We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kawarau Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kawarau Hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at Kawarau Hotel during Queen's birthday weekend. Good and clean hotel with friendly staff. Beautiful views - just by the lake and surrounding mountains. Breakfast was yummy too :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharmila Nadia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    430
    154
    54
    31
See reviews for
187
686
80
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a fantastic trip to Queenstown and really enjoyed our stay at the Kawarau Village. The accommodation was neat, clean and comfortable and the staff at the Village were incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfasts at the Wakatipu Grill were fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent hotel and was above what I was expecting. The hotel I thought would be excellent for the disabled and able. I had a accessible room and I work in a hospital. So the room made me feel like I was at work, but I thought the room was of a high degree for support of the disabled. Excellent facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Kawarau Hotel within the Hilton complex. It was a real treat, price was reasonable, and you can access so many different facilities within the Hilton complex. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon. Even though this is a 10minute boat ride from the main Queenstown, it is still so lovely! Rather the water taxi is quite a lot of fun and gives you a good view of the city.

The hotel has lovely food and even better staff!

Overall a fantastic stay, and I would surely come back :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinloch, Glenorchy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We chose to stay here as we were flying out early. Great parking, tidy rooms, though needing a wee end of season touch up. Room was very cold on arrival 7:00 p.m., though heated up quickly with the heat pump. Great layout with separate lounge from the bedroom and bathroom. Great use of space. Perfect base for skiing Remarkables on a self-drive basis, also for conferences. The evening sun and the cycleway going past are a great added extra.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for a lake view at the Hilton and for the pool facilities depen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinloch_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very good hotel. The staff was extremely helpful. It's a boat ride or car trip from the CBD of Queenstown so pre-planning is required. It's within 5 minutes of the airport. We'd definitely stay their again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveSidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,451 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,394 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing