We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable B&B (and hosts)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queenstown Country Lodge
Ranked #5 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this amazing lodge for 2 nights, and were extremely blown away!
The lodge itself is beautiful, pretty close to town, but most of all, the hosts Amanda and John stop at nothing to make your stay a memorable one. From the wine tasting in the living room, to the 5 star breakfast, and even taking note of nuances (I exclaimed I'd love to view the lambs in their backyard, and that evening I got to feed them!) Also, John gave my husband and I a great sneak preview on astronomy since we briefly chatted about stargazing (probably his second passion after cricket).

Lastly, if you have some time to spare after exploring Queenstown, do try to have dinner at the lodge!

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we will definitely come back if we are in South Island again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outdatedmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Out of our 3 week holiday this was simply the best and we were delighted to be able spend 3 nights here, Amanda and John made us feel so welcome we would have moved in. They were very friendly but not interfering and we felt quite at ease to sit and relax in their sitting room. The house, bedrooms and gardens are everything you could wish for. Comfortable, top notch, stylish etc etc. We ate in one evening and Amanda seems to produce effortless, master chef style food while still chatting in a relaxed way with people. We also had wine tasting and canapes with them which were lovely. John was jokey and friendly and certainly knew his stars. I would have no hestation in recommending this Homestay to anyone - my advice would be stay here for as many nights as you can:)

Room Tip: Every room is excellent with lovely views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamondcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A fabulous experience and one of the highlights of our trip to Australia and New Zealand. Look forward to more-than-comfortable accommodations, hearty breakfasts, pink morning and golden evening views, wonderful wines that just keep coming and coming. And did we mention the best part... the overwhelming warmth and attentiveness of the charming hosts, Amanda and John!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

All the previous -- excellent -- reviews were spot on. This is simply the best B&B we have ever stayed at.

The experience was flawless. The rooms are terrific; the house is extraordinarily comfortable and inviting; the views from the front and back of the house are sensational; the food is first-rate; and, best of all, are the proprietors, Amanda and John. They did everything they could possibly do to make our stay memorable and were the most accommodating people imaginable. The hours we spent talking with them, sharing experiences, learning the rules of cricket, and drinking some wonderful wines helped make our trip to New Zealand truly wonderful. They really love (and know) Queenstown, which is now one of our favorite places in the world.

This is the place to stay in Queenstown. It sets the standard for B&B's.

Room Tip: All three rooms have their unique advantages and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is without doubt one of the best places you will ever stay. Five stars is inadequate. From the luxurious rooms to the top notch food, you will find it hard to match. But the hospitality and kindness shown by John and Amanda is what sets the Lodge apart from other places. Don't waste time looking elsewhere - make the booking now, you will not regret it!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Queenstown Country Lodge in January and it was the highlight of all the excellent hotels we visited in a 3-week trip to New Zealand. Having stayed on the lake in central Queenstown on a previous trip, we wanted to be away from the tourist action, but still close enough to enjoy dinner and the attractions of the area. The Queenstown Country Lodge is the ideal location -- close to the airport, close to town, close to vineyards, close to the bungy bridge -- but just far enough away to feel like we were in the gorgeous countryside that makes New Zealand so special. The lodge is situated at the foot of a tall, scenic hill, in the midst of a sheep field and near a beautiful lake that's accessible for running or walking. We took bikes from the lodge for a tranquil ride one morning that turned out to be one of the nicest experiences we had.

The accommodations are top-notch. The rooms are comfortable and stylish. The views are stunning. The linens are soft, the robes are plush, the towels are warm, and the gourmet breakfast is made to order! Best of all, the morning meal was fresh, creative, and gourmet all the way. In fact, breakfast was so beguiling we had dinner at the lodge twice during our stay, and even though we ate at every top restaurant in the area, our meals Amanda made for us were better. Why? Because they were handmade and home cooked with high quality, local ingredients, paired with scrumptious local wines and graciously served in a comfortable, relaxed environment -- by candlelight, outside at dusk, overlooking the rolling hills.

But the location, the scenery, the comfortable rooms, and the delicious food are not why you want to stay at the QCL. The reason you want to stay at the QCL is the hosts, John and Amanda. They are warm and welcoming, they are generous, they are attentive, they are gracious and most importantly they are knowledgeable about all things New Zealand. You don't need a tour guide or a travel agent or even a map when you have John and Amanda. They made sure we saw the best vineyards, ate in the best restaurants, took the best excursions, saw the best attractions and helped us plan our days efficiently to get the most out of our time in Queenstown. This was our second trip to Queenstown, and it was an entirely different experience from the first. We saw a different Queenstown, and it was all due to the care and attention of John and Amanda.

If you're a curious traveler who enjoys learning about the environment you're visiting and the local way of life, the QCL is the place to stay. Want to know about the stars in the southern hemisphere's night sky? Ask John. Want to learn about New Zealand wines? Ask John. Want to know which tour to take to Milford Sound, which vineyard produces the nicest pinot, the history of bungy, how a speed boat driver gets his license, where the best lamb chops come from? Ask John.

And the hospitality doesn't stop there.

Each evening, we were invited to sample fine wines, poured by John and accompanied with delicious appetizers served by Amanda. We'd enjoy a fascinating conversation with the other guests and learn something interesting about a far away place from John & Amanda, who, we learned, circumvented the world as the captain and first mate of a luxury yaught. Does it get more interesting than that?

In short, I wish all the hotels I stay in around the world came equipped with John and Amanda. Because nothing compares to having hosts who make you feel like friends.
If it weren't 12,000 miles away, we'd be regulars.

Enjoy your stay and say Hi from Kristi and Bob!

Room Tip: All the rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable with gorgeous, sweeping views. The lodge is small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GoKristiGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We were travelling around the South Island on a busy trip and our night with John and Amanda was one of the best of our whole journey. The house and rooms are stunning in every way, they have really thought of everything - even the view from the toilet was incredible.
Best of all though is John and Amanda's hospitality, we spent around 5 hours with them enjoying food, wine and conversation. They are great people and very involved in the community.
I still laugh when I think about John telling me of a previous American guest who had never seen cricket before so John took him down to the nets and started bowling bouncers to him when he hit a few easy ones early on. You won't get that at the Hilton!
Thanks so much guys and I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thanks so much for your positive comments. Yes, explaining to Americans the ins and outs of cricket is rather challenging but so enjoyable......perhaps solving the world's economic problems would be easier...
Look forward to hosting you again......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
6.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
902 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Country Lodge

Address: 497 Frankton Ladies Mile Highway, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £187 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queenstown Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Queenstown Country Lodge we offer personalized luxury accommodation in a relaxed friendly country atmosphere. Located just 10 minutes from Queenstown Airport, and 15 minutes to Queenstown,or 10 minutes to Arrowtown, we are centrally located to explore the area. Our Lodge has 5 hectares of gardens and farmland with our own flock of friendly sheep and is surrounded by majestic mountains. Quality bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautiful setting, with the option of exclusive use for a large group or family, or small conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queenstown Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing