We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in Queenstown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Queenstown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We've just had four nights in one of the two bedroom apartments and were very impressed. The apartments are very spacious and having the bedrooms on a separate level if like us, you have small children and don't want to go to bed when they do. The views are amazing and the location is pretty good too - about a 10 minute walk into town with only one hill to negotiate - which isn't bad for Queenstown. The only slightly annoying thing for us was no radio.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    278
    150
    43
    23
See reviews for
186
256
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in a 2-bed apartment in September 2013, and couldn't believe how big the apartment was when we opened the door. It was almost like having your own townhouse! The views from the balconies were fantastic.

We knew it was uphill from Queenstown when we booked, and I must be more unfit than I realised as it killed my legs walking back from Queenstown, although the rest of my family didn't have a problem. It really did make you think twice about going in to the town, but on the other hand, for us, it was a compromise: lots of space for five nights versus a small hotel room in the centre. Don't regret our choice at all. I would recommend eating in Q'town at night as the hotel restaurant caters more for groups, or is really quiet in the evenings, and there was a wait when we ate there on our first night (it was a "quiet" night). Loads of places to eat in town and great atmosphere. The views from the restaurant at breakfast time were amazing.

Service at the Copthorne Hotel and Apartments was outstanding at all times.

Laundry facilities were good, had no trouble doing our washing before we left.

Decent sized kitchenette, and great to have two bathrooms and two toilets.

Room Tip: Apartments seemed to be on the top floor. If booking a normal room, try and get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linoliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hotel is about a 15 minute walk into town. Going into town is not a problem but walking up the hill to get back home can be tough after a big day on the slopes. Rooms are fine they are older but not to the point where i would make a fuss about it or consider leaving. View is great but being 24 years old i couldn't have cared less about the view. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet so you can get a good nights sleep. Free WI-FI for only 20 minutes in the lobby is just ridiculous, it should be in the rooms and be free all the time. Breakfast is a great buffet with plenty of options. No complaints about the service or cleaning. Spa is great you do have to book a time slot to use it tho. The Gym is a typical hotel gym with a few sets of small dumbbells a treadmill etc. This is a good hotel i would think $200 a night or less would be fair value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I agree with all of Sharon F points below. How can any hotel justify a 1.5% surcharge for credit cards especially as the only notification before check out is a teeny weeny little sign out of site at the edge of the large check in desk. 20 mins free wifi a day only in reception. Come on Copthorne it is 2014 not 2004...this is no longer considered an extra.

To be fair pretty cheap for our stay but the points above leave a nastly taste in your mouth.

Its close enough to town to walk in 5 mins.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 out of the 4 nights we were in Queenstown. We only stayed here because our place of choice (Oaks Club) was booked out for the first night (bummer!).

We stayed in a Superior Lakeview room, which was okay, but nothing to rave about.

Pros:
Pretty close to town if you're fine with walking
View was okay, but won't bother paying for that next time
Furnishings fairly modern

Cons:
Only 20 mins/ 20mb free wifi in lobby
Fairly rude male staff member on day of checkout
Beds were uncomfortable
Balcony was shabby - chairs had mould on them
Over-priced ($173 for just a motel room)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim-Andrew04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our family of five, all adults, stayed for two nights. The two bedroom apartment had great views from the front rooms and was clean. There were adequate provisions in the kitchen but no coffee plunger - which seems very remiss these days - and none to be had either! There is a spa available but don't expect a view. it is tucked away in a little room which would be fine after a day of skiing but not so nice for summer. There is underground car parking but seemed limited - ask about a guaranteed spot. It is out of the town centre about a five minute drive but very difficult turning right out of hotel carpark onto busy road. We have driven many years in many places but gave up, turned left and eventually turned back to town. Not having been to Queenstown before we were surprised at its size and compactness. Car parking is difficult so try and stay somewhere within walking distance- I will be next time. Also, it was the most expensive place we stayed, for two bedroom apartment, at $310 pnight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellersdandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is very pricey for what it offers. The room we stayed in had an amazing view and was spacious, but not really worth in excess of $300 per night. There is no Wi-Fi in the rooms and is a fair walk into town. There are better options at far more reasonable prices in Queenstown.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing