We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but missing some basics”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very comfortable bed, good facilities and quiet location. Staffs are always polite, friendly and helpful, no complaints whatsoever in regards to room quality and we got very beautiful lake view. For those who complained about no lake view, I suggest you upgrade to Deluxe room which guarantees lake view, as simple as that.

However, I have quite a negative experience with housekeeping who seems lazy, makes me wonder whether or not this is a hotel really managed by Hilton. Stayed here for 7 nights and did not notice the floor and carpets cleaned at all throughout my stay. Small things on the floor like one cottonbud wasn't even picked up. Nights 6 and 7, floor and carpets felt dusty.

Toiletries were not always replenished, I noticed shower gel missing for 2 nights and shower cap missing for 1 night.

I always clean all dishes and cutleries. I even bought a heavy duty sponge and morning fresh dish washing liquid, but the plates and cutleries somehow became greasy after housekeeping cleaned the room. I don't understand why. Kitchen cloth was never replaced throughout my stay.

Room Tip: If you want lake view, get a deluxe room rather than complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great Hotel, queit location, great for a realxing stay, the breakfast deal with the hilton is excellent, the staff are really friendly, great rooms, small but has everything you need. Great shuttle or water taxis service into town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked this hotel for the Anzac weekend and we weren't expecting too much as we had got a great deal through one of the hotel booking sites. We were expecting a back room facing a brick wall but we were pleasantly surprised when we were given a corner unit with a view of the Kawarau Bridge and the Remarkables. Reading other guests comments we are surprised they found fault with this hotel. The rooms are double glazed and so quiet (even though the airport is close by) we heard no other guests closing and opening doors and every staff member was so friendly and helpful. Do NOT book this hotel if you want to be right in central Queenstown. We loved the isolation of this hotel and the fact that it was out of the hustle and bustle of central Queenstown. We ate at the onsite Stacks Pub and the food was great and once again really friendly service. They also have a little convenience store and a Japanese restaurant, plus a hair salon and the hotel itself has a small boutique movie theatre. Bed was so comfortable, pillows great, and the towels really thick. If I had to have one gripe about this lovely place it was that they don't supply face cloths so make sure you take your own (which I always do). The room was serviced daily and all tea, coffee etc was topped up. Every staff member we met greeted us with good morning. In fact one day we took the wrong lift and ended up in the basement and one of the staff came out to help us find our way back to reception and she said but it was lovely to meet you! Yes I agree the Kawarau Hotel is a wee bit tricky to find, because we went to the Hilton at the top first before being redirected so maybe it could be more clearly signposted but once you get there it is a little quiet haven from the madness of Queenstown. We loved staying here. It amazes me the guys that moan about not getting free wi fi. Check that before you book if that is going to affect your overall enjoyment of your stay (or get a life). We used the data on our phone on the rare occasion we did want to hook up. Hope to get back soon!

Room Tip: If a view is important ask before booking as there are some round the back that don't get views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Lovely room with everything we needed. Clean and modern. Excellent service with free Shuttle into the city or water Taxi. Staff very pleasant, friendly and helpful. 2 false fire alarms and evacuations, one in early hours not pleasant, but not the hotels fault-(same guest both times!). Only fault No free internet available and have to walk to Hilton to get it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good value, but some noise from other guests opening and closing doors. Good location as long as there is a water taxi or bus service. More like a motel than a hotel. Stayed 4 nights only used room service once and was very slow on that particular night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent two nights here while exploring the Queenstown area. The hotel is across the lake from town but the location is nice and quiet. The room was great. We had a separate bedroom and living area with a nice kitchen. Very nicely furnished. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Where do I start. 2 fire evac in 1 day. 1 early in the morning & 1 at night. Parking is a huge problem at the hotel. Location is far from main centre. Food is way over priced. No room service & no customer service at all. It feels like they treat you like a lower class & give you low class service only because you are staying at Kawarau & not the actual Hilton. You call Magic or reception & no one answers.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZeeAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £103 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes’ drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 220 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room, boasting breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing