We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kawarau hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Location was great, lake views, pleasant walks and close to ski fields and airport.Breakfast was outstanding value with an excellent spread laid on.The room was very quiet with a very comfortable bed. Check in and check out quick and easy with no waiting.Midday checkout very convenient will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janzilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The room here was very nice (lake view). However if you want to relax in the pool/spa (located adjacent in the Hilton) they charge u an extra $20. Also, it was only after some negotiation that I managed to get a locker. Come on Hilton, if you want to 'extend' pool access to Kawerau guests make it free OR give them a locker to store their stuff. This place is a ways out of town so be aware you'll need a car.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank gingatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

stayed for a few nights as a base for Queenstown activities, found to be an excellent location as detached from the main areas meaning peaceful and quiet yet excellent array of venues to eat and drink. Can not fault the hotel in any way

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had stayed two nights at the Kawarau, and what a pleasant place. The spaces is a little tight, but you get everything and more in a well arranged room. My two nights stay was amazing in this beautiful hotel, and will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toshing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

True 4 star, unlike some of the other hotels on Tripadvisor (be warned, check all the comments - we've made mistakes). It's not the actual Hilton and you need to pay more for the pool but it's an awesome hotel in a beautiful location. We grabbed Fergburger, a bottle of nice wine from a winery visit and had a lovely evening with dinner and a movie in our room - the kitchen made this possible. We also went for a long run along the lake in the morning (for training but to work off those burgers) and the path, views and weather was stellar. The hotel is not IN town, but very close. We had a wonderful stay for our last-minute anniversary trip and would return or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McBot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I've been to 5 hotels in Queenstown and this the one I'll return next time.
Why?
+ just 5 -10 min away from to the airport; however, no noise of any plane and nice view to the lake.
+if skying or willing to make excursions, you do not need to go through Queenstown
+ you can go to Queenstown in 10-15 min by car.
+ nice spacious garage
+ ski rental besides the hotel and room to leave the equipment
+ room nicely decorated and very convenient
+ there is a kitchenette but you can also go to the Hilton restaurants
+service friendly
+ price much lower than same characteristics in Queenstown

Cons?
+ the rooms were quite small (do not think of an standard hilton room)

Room Tip: worth to pay a little bit more for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank silviabcn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

They offered an upgrade on arrival and we took it! Was worth it, the room was beautiful and the view was superb! Couldn't go without it!

The quality was of high standard and the home cinema was really fun to use! There are some lovely walks from the hotel and a new world back towards the airport!

The only thing is that the use of the hilton facilities was too pricey! But I was hardly there! You can easily spend your time in your room all day!

The hotel was lovely and really made me feel at home! A definite must do when I return!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,201 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,420 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,477 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £95 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes’ drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 220 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room, boasting breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing