We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price but pretty mean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #42 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I agree with all of Sharon F points below. How can any hotel justify a 1.5% surcharge for credit cards especially as the only notification before check out is a teeny weeny little sign out of site at the edge of the large check in desk. 20 mins free wifi a day only in reception. Come on Copthorne it is 2014 not 2004...this is no longer considered an extra.

To be fair pretty cheap for our stay but the points above leave a nastly taste in your mouth.

Its close enough to town to walk in 5 mins.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 out of the 4 nights we were in Queenstown. We only stayed here because our place of choice (Oaks Club) was booked out for the first night (bummer!).

We stayed in a Superior Lakeview room, which was okay, but nothing to rave about.

Pros:
Pretty close to town if you're fine with walking
View was okay, but won't bother paying for that next time
Furnishings fairly modern

Cons:
Only 20 mins/ 20mb free wifi in lobby
Fairly rude male staff member on day of checkout
Beds were uncomfortable
Balcony was shabby - chairs had mould on them
Over-priced ($173 for just a motel room)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim-Andrew04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our family of five, all adults, stayed for two nights. The two bedroom apartment had great views from the front rooms and was clean. There were adequate provisions in the kitchen but no coffee plunger - which seems very remiss these days - and none to be had either! There is a spa available but don't expect a view. it is tucked away in a little room which would be fine after a day of skiing but not so nice for summer. There is underground car parking but seemed limited - ask about a guaranteed spot. It is out of the town centre about a five minute drive but very difficult turning right out of hotel carpark onto busy road. We have driven many years in many places but gave up, turned left and eventually turned back to town. Not having been to Queenstown before we were surprised at its size and compactness. Car parking is difficult so try and stay somewhere within walking distance- I will be next time. Also, it was the most expensive place we stayed, for two bedroom apartment, at $310 pnight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravellersdandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is very pricey for what it offers. The room we stayed in had an amazing view and was spacious, but not really worth in excess of $300 per night. There is no Wi-Fi in the rooms and is a fair walk into town. There are better options at far more reasonable prices in Queenstown.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room was nice - comfortable and roomy, but not worth the price. Hotel has a strange layout with 2 halves of the same building accessed from different lifts and no way to get across to the other side without going back down to the ground. Bar is expensive and poorly stocked, in-room bar is very expensive. Wifi is over 4 times as expensive as and other I've used in New Zealand. $20 for 50Mb is outrageous! The adverts for their breakfast are appetising, with nice crispy-looking bacon and fried egg. The reality was so disappointing - limp, fatty bacon; scrambled eggs with a hard crust on top from having sat in the serving dish too long; not a fried egg in sight. You even had to cook your own toast, which is acceptable in cheaper hotels but not in one costing so much.

Beware that they'll charge you a fee to use your credit card here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in Copthorne in Dec 2013. We were traveling with family, hence took 2 rooms. The rooms were identical, were large with a spacious balcony, overlooking the lake. If you want to stay close to the centre of the city, then it's not the right property for you, as one needs to walk 10-15 mins downhill to reach the heart of the city and while coming back you have to walk uphill, which is pathetic.

Although the balcony area was quite spacious but we couldn't use it for 2 reasons, No. 1, it was an open balcony and the condition of the wooden chairs and the table were very bad, as they were getting soaked in sun and rain God knows since when! They were absolutely in useless condition. 2nd reason being lack of security. The balconies are easily approachable from the stairs.

One more bad thing happened on the 2nd day of our stay. We suddenly noticed in the morning around 11:30 am that there was no water supply and we were not informed anything about that. Upon inquiring, we came to know that due to some repairing work, water supply in that area has been blocked till 4 pm. Although the gentleman at the reception told us that they have informed all the boarders, we were not informed. Later in the afternoon, they slipped a leaflet in our room with the information. When we confronted the reception they said that a message was displayed at the reception desk. And they expected all the boarders to read all that they have displayed at their reception area :-)

However, apart from this incident, we were happy with our stay in Copthorone. They had some nice, friendly staffs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebsDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and were reasonably happy with the hotel.

Our room was a superior lakeview room, which was pleasant enough. The bed was comfy and there is a pillow menu to choose from.

The facilities are a little dated but it doesnt impact your stay at all.

We had a recently refurbished bathroom which was nice and a flat screen tv. There was also a microwave in the room. The spa, which you can book for 40 mins, was great and very modern.

The view was great and its less than a 10 min walk (downhill) to the centre of Queenstown.

For the price, I highly recommend this hotel for people on a budget but with a touch of luxury.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 59 in Queenstown
905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 59 in Queenstown
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £85 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing