We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“here we are again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have stayed here before and wil be back again we really like this place its out of the business of the cbd but easy to get in there to eat and drink and get your party on if you want.We would really give this place the thumbs up they are great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marklesliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

The signage to the hotel wasn't very clear and we got lost before finally turning back and heading in the right direction. The room was lovely, clean and we upgraded to include a spa on the deck. The hotel felt to be lacking in atmosphere. The restaurant was empty and packing up at 9pm and the staff, although polite seemed quite disinterested. We were recommended to eat next door at a pizza bar which I would not return to. We were happy to get back to our room but when trying got get to sleep there was a loud buzzing noise coming from a manhole in the bathroom. As we had driven 8 hours during the day, we couldn't be bothered going through the the process of calling someone in at 11 at night. When I mentioned it at checkout there was a dismissive apology. The location was great, and we loved the spa on the deck, but I think that the overall vibe of the hotel was very impersonal. I will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Came for our 'mini moon', the room was fine, very clean and tidy although quite soulless. It seems the hotel tries to make money in any possible way! $30 each night to upgrade to a room with a view, $10 each way pp to use the water taxi into town and $20 pp to use the Hilton pool. Let along $29 for wireless internet! Perhaps my expectations were too high for a Hilton managed hotel but compared to overseas hotels this is very bad value for money.

For the price you pay, you would get much more value staying in town (avoid paying for water taxis!) and then being able to access better food/entertainment/wifi etc without added costs.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Staff are very non-responsive.

From the very beginning the service was terrible. We called the hotel 2 days before arrival to bring dates ahead one day. On arrival the communication was not correct in their system and we were told by reception staff"I know that staff member you spoke to on phone and he is a bit slow and doesn't really get things right often "

No assistance with baggage was offered nor help with trolleys to room.

We booked the shuttle bus back from town on the first night and with no communication to us the shuttle was cancelled leaving us only water taxi (which we made last min) or a taxi costing $40-$50 as hotel is 15-20 min out of town.

We booked shuttle for the following day to coincide with a booked tour. When called to confirm booking it was once again cancelled with no notice to us. both am and pm shuttle bus cancelled.

Parking is very limited and if you do not get a park at hotel you must park on main road up a hill approx 5min walk away.

Food within complex is very expensive and minimal room service which also comes as an added cost.

The room itself was nice and tidy and also stylish however if you book a lake view room you may not get this. We booked a lake view room and could see no part of lake from our room.

Would not stay here again and would highly suggest anyone to stay at a hotel closer to town as there are just as nice , if not nicer hotels closer to town.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krizza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Yes this hotel is in a nice quiet location, and only a 20 minute drive into the heart of Queenstown, but we felt the signage wasn't adequate to differentiate between the Hilton and the Kawarau Hotels (both managed by Hilton), plus there were so many separate complexes. It was a bit of a mission locating the main Reception area and the map the receptionist gave us to find our way around the hotel complex was totally inadequate. Tracking down the restaurant for breakfast was another mission and we certainly wouldn't like to try it in pouring rain or snow as it was out on the street, down the road, around a corner and then good luck finding the actual main entrance. Breakfast was very nice although some of the dishes were barely warm. Our room was very clean, comfortable, (as was the king-size bed, although we had requested twin beds!), and the view of the lake was lovely. We did arrange for an up-grade to a room with a view of the lake and this added a further $30 per night to the room-charge. We did have a tiny balcony but could only stand on it as most of it was filled with a large air-conditioning unit. There were no spare towels and no facecloths in the bathroom. We only saw three staff members in the part of the hotel we were in for the duration of our stay - two nights! The Receptionist, a lady in the Information/Booking Centre and a cleaner, and not a single fellow guest! Quite bizarre! There was no Information Booklet whatsoever in the room regarding Hotel facilities, tv or phone usage or Emergency Exits. Doubt we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay extra for a room with a lake view and try to go for a room with a balcony that is...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hottees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great views of the Lake and very nice place overall. The price for the room was also very reasonable, and I would definitely recommend staying here again. It was also very handy to have a kitchenette and be able to cook our own food if we needed- as lots of hotels don't offer this service

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is our second time here and love it. Large room, very clean, quiet and modern. Close to Queenstown (without the traffic). The friendly staff are happy to tell you about local restaurants and attractions. We will stay here again. A great place to relax and sit by the lake.

Room Tip: buy the breakfast when checking in to save $14.00 per person. Corner rooms are larger.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brook G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,426 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £102 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing