We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #42 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had two visits to the Copthorne during our recent trip to New Zealand. The rooms were very comfortable and on our last night we were given an upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment. It was fantastic with bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs and a lounge, kitchen and powder room downstairs. We were happy with our superior room and queen size beds but this was a very pleasant surprise.

The staff were more than helpful, printing off our boarding passes and especially when we were silly enough to leave our passports etc in the room safe. Luckily we were going back the next night.

The only downside to the hotel is the steps that lead down to the reception area. A ramp needs to be installed in order to bring suitcases down. At the moment they have to be carried down the steps. It's hard work.

We enjoyed our stay, even more so with the upgrade.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 'middle' of the hotel have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your two stay's at the hotel and pleased that we could help with your passports and boarding passes.
I do hope you get the opportunity to visit Queenstown again in the future and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Had a great two night stay here in a two bedroom apartment. Our apartment had everything we needed, space, comfort and warmth. The staff were friendly and helpful, we didn't have alot of interaction with them but when in Queenstown it's not about the interaction with staff it's about the place! The location if the hotel is great, puts in a good spot to start exploring. The comfort of the rooms was very good, only thing that could improve is the comfort was better lounge furniture. The view was just awesome. I would recommend staying here and would return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and made the most of your time in Queenstown.
We appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at the Copthorne for 2 nights recently. The hotel itself is very much in need of an upgrade its definitely a bit tired and worn. Rooms were fine comfortable and basic, beds were comfortable and shower pressure good. Reception staff a bit bland and not overly welcoming, also cleaning staff were trying to get into our room at 9am by just opening door without even knocking or saying housekeeping, pretty bad!. Its a fine hotel to stay in while in Queenstown if you aren't after fancy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyekyenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and have addressed your comments regarding the time that Housekeeping knocked on your door.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My partner and I booked this place as a mystery deal on wotif, it was described as a four star hotel. We were on the tiniest budgets as I am a student, so we couldn't do anything in Queenstown but go out for a nice dinner. We arrived at the hotel, the man at reception was not friendly at all, he asked for a credit card but didn't tell us why and just gave us our key. He didn't explain the facilities they offered, etc, not welcoming at all. We ended up going out to dinner (we had been saving up for) and went to pay and my partners card declined. The hotel took $50 out of his account without letting us know, so needless to say he paid all he had left in his account $11 and I paid all I had left $35, we were $6 short so we had to run back to our car and get all the change we had. The people at the restaurant (The Bathhouse) were so incredibly nice and understanding and willing for us to be $6 short but I felt awful so ran to get the all the coins we had left. And we didn't have enough money for gas to get back to Dunedin. The rooms are nice but staff are terrible. Definitely recommend the Bathhouse for dinner!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Thank you for your comments.
I do apologise for the standard of service you encountered at the hotel and have spoken with the staff memeber concerned, we are pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful views the hotel has to offer.
I hope that you get the opportunity to enjoy Queenstown again in the future.

Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We spent 2 nights at this place in April 2013, cannot rate it too high compared to other accomodations in Queenstown, but not terrible either. The rooms are bit below standard for the price we were charged, service was same. The location however, was awesome as it is directly in full view of Lake Wakatipu. This makes it very easy to walk to main attraction of the place and the town itself. It was raining when we arrived and we asked for an umbrella, the receptionist reacted as if he is surprised, meaning they still lack the concept of customer service in a Hotel. Beds were old and furniture need replacement for sure. Would be much better value if the price was bit lower.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeMartian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
We always appreciate your comments in order to improved our business and we have taken not of your feedback regarding our beds.
We do hope that you enjoyed your time in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Room was a good size and ours was one with a kitchenette which we really appreciated. Don't think this complex would ever get any natural warmth into it but the heater worked well. On the main road, within walking distance of the town centre. Nice views, single glazed and very clean. Think the bathroom had been recently renovated. Hubby enjoyed the gym. TV reception was, perhaps, the only let down as that was poor. Good value for money - we picked up a deal and then got upgraded!

Room Tip: We'd originally booked a courtyard room but in reality I don't think they have any as the wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your comments.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade when you stayed at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview.
Regarding your comments about the TV reception, I am pleased to advise that this has now been fixed through out the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times now and the location is perfect. A 10 minute downhill walk to the centre of Queentown and a 15 - 20 minute uphill walk to get back to the hotel. We had hired a big 12 seater Toyota Hiace Minibus and I was initially a bit worried about car parking, but there was parking available on their level 2 car park for large vans or buses. Our room was a two bedroom apartment. The bedrooms are upstairs and the kitchenette and lounge with balcony is downstairs. The rooms look over Lake Wakatipu so the location from the "view" perspective is pretty good. I think they could still do a bit of work to spruce up the place though. I noticed that the carpets are newer than the ones I saw on my first visit but the chairs, tables, sofas in the living area need updating. The colour on the sofa upholstry had started to fade away. The bathrooms were satisfactory though and the hotel is fully serviced with efficient housekeeping staff. I would come back to this hotel again based on its location but it wouldnt be wise for the hotel to rely on location alone in the future and a bit of refurbishment will go a long way to help the property realise its full potential.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments (sleeps 4 people) are on the top level (level 4) so you get good views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haramkhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your comments, and I am delighted to hear that you have stayed at the hotel on a number of occassions.
We appreciate your comments regarding the furniture in our Apartments and are looking to address this in the future.
We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Queenstown.

Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 59 in Queenstown
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 59 in Queenstown
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £87 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing