We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Value Hotel with nice lake view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Value Hotel with nice lake view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights. Actually bought a special deal for September with free breakfast but wife had some urgent work place issue. So I wrote to them describing my issue and reservation manager Jo Sacre was very helpful to rescheduled the booking on November. I really appreciate this help as my deal was non refundable and non changeable.

Got a nice lake view room on top level. Room is very specious and has 2 comfortable queen bed. toilet and shower is decent one too. the room also has microwave, locker for passport, cheap minibar, good balcony with seating. Breakfast was included and it was yummy. the hotel is 10 min walk from main city and on the main Frankton street. the hotel staffs are very friendly with their informations. room service was good.

Negative side-
You only get free 20 min on the lobby. but Queenstown is a beautiful place where you can leave without internet

Room Tip: Higher level has better lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShamimMostafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    277
    150
    43
    23
See reviews for
186
256
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Good place to stay:
- The 2 Bed-room is well equipped to be self-sufficient. Very convenient for our family with 2 kids
- the lake view is nice
- Breakfast is good
- Sleeping conditions are quite good
- Fitness centre, although no window, is good
- Parking available just below the hotel
- town is at walking distance from the city centre (10-15 mn) or there is a bus in front of the hotel

The only issue is the price of internet which is prohibitive. Nothing new, all Clients who need internet during their stay will tell you the same although any other places offer it for free. That must be part of their business model, better be self-sufficient using an external supplier.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the lake: the view is definitively better that the opposite view. And be sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caringbah, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My partner, son and i stayed 3 nights here. We stayed in a deluxe lakeview room and it did not dissapoint. The staff were very friendly and helpful in booking me my planned adventures. The room was spotless and the view was second to none. For the amount of money i paid i honestly wasnt expecting as much as we got. We are currently spending 3 nights at rydges in queenstown and we are sorry we left copthorne! I deffinately recommend the buffet breakfast at copthorne as there is so much to choose from and very delicious. Overall we all had a great time at copthorne and if we ever come back to queenstown, we know where we will be staying. Thanks to all the staff who made our 3 nights very enjoyable!

Room Tip: Rooms from the 3rd floor and above should give you a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Good Service overall, lovely room very spacious where the bedrooms were separate and spacious. Great views with your own veranda. There was buffet breakfast good value for money $17 a person with child dines free. 15 minutes walk to the town center.

Room Tip: Ask for room 484
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edrich007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Had a relaxing stay here beautiful rooms, staff helpful, food was wonderful. We had the most amazing views, would stay here again. Free wifi in reception, stylish modern and vey clean.
One of the best hotels we stayed in on out tour.

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beware821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Not happy with this place at all. Here for 2 nights with 2 kids.
Checkin was cold and not very welcoming. We were not advised that there are 2 sides to the hotel, so we came out of the carpark and got in the lift to go to our level and could not find our room. Came back down to reception and was told our room is on the other side of the building which is down some stairs and up a ramp to another lift. Very confusing and should have been told to us upon checkin.
The hotwater ran out and was advised to "Wait half an hour" for it to heat up again. Never had hotwater run out at a hotel before!
The hotel still uses physical keys on keyring for room entry and you are requested to leave the key at reception when you leave the building. I would have thought that a Hotel chain of this size would have upgraded their technology and infrastructure by now!
No free WiFi which is disappointing considering the majority of small motels can offer this!
This hotel seems to cater for large bus loads of tourists and forgets about the families that stay here.
We wont be staying at ANY Copthorne hotel again anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the Copthorne Lakeview in Queenstown. We had stunning views of the lake and mountains, our room was clean and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were fantastic and very helpful, and the buffet breakfast that was included in our package was a great start to the day. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from town, or for a more scenic walk you could walk along the lake and through the gardens to town in about 20 minutes.

The only fault we could find was that there was no free wifi and the cable internet we paid for in our room was slow and kept disconnecting.

I would definitely consider staying here again, although I might be tempted to try somewhere right in town next time (this hotel was so reasonably priced I probably wound't!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toria1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing