We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queenstown Country Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hayes Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millbrook Resort(Arrowtown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
167
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsb bnew zealandwonderful hostsgorgeous countrysidesheep and cowsfavorite stayfell illeach eveningremarkables roomlovely homeperfect place to relaxplace to stayeach morningtea and coffee making facilitieslocal attractionsluxury stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at the Queenstown Country Lodge for three days in December 2012. Amanda & John (Hosts) were incredible as they ensured that they looked after us each day. From great food, to transporting us to different local destinations and especially for the local recommendations for restaurants and wineries. Nothing to them was too much trouble

An added bonus is the quiet location surrounded by baby lambs and beautiful peonies roses. Amanda uses beautiful local fresh produce in all her cooking.

Those three days were the best ever in a B&B that we have ever had. Recommendation: there is not a number you could give other than 10/10.


Marie & Chris

Room Tip: All rooms have views surrounded by mountains, baby lambs and beautiful gardens.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boutiquestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Beautiful surroundings, wonderful rooms and exceptionally good food but by far the best part of the stay were John and Amanda - hosts "par excellence!"Nothing was too much trouble for them to arrange - picnics/activity bookings and even an impromptu trip for the boys to the cricket nets! Our 3 night stay here was one of our best experiences in the South Island by quite a distance and we were rather sad to leave. We are indeed sure that you will be made to feel as special as we were - thank you John and Amanda x

Room Tip: All rooms/bathrooms are tastefully and beautifully appointed
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaH871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This wonderful property together with its owners John and Amanda are the tops. We could not fault anything during our three night stay here. Our room with the most comfortable bed overlooked the foothills sprinkled with deer and sheep . They have their own hens and grow their own vegetables. As we had already
eaten a large lunch we did not dine in that night but we were invited to join in the wine tasting which was a wonderful experience. Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir were both much appreciated. We then sat outside on the terrace to watch the sun go down and were treated to little tastes of the dinner being served that night. That was enough to convince us to dine in on our last night and what a great decision that was. Tenderloin of venison to start followed by the most superb rack of lamb devoid of fat and gristle with new pots,beet root cooked in olive oil (yummy) and parsnips wafers with parmigiana cheese, not forgetting the broccoli. The sweet was divine, a very light sponge containing blueberries. What was particularly nice about the evening was that our hosts joined us. They are a delightful couple who just could not do enough to help us. Their local knowledge was brilliant and although they receive no commission for it they re arranged things for us that are affected by the weather such as flying across to Milford Sound. Take a tip from us, do not book these type of trips through UK travel agents as often they have to be changed locally due to bad weather which means you miss out unless you have hosts like John and Amanda who put themselves out to re book so that you can still enjoy these unique experiences.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the back of the house have the best views and are the quietest.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Amanda and John shares lovely home and go way out of the way to make sure you are pampered. Greeted by a farm of sheep, a field of pink peonies, a white giant rose garden. Our room was spacious and every details were taken care of, they have an amazing mattress and durvet much better than a lot of 5 stars hotel I had tried before. I need to ask for the maker of the durvet and the mattress! John is a wine guru and he took us to Peregrine and Chard Farm, very charming vineyard with good wines. At night Amanda prepared yummy salmon pate, freshest garden veggies , local delight of Blue Cod and the most amazing NZ Pavlova! Amanda, can I have your receive? Going back for 2 days of stay cannot get enough of that Pavolva with lemon curd with blueberries! Love this lodge totally.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllyCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thanks Elly for your kind words. We get so much out of hosting our guests and it is so rewarding to receive such lovely comments. We wish you all the best with Derek. Warmest regards...john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Queenstown Country Lodge is located a little ways outside of Queenstown, set nicely back from the road. My room was comfortable, spacious and both it and its bathroom had loads of natural light and great views. Service was impeccable, and the food delicious and plentiful. Having said that, the best part of my stay was time spent with Amanda and John. I instantly felt at home and spent two enjoyable evenings with them. They were also extremely helpful on local attractions and gave particularly good advice on the local wineries. I stayed at a number of excellent B&Bs in New Zealand and this was clearly the best.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Thanks so much for your wonderful comments. We appreciate the effort you (and all the others) have gone to and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Queenstown Country Lodge is an important part of our lifestyle and hosting special people like you makes it so worth while. To you and all our other guests, have a wonderful Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews