We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woderful Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queenstown Country Lodge
Ranked #6 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Queenstown Country Lodge was the highlight of our 3 week trip to NZ. John and Amanda are lovely hosts, the accommodations are first class, and the breakfasts and dinners are works of art. Other highlights included eating tomatoes right off the vine in the garden, feeding the sheep over the back fence, John's explanations of the fine points of rugby and cricket, and the evening wine tastings. Bravo, John and Amanda!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJW7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is quite simply a wonderful lodge in which to stay. Our welcome was great, our room quiet and very beautifully decorated with views across the surrounding countryside. Nothing was omitted for our comfort and enjoyment. Breakfasts were scrummy - we were offered whatever we wanted - and the six o'clock drinks were always fun. John gave us a tour of the wonderful night sky with his laser torch and made extensive efforts to name a wild flower - verbascum - which was driving me mad. We think ourselves extremely fortunate to have been introduced to this absolutely splendid country lodge. We loved the fun. The Dowse from Sussex.

Room Tip: They are all really delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dowse2014hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This is lovely lodge with owners who provide extraordinary hospitality. There are three large suites with beautiful views of grass-covered hills where sheep and deer graze. Each suite has sitting area, very nice bathroom and comfy bed. The breakfasts prepared by Amanda are superb. John's wine tasting was fun and informative. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dcoleman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Many thanks Dan...comments much appreciated. Hope the rest of your time in NZ goes well.Lovely hosting you all. Take care. John and of course Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

After a long flight to Queenstown from San Antonio, TX it was wonderful getting picked up at the airport by John and taken to a beautiful, comfortable and luxurious suite. Waking up starving after eating airplane food, Amanda cooked the most delicious lamb dinner my husband and I had with these amazing wines. The following morning we had an incredible breakfast that required a hike to their backyard mountain to burn off some of the calories. It did feel like we were staying with friends and only regret not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCushen, Owner at Queenstown Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

To Karla, Leslie and our other guests who have taken the time to write a review.....many thanks. It is not hard to look after lovely people like yourselves and we do appreciate your lovely comments about Queenstown Country Lodge. Amanda, the pet sheep and I wish you all the best for the rest of 2014 and thanks so much for staying with us.
Warmest regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We thought John and Amanda's lodge was very nice. The scenery was wonderful from our room/suite. The breakfast were wonderful and I especially liked the farm fresh eggs. John and Amanda were also very helpful with all of our travel questions. We fell in love with the pet sheep on the property. The lodge was very convenient to Queenstown, but still had that in the country feel. It was hard to leave.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was Kiwi accomodation at its best- what an advert for this beautiful country. John and Amanda went all out to make this a really postive experience for their guests - not customers as some would describe - but guests in their lovely house with the challenge of a pre-breakfast walk up the hilll behind for those willing to leave thier comforable beds for one of Amanda's excellent breakfasts. We went out for a meal at one of the local vinyards and John took us there and collected us so that we could imbibe! Their own wines and canapes were spot on too. We would have liked to stay longer!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notsofat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The very best of B&Bs without a doubt. Nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown, in such lovely surroundings .Every thing thought of in our luxurious room and bathroom. Much enjoyed the wine tasting and John's knowledge, sadly we were not able to enjoy Amanda's cooking but fellow guest were full of praise.
As ever helpful advice for onward journeys, much appreciated.
Chris and Liz Butler

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizziebut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
6.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
902 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Country Lodge

Address: 497 Frankton Ladies Mile Highway, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £186 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queenstown Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Queenstown Country Lodge we offer personalized luxury accommodation in a relaxed friendly country atmosphere. Located just 10 minutes from Queenstown Airport, and 15 minutes to Queenstown,or 10 minutes to Arrowtown, we are centrally located to explore the area. Our Lodge has 5 hectares of gardens and farmland with our own flock of friendly sheep and is surrounded by majestic mountains. Quality bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautiful setting, with the option of exclusive use for a large group or family, or small conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queenstown Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing