. (We stayed one night before moving to the Hilton).

The facilities at the Hilton that are shared are a spa, indoor swimming pool and restaurants. There is a small convenience store and a pub as well.

Room Tip: The good feature of the Kawarau Hotel is the price. The best feature (that is not advertised) is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank no_to_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear no_to_rain

Really great review, thank you.

It was nice to read you enjoyed the room and that you took advantage to move to a Hilton room

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The first class apartment style accommodation with separate living and bedroom area. Everything shiny and spacious. Complimentary underground parking.
It is located on the bay side opposite from the Queenstown (a few kilometers away) but they have a water taxi to Queenstown if you do not have your own transportation.
For such a good quality of accommodation some minor things were disappointing though: Wi-Fi is not for free; no complimentary milk which was offered in every other property in NZ we stayed in (it’s not matter of money but convenience). Air heater was not working to our satisfaction and even when it started blowing something which may be a warm air, we had to shut it down as the air came with some perfume similar to those East Indian aromatized sticks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear drago_ca

Thank you for a nice review. I apologise for some of the issues you had during your stay. We will review the heater/cooling units to ensure they are working correctly and discuss the options of amenities in rooms.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Both myself and my kids loved the get away, beautiful weather and facilities enjoyed. Convenient water taxi to township was an awesome experience. Next time must get a unit with a balcony so we can sit outside and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Carolyn S

Great feedback, thank you.

You should try and get another getaway soon

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had our marraige ceremony overlooking the city of sails in North Island and flew to Queenstown the next day. The transfer from the airport was very laid back with several options for the 10 minute journey. Arriving at the Hilton which looked fresh and modern we had our bags taken inside for us and being slighly early for check in they secured our luggage and added us to the free mini bus into central Queenstown. I was thinking of playing the weve just got married ticket at reception but they got in first with saying they had upgraded us to the Kawarau apartments attached to the main hotel. When we returned in the evening (by water taxi) we were amazed at the standard of our apartment and fittings provided, we were on the ground floor so we had our own patio and mini garden looking out onto the lake. We spent 3 nights at the hotel the modern gas fire was needed in the evenings as the chill was blown down off the mountains and it really gave a great atmosphere. We discovered there was an underground tunnel from the next floor which took us to the Hotel indoor pool and steam rooms, at times when swimming we had the pool to ourselves and at other times it was never crowded. Although we had the bus or water taxi journey rather than being walking distance to the town it added to the charm and arriving at the Hilton jetty by speedboat was very Bond movie ish! Due to the wonderful choice of eateries in Queenstown we did not use any of the Hotel restaurants although one evening we used the attached Sports bar for a light meal which was good quality with attentive staff. We also used the coffee shop whilst waiting for the minibus departure which also sold essential provisions to have in the apartment. Q. would we stay at the Hilton on a future visit to Queenstown - yes but we also came across some lovely hotels in Queenstown central and as we frequently travel about we might try somewhere new. I stayed in the Shangri -La Hotel in Singapore earlier in the year both recd. top marks but for different reasons the Hilton by the lake wins through on the picturesque views and a certain solitude.

Room Tip: If an upgrade to the apartments is available this would be our choice and a ground floor location gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Paul L

Wonderful review, thank you. You raised some really good points for future travellers that will make their decisions easier.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Kawarau Hotel just outside of Queenstown, on our honeymoon trip to New Zealand.

Before we arrived, we had received emails from the hotel's MAGIC team, stating we were made VIP's for our stay and would receive complimentary upgrades, use of the leisure facilities, early check-in / late check-out, etc. Never have I experienced so many broken promises in one go...

We accidentally called to the Hilton Hotel upon arrival and were kindly directed to the Kawarau Hotel. From there, things went rapidly downhill. The staff on the front desk were very unfriendly, proceeded to offer us all the above at a charge PER NIGHT - $30 for lake view - $50 for Hilton upgrade - $25 for leisure facilities - $30 for late check out....

We were so offended having been made 'VIPs' for our stay - what a load of rubbish! The only positive thing was the room is quite nice and spacious.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JKPR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear JKPR87

I was very sorry to read how we had disappointed you on your recent stay. An unacceptable situation for which I apologise.

I will share your feedback with the team to ensure we are exceeding on expectations and delivering on promises.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We came to Kawarau having just spent 3 days walking the Kepler Track, in need of a shower and some r&r. The hotel ticked all the boxes on this front and the regular water taxis into Queenstown worked better than driving.
My only minor criticism would be that to try and charge extra for spa access is a bit cheeky - the hotel is not cheap (but not as over priced as some reviewers found, maybe we got a good deal) and given the facilities are onsite I think they should be included in the rate.
Enjoyed a few drinks in Stacks bar and coffees from the cafe (although be prepared to wait at the cafe!)
All in all - just the job

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgm2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear mgm2007

Thank you for a great review.

We currently charge to use the pool and gym as the difference in rate to stay at the Hilton is significant and therefore has added benefits.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing