We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
167
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests new zealand wonderful hosts gorgeous countryside sheep grazing favorite stay each evening b bs perfect place to relax local attractions tea and coffee making facilities luxury stay views of the mountains spent three nights cooked breakfast queens town home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We had two glorious days at the Queenstown Country Lodge! Wish we could have stayed a week! John and Amanda greeted us as we arrived and they felt like close friends when we departed two days later! The rooms are amazing (3 - 4 rooms upstairs). Large with a sitting area, a beautiful bathroom, a huge closet and free Internet that actually worked! Our first night Amanda walked us through the wheat fields, across a barbed wire fence, and pointed us up into the fields so that we could take our hike with the sheep and cows underfoot! Amazingly beautiful back yard they have! Breakfast was delightful and the dinner she cooked our last night in NZ was the best meal we had in 3 weeks time! Incredible NZ rack of lamb served with fresh veggies from their garden! John did wine tastings both nights accompanied by delicious canapés made fresh by Amanda. He also showed us the night sky with a lazer light to illuminate the stars and constellations. We'd go back to Queenstown just to stay with John and Amanda!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I can't begin describe how wonderful we found this lodge. This is by far the most personalized service we have ever received. Every want and need was anticipated. Express an interest in Rugby or Cricket and John is happy to give a personalized lesson. Amanda's cooking is amazing, by far the best meal we had in New Zealand! Staying on a small county "farm" so close to all the activities in Quennstown was a dream come true...thank you a million and one times for an incredible experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are top of the line! We loved looking out on the paddock and the sheep.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at the Queenstown Country Lodge for three days in December 2012. Amanda & John (Hosts) were incredible as they ensured that they looked after us each day. From great food, to transporting us to different local destinations and especially for the local recommendations for restaurants and wineries. Nothing to them was too much trouble

An added bonus is the quiet location surrounded by baby lambs and beautiful peonies roses. Amanda uses beautiful local fresh produce in all her cooking.

Those three days were the best ever in a B&B that we have ever had. Recommendation: there is not a number you could give other than 10/10.

Marie & Chris

Room Tip: All rooms have views surrounded by mountains, baby lambs and beautiful gardens.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boutiquestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Beautiful surroundings, wonderful rooms and exceptionally good food but by far the best part of the stay were John and Amanda - hosts "par excellence!"Nothing was too much trouble for them to arrange - picnics/activity bookings and even an impromptu trip for the boys to the cricket nets! Our 3 night stay here was one of our best experiences in the South Island by quite a distance and we were rather sad to leave. We are indeed sure that you will be made to feel as special as we were - thank you John and Amanda x

Room Tip: All rooms/bathrooms are tastefully and beautifully appointed
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaH871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This wonderful property together with its owners John and Amanda are the tops. We could not fault anything during our three night stay here. Our room with the most comfortable bed overlooked the foothills sprinkled with deer and sheep . They have their own hens and grow their own vegetables. As we had already
eaten a large lunch we did not dine in that night but we were invited to join in the wine tasting which was a wonderful experience. Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir were both much appreciated. We then sat outside on the terrace to watch the sun go down and were treated to little tastes of the dinner being served that night. That was enough to convince us to dine in on our last night and what a great decision that was. Tenderloin of venison to start followed by the most superb rack of lamb devoid of fat and gristle with new pots,beet root cooked in olive oil (yummy) and parsnips wafers with parmigiana cheese, not forgetting the broccoli. The sweet was divine, a very light sponge containing blueberries. What was particularly nice about the evening was that our hosts joined us. They are a delightful couple who just could not do enough to help us. Their local knowledge was brilliant and although they receive no commission for it they re arranged things for us that are affected by the weather such as flying across to Milford Sound. Take a tip from us, do not book these type of trips through UK travel agents as often they have to be changed locally due to bad weather which means you miss out unless you have hosts like John and Amanda who put themselves out to re book so that you can still enjoy these unique experiences.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the back of the house have the best views and are the quietest.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews