We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“2 night stay”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Excellent, well equipped apartment. Comfortable beds and stunning views. Fabulous. Would highly recommend. Although it was not in the centre of Queenstown, it didn't take long to walk down to the shops and lake.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath62_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    283
    154
    43
    23
See reviews for
194
259
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Excellent experience. Stayed there for 3 nights. We booked a king size room, but got upgraded to a suite, nice big room with a garden and amazing view of the mountains. Very relaxing and quit, not too far away from city centre, great location. Big breakfast buffet, nice food. Went for dinner, good price, nice view from the restaurant, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We recently stayed at Copthorne for 4 nights in November. Very spacious rooms with big balcony and stunning views of Lake Wakatipu. Location was fairly good as it was not too far away from the town centre. However, the shower head was fixed on the wall which was inconvenient for us and we found it hard to adjust the water temperature for showering. Bed is comfortable with a heating system beneath. Breakfast was also good with a wide selection.
The drawback of this hotel is no free wifi access and we only had the limited free 20 minutes wifi. Other accomodation already had free wifi access for all guests.

In all, would still recommend this hotel for the spacious room with balcony for views, and good location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahyile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel offered a great view of the lake and a balcony to enjoy it all from. The bed was comfortable, the shower was good and overall the room was clean and tidy. If you are a light sleeper, you may not enjoy it so much - there was some road noise. Walking to the town centre took approx 10 minutes - no problem as it is all downhill. Walking back from the town centre to the hotel was a bit of a slog - on one rainy occasion we took a cab for $11. Sadly this hotel is unlike others in that it doesn't provide fresh milk and free/cheap wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwibrent1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The location is excellent with a short walk to town. The view of the lake and mountain ranges from the balcony was lovely. However the decor in the room is very dated. The bed is comfortable with different types of pillow hardness to choose from. The free parking was also very convenient. The WiFi is charged at a ridiculous price but we managed to buy from another local service a cheaper one week deal at a much lower price. This is one of only 2 places we stayed on our 2 weeks trip in the South island that still charges for WiFi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuffKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Check in was fast and efficient, reception staff were always helpful if you required any help.
Our room was very spacious, clean and warm with plenty of space for clothes and suitcases. And the view of the lake was amazing to wake up to each morning.
Beds were very comfy with good pillows. Bed linen and towels of very good quality. The bathroom was modern with room for wash bags, with a good shower and plenty of hot water.
There was a safe, fridge and tea/ coffee which was replenished daily. Free parking was also welcome.
Breakfast was included in our stay and the food was of good quality with plenty of choice. The staff were probably the most indifferent we encountered during our 4 weeks in NZ. Two mornings we walked in without giving our room numbers as there was no one there. We sat down at a table to find cereal all over the chairs and under the table ( I see no way they could have missed this when laying up). It seems a shame when everything else about the hotel was so good.
The location was ideal and we enjoyed the well sign posted walks around the lake and the pleasant walk to town.
Would recommend this hotel if you visit Queenstown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, a week apart. Good accommodation at reasonable price. And its not to far to walk to town... about 10 mins. There is a bit of a hill on the way back but if you choose your route carefully pretty easy. Dont forgot to book the free spa when you check in

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#31 of 57 in Queenstown
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing