We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queenstown Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queenstown Country Lodge
Ranked #6 of 47 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

As the other reviews say it is amazing to stay here. You immediately feel at home. John and Amanda provide service they be on what one would expect. For example, when are shoes got dirty at a sheep farm John himself cleaned them for us. Needless to say this was unexpected. And their own sheep are wonderful to visit with too. Amanda maintains a standard of housekeeping that is truly beyond belief. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Many thanks to you all for the lovely comments you have posted recently. We appreciate you taking time from your busy lives to write a review that helps us so much when others planning a trip check us out on Trip Advisor. Thanks for staying with us and we wish you all the best for the rest of 2014....John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
106
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was a top class B&B' extremely comfortable, the finer details addressed with aplomb. We could not have chosen better, Amanda's cooking is fabulous, don't miss Dinner there, the wine tasting hosted by John, is a lovely touch, he is very knowledgable and generous!

The rooms are clean quiet and smart.

This is a classy joint.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwiggypog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I've stayed with John and Amanda two years running. The second time I told my travel agent that wherever else in New Zealand she suggested, I had to start here. The accommodations are excellent. Comfortable, spacious room with a great view, good sized bathroom and all the amenities. Food is excellent and plentiful. It is close to Queenstown, set back off the highway a little so it is very pleasant and peaceful. But as others have said, what really makes this special are the hosts---Amanda and John. Friendly, interesting people who immediately feel like you've known them for years. They are very knowledgeable about the area and full of great suggestions on things to see and do---after they take the time to see what your interests are. The atmosphere is very relaxed and it does feel like you are staying with friends. The reviews may seem extravagant to some, but they really are that good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is the first review I have ever posted on TripAdvisor, and I simply have to, I liked this place so much. The accommodations are on a working farm about a 10-15 minute drive east of Queenstown, and they are very comfortable. What sets this B&B apart, though, are the hosts. Amanda and John are exceptionally welcoming hosts, and I felt as if I were among friends the moment I arrived. They serve excellent wines and hors d'oeuvres every night, and one night I stayed there and had dinner with Amanda and John, as well as another couple staying there. We had a most enjoyable evening talking and eating the gourmet meal that Amanda prepared. This was my first trip to New Zealand, and this was my favorite place to stay on this trip. Since it is outside of Queenstown, it is much more convenient if you have a car. Thanks again, Amanda and John!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Beautifully situated in the midst of flowers, meadows and mountains, this lodge is the perfect portal into the Queenstown area. Every detail seems chosen with care and excellent taste. John hosts a wine tasting every evening, with bottles chosen from local vineyards, Amanda presents an assortment of gourmet hors d'oeuvres. I don't think you'll find better hosts in the whole of New Zealand. Want a gourmet dinner? Ask Amanda. Of all the B&Bs we stayed in during our tour of the South Island, this country lodge was the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely comments (and also thanks to our other guests who have posted comments recently) . It was our pleasure to host you, take care and perhaps one day we will share another Pinot Noir together.
Warmest regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at Queenstown Country Lodge during our honeymoon to NZ and we could not have picked a better place! Whether you are searching for the fun and excitement Queenstown has to offer or simply just a beautiful setting to kick back and get some R&R....this is the place! John and Amanda were simply outstanding hosts, making sure that all of our needs were taken care of and paying attention to the details we never knew we always wanted in a B&B :). It was easy to see that they absolutely loved their job. Our room (and every common room in the B&B) was perfectly adorned, comfortable, clean and beautiful. 6:30 pm wine tasting was our favorite - we didn't want to leave! Amanda and John made us feel like we were old friends - conversation was easy and they really went out of their way to make our trip fantastic. The grounds were beautiful and perfectly located - just outside of Queenstown, close to wine tasting, out door activities and right in the quiet beauty of the countryside. We HIGHLY recommend staying here during your time in Queenstown. Can't wait to go back!

-Deana & Frank

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I am writing this review on the last night of our 3 night stay. Usually I wait to reflect on the stay before writing a review.

First let me say we are generally hotel types, and occassionally stay in B& B's. Our experience at Queenstown Country Lodge could not have been better. The room was immaculate and very comfortable, with every amenity one could want. The setting in the countryside about 8 minutes from Queenstown is a farm like setting, but with the feeling of a country estate.

John & Amanda are wonderful hosts, and will do anything within reason to help with your stay. Their recommendations for restaurants, tours or just things to do are always excellent. Amanda's breakfast was the best we have had so far in 10 days in New Zealand.

We stayed one night for the dinner option, and all I can say is if you miss this opportunity you will regret it. The food & wine were superb, and the conversation with Amanda, John and the other guests makes this a true highlight of our month long trip.

The fact you are a few minutes out of Queenstown in a quiet country setting is another big positive, unless you are into hearing partiers all night outside your room.

Thank you Amanda and John for making this one of the true highlights to a wonderful country.

Room Tip: Stayed in the kawaru room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Karen and all the others who have posted reviews recently,
First of all,all the best for 2014. I hope it turns out to be a great year for you.
Well thanks to your great efforts we have managed to gain the top ranking in Queenstown B&B accommodation. We appreciate you taking the time to post a comment....many thanks.
It has been our pleasure to host you all and thanks for staying with us at Queenstown Country Lodge.
Take care and thanks once again for your support.
Warmest regards
john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
6.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
6.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
6.6 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Country Lodge

Property: Queenstown Country Lodge
Address: 497 Frankton Ladies Mile Highway, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queenstown Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Queenstown Country Lodge we offer personalized luxury accommodation in a relaxed friendly country atmosphere. Located just 10 minutes from Queenstown, our Lodge has 5 hectares of gardens and farmland and is surrounded by majestic mountains. Along with quality bed and breakfast accommodation, we also offer evening dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Queenstown Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing