We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to standard of an international chain hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
308 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Not up to standard of an international chain hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights; our longest stay in our entire 12-day itinerary in the south island. Our stays were mostly motels and so we were kinda looking forward to our stay here. However we were kinda disappointed. There is no wifi which we were very surprised as it is one for the basic facilities. Room and bathroom were spacious but there is no heated hanger in the bathroom. The number of channels on the tv was very limited too. Breakfast is average. The only good point we can think of was the location of the guest laundry which is just located opposite our room at the same corridor.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    283
    154
    44
    23
See reviews for
195
259
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Everything was fine and it was value for money for one night in Queenstown. A little out of the way for walking into the town but lovely views and the hotel meal was ok. We got confused about where the restaurant was but this was soon sorted. Turned out that it was closed for the evening but you could order anything from the menu and eat in the bar.
The person working behind the bar seemed to lack energy and wasn't overly aware that it was her role to provide some service. She was quite busy making lists and talking on the phone.
The people at the front desk however were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwigirlAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and found it quite comfortable; large room, excellent heating, decent room-service menu, a nice balcony with views over the lake, kitchenette with microwave, kettle and the staff were all pleasant...No in-room Wifi which was very difficult for me however you can connect to an external provider for a fee. Clean, basic accommodation 10min walk from town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate_robinson_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Since copthorne have put their name to the kings gate hotel & apartments, there seems to be some confusion as to where you are staying. Not the usual copthorne standard. Careful your agent dosent tell you your in an apartment when your in the hotel room. Sure they say 'kitchenette' but that just means you have a microwave & extra sink!! Not anything else. No plates, cutlery anything! So keep your expectations low. The renovations are very rough & the cleaning standards are very low. We found long black hair everywhere, and it was very evident it had been a while since the quilts had been cleaned between guests....if your after basic budget accom then you'll find this place ok, but if your excited that your staying at a copthorne, don't expect anything like the other copthorne hotels in queenstown and Christchurch!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabernet97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have just stayed 3 nights. The location is good. 5-10 minutes easy walk into Queenstown town centre. We had a lake view room which provided a great view. All rooms had a good sized balcony. The hotel in general is quite tired though but our room was functional. Biggest tip though is to put your "Privacy Requested" sign on the door. We were looking forward to long weekend sleep ins but room service knocked and came in on the first 2 days at 9am! The hotel was not full and check out isn't until 10am so why does room service need to come through your room at this time?! We put the sign on the door for our last night and were not disturbed. On each day as we left the hotel for exploring we noticed more signs on doors so other guests must have been equally as frustrated.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MezandRolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire , England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Was a nice place to stay, not very far from the town - 5-10 min walk, staff were nice but the hotel just felt a bit tired. The apartment was nice, balconys and little well equiped kitchen (although the toaster and kettle needed replacing but that was done very quickly when we asked), bathrooms compact but did the job and the rooms were clean, only thing is it did have a funny smell and again, just felt like it needed sprucing up a bit. We were there for 4 nights, we had breakfast once which was quite tasty. The whole air of the place was like a big chain hotel but without the finesse. I'd maybe choose to stay elsewhere next time but is a good place to stay for a group of people or a family as there is plenty of room.

Room Tip: We were front and centre and i have to say the view was magnificent, despite the critisism, nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband booked two nights here for us and our adult daughter for my 50th birthday celebration.
We had an apartment on the top floor, two bedrooms, lounge/kitchen two bathrooms, two toilets, private balcony off both front bedroom and lounge. I liked the refurbishment that has been done (new this property before refurb) although not overwhelmed by it. Improvements in the bathroom areas were needed and very functional improvements were made. I was disappointed that the laundry facility in the apartment is now just a wash basin for the downstairs toilet. I don't think that all the apartments had the laundry but a small had basin in the toilet would have done.
For the three of us the apartment was very comfortable and booking on wotif.com the price was great for off season. We stayed in May and I think the rates will be considerably higher during peak seasons of winter and summer.
I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room as I searched the room for housekeeping defects and was unable to find any. Very impressing.
The bar staff need more training. Maybe because it was a quiet Monday but I asked for a Brandy Alexander and the girl didn't know how to make it. A good basic cocktail book would solve this problem as would a little training.
I was surprised that being a 4 star property I didn't see any porters in the two days that we stayed.
We didn't use the Resturant so no comments on that.
The front office staff we encounted were welcoming and pleasent although they all seemed (with one exception) to be very young.
We will stay here again if the price is right.

Room Tip: No need to request a lake view as all rooms face the lake. You won't see it on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#31 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing