We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queenstown Country Lodge
Ranked #5 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss It”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Beautifully situated in the midst of flowers, meadows and mountains, this lodge is the perfect portal into the Queenstown area. Every detail seems chosen with care and excellent taste. John hosts a wine tasting every evening, with bottles chosen from local vineyards, Amanda presents an assortment of gourmet hors d'oeuvres. I don't think you'll find better hosts in the whole of New Zealand. Want a gourmet dinner? Ask Amanda. Of all the B&Bs we stayed in during our tour of the South Island, this country lodge was the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely comments (and also thanks to our other guests who have posted comments recently) . It was our pleasure to host you, take care and perhaps one day we will share another Pinot Noir together.
Warmest regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at Queenstown Country Lodge during our honeymoon to NZ and we could not have picked a better place! Whether you are searching for the fun and excitement Queenstown has to offer or simply just a beautiful setting to kick back and get some R&R....this is the place! John and Amanda were simply outstanding hosts, making sure that all of our needs were taken care of and paying attention to the details we never knew we always wanted in a B&B :). It was easy to see that they absolutely loved their job. Our room (and every common room in the B&B) was perfectly adorned, comfortable, clean and beautiful. 6:30 pm wine tasting was our favorite - we didn't want to leave! Amanda and John made us feel like we were old friends - conversation was easy and they really went out of their way to make our trip fantastic. The grounds were beautiful and perfectly located - just outside of Queenstown, close to wine tasting, out door activities and right in the quiet beauty of the countryside. We HIGHLY recommend staying here during your time in Queenstown. Can't wait to go back!

-Deana & Frank

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I am writing this review on the last night of our 3 night stay. Usually I wait to reflect on the stay before writing a review.

First let me say we are generally hotel types, and occassionally stay in B& B's. Our experience at Queenstown Country Lodge could not have been better. The room was immaculate and very comfortable, with every amenity one could want. The setting in the countryside about 8 minutes from Queenstown is a farm like setting, but with the feeling of a country estate.

John & Amanda are wonderful hosts, and will do anything within reason to help with your stay. Their recommendations for restaurants, tours or just things to do are always excellent. Amanda's breakfast was the best we have had so far in 10 days in New Zealand.

We stayed one night for the dinner option, and all I can say is if you miss this opportunity you will regret it. The food & wine were superb, and the conversation with Amanda, John and the other guests makes this a true highlight of our month long trip.

The fact you are a few minutes out of Queenstown in a quiet country setting is another big positive, unless you are into hearing partiers all night outside your room.

Thank you Amanda and John for making this one of the true highlights to a wonderful country.

Room Tip: Stayed in the kawaru room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Karen and all the others who have posted reviews recently,
First of all,all the best for 2014. I hope it turns out to be a great year for you.
Well thanks to your great efforts we have managed to gain the top ranking in Queenstown B&B accommodation. We appreciate you taking the time to post a comment....many thanks.
It has been our pleasure to host you all and thanks for staying with us at Queenstown Country Lodge.
Take care and thanks once again for your support.
Warmest regards
john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed in the Kawarau room which overlooked the mountain and gardens. The pet sheep had names and came to great us when Amanda the host called them. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we so enjoyed our few days in their lodge. We enjoyed wine with both Amanda and John and sat chatting and laughing with them. We would not hesitate to recommend a visit if in the area and feel sure you will not be disappointed .So sorry to leave as they made us feel like real friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenlynne143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We finished our honeymoon in this lodge and it was perfect. We didn't want to leave. The view from the rooms on the hill is absolutly breath taking.
The hosts, Amanda and John, are the best one that we met.
The daily wine testing with John is a very welcoming moment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toff300583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Without a doubt the most fabulous place in the whole of New Zealand to stay. Amanda & John have exceptional taste. The rooms are decorated tastefully and they provide items you would never anticipate. Our bathroom had a feature stone panel. Beautiful. We stayed in the Kawarau room which looked over the manicured gardens and hills to the rear. Amanda cooks amazing breakfasts and we ate a 3 course dinner booked in advance which was nicer than any other meal we had elsewhere. Wine tasting with John was also informative and enjoyable. We would return to New Zealand just to stay here!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay for as long as you can!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

there cannot be any better hosts in New Zealand than Amanda and John. From the time we arrived until we left, after a three night stay, we were made to feel like members of the family. As described by others the rooms and facilities are second to none but the thing we both remember is the friendly chats we had on a range of subjects cricket (John once go Geoff Boycott's wicket); wine - extensive tastings of Pinot Noir; NZ history; rugby (we watched the NZ France game); families - the list goes on. We met some really nice people on our NZ trip but none topped Amanda and John

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibelius5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
7.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
533 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Country Lodge

Property: Queenstown Country Lodge
Address: 497 Frankton Ladies Mile Highway, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queenstown Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Queenstown Country Lodge we offer personalized luxury accommodation in a relaxed friendly country atmosphere. Located just 10 minutes from Queenstown, our Lodge has 5 hectares of gardens and farmland and is surrounded by majestic mountains. Along with quality bed and breakfast accommodation, we also offer evening dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queenstown Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing