We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst stay on our tour of NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Wollongong, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worst stay on our tour of NZ”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Not happy with this place at all. Here for 2 nights with 2 kids.
Checkin was cold and not very welcoming. We were not advised that there are 2 sides to the hotel, so we came out of the carpark and got in the lift to go to our level and could not find our room. Came back down to reception and was told our room is on the other side of the building which is down some stairs and up a ramp to another lift. Very confusing and should have been told to us upon checkin.
The hotwater ran out and was advised to "Wait half an hour" for it to heat up again. Never had hotwater run out at a hotel before!
The hotel still uses physical keys on keyring for room entry and you are requested to leave the key at reception when you leave the building. I would have thought that a Hotel chain of this size would have upgraded their technology and infrastructure by now!
No free WiFi which is disappointing considering the majority of small motels can offer this!
This hotel seems to cater for large bus loads of tourists and forgets about the families that stay here.
We wont be staying at ANY Copthorne hotel again anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    288
    157
    44
    24
See reviews for
197
266
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the Copthorne Lakeview in Queenstown. We had stunning views of the lake and mountains, our room was clean and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were fantastic and very helpful, and the buffet breakfast that was included in our package was a great start to the day. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from town, or for a more scenic walk you could walk along the lake and through the gardens to town in about 20 minutes.

The only fault we could find was that there was no free wifi and the cable internet we paid for in our room was slow and kept disconnecting.

I would definitely consider staying here again, although I might be tempted to try somewhere right in town next time (this hotel was so reasonably priced I probably wound't!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toria1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Pleasant hotel to stay, though third time lucky. Tried to check-in at two other Copthorne's prior! Staff helpful and the happy hour in the house-bar was pleasant. Many thanks for returning by courier very promptly the two coats I left in my hotel room. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: A lake view room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe lake view room for our first trip to the snow.

The room was a lot more modern and not as dated as many of the hotels actual room photos - so that was a pleasant surprise. Our view though wasn't really of the lake because we were too far to the side of the hotel but we did have a lovely view of the snow capped Cecil Peak. We could only really see the lake if we walked all the way out to the balcony and looked over.

The hotel was an easy 10 minute stroll into town as was really easy to catch the public bus back to as it stopped at the hotels driveway (awesome). The hotel was also on the list for the hotel pick ups for the NZski company to pick you up on their way to the slopes. Saved getting into town and queuing. So it was in a pretty decent location and a little bit more quiet being out of the main part of town.

The bed was unfortunately a little uncomfortable because the pillows were pretty thin. Otherwise - the bed was nice and warm with electric blankets and also the heater in the room was also really comfortable. It was one of those over the top, overpowering ones.

We definitely enjoyed our stay at Copthorne, however next time we would probably look to check out one of the other many hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkvallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our 4 year wedding anniversary.

It was a very pleasant stay and we thoroughly enjoyed the bed as well as the beautiful view over the Lake Wakatipu and the mountain range. The service is good, and the hotel staff met our request to change from lesser view room to a premium room with a much better view.

The hotel is about 15-minute walk to Queenstown town centre, and is on the highway to most of other major attractions (e.g. Milford Sounds). However, on day 3 of our trip the weather turned really nasty and the journey back became rather challenging for no shelter along the way.

The hotel has its restaurant as well as room services, but we were not able to buy any snacks. Overall, the hotel looks a bit old and some amenities suggest their age, which do require some level of refurbishment in our view.

Crespo and Sarah

Room Tip: Do ask for a room that has the lakeview and is not blocked by any low buildings / structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crespo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The view from the rooms on the top floor are awesome and well worth the extra money. I recommend this Hotel to everyone who is going to Queenstown for a short stay. I went there with another mate for 4 nights and really enjoyed my stay. Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room otherwise you will have a view of the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wansbury82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment & for once the photos didn't do it justice! A tidy kitchen and comfortable lounge with amazing views were on the ground floor with bathroom & separate toilet. Upstairs a big master bedroom with flat screen TV, balcony and ensuite (shower over bath). Along the hall upstairs another big bedroom with two beds, own bathroom with shower & separate toilet. A portacot was provided with lovely soft bedding for our toddler and their was no noise from other rooms. We were able to watch TV with friends with no worry of waking our son. The staff were helpful. You have to book to use the spa pool which is actually a good idea. I would definitely recommend this place & would use again - especially if you are going to have a few nights in with a toddler and want space to have friends over for dinner/drinks without disturbing them as there's so much room and doors to shut in between living areas. A short walk down the hill or through the Gardens to town. We asked for our room to be made up before we returned on day one so our son's nap wouldn't be disturbed and they happily obliged. Forgot to the next day and missed out on cleaning - our mistake but a good tip to share. Thanks Copthorne!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PacificMelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#31 of 58 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing