We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with the stay but it did not make the grade to an excellent rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Happy with the stay but it did not make the grade to an excellent rating”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed three nights this week. On arrival I found the reception staff to be surly and not welcoming at all. Far too casual, like a group of spoilt school boys, where is the professional approach, it was sadly lacking? I was totally unimpressed and disappointed. On returning one day I was met with, "How ya doin?" by the young male on reception, this is not good enough, train them up please to a better standard. This was not just one but two or three. For this I would rate 'very poor'. The reason I put 'very good' is because the room was okay and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was excellent, the best I have had at a hotel for some time. Plus the restaurant staff were courteous, welcoming and friendly as well as giving extra detail to their tasks. Let's hope for a little improvement in the areas I have mentioned for my next stay. A couple of room issues, the sliding door did not lock at all, both locks were faulty and it was only kept closed by the chain and the heating was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Best rooms are above level one to get any view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwikid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding you recent stay with us and we appreciate you bringing the service experiences you had within the hotel to our attention.
In regards to the maintenance issues within your room, these have been addressed and thank you for letting us.
We do hope that you enjoyed your time in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    297
    162
    46
    25
See reviews for
203
272
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had 2 nights here with family. The hotel is situated about a 10 - 15 minute walk away from the town centre. There is a bit of a climb coming back from town. The apartment was excellent on two levels with two bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs and a kitchen, living room and toilet on the lower level. We were on the top of 4 floors with balconies on both levels, each with spectacular views across the lake and mountains. There was a fully equipped kitchen and the rooms were all very clean and comfortable. The only real negative is the underground parking on site. The roof is low if you are getting luggage out of the car and the exit is very difficult to negotiate with a sharp walled bend and big dip from the driveway to the road. With a large car it was necessary to do several manoeuvres to get the car out of the car park with my wife watching the walls - and I drive cars all the time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 769John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and in Queenstown.


Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST SUSSEX, UK
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

With two nights in Queenstown, this hotel is conveniently located just a short walk from the town and a short transfer from the airport, It certainly does have excellent views of the lake.

Rooms were extremely comfortable and whilst the hotel was certainly adequate, I found nothing to get really agitated or enthusiastic about, which I suppose must be a negative.

Breakfast (which was on special offer) was good value at the reduced price. Never found the downstairs bar open but it did not look like the place that one would want to spend much time in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIGASIMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
Please accept my apologies that you did not find the bar open, as it open from 5pm each evening.
We do hope you enjoyed your time in Queenstown and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great location, short walk from town, free parking for when hiring a car. Amazing views when the sun shines! Nice restaurant with good good. However, wifi is expensive and you don't get much time for what you pay for. Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freshy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

At first glance this hotel looks old and grungy but our lake view room on the 3rd floor was very spacious and quite clean. The bathroom has new fittings and is kept clean. The room was nice and big and had good drawer space and a good sized closet (but it smelled of musty wood so we didn't use it). There is a refrigerator in the room and a nice sitting area and a nice big balcony to look over the lake. The parking is free, the staff is quite nice and reasonably accomodating. It is a old hotel which still needs updating so the lobby is very old fashioned and the carpet in the room was also old. They still have an old fashioned key for the room. There is 24 hr self service laundry which is great and costs $3 only. There is another corpthorne (resort) which may be a better option b/c that one is right on the lake so in summer would be nice - we went in autumn when it was cold so the being on the lake doesn't really matter and this hotel was cheaper. The location is great because it's only a 10 min walk from the city center but so are most of the other hotels. The day manager Koah Le was very nice, knowledgeable and accomodating with all our requests. Given a choice again we would NOT stay here -- the Rydges or Copthorne resort is a better option.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a lake view room when staying here -- it's worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I had booked a lake view room with two queen beds. However at check in we were given a room with a view of the building opposite. I went back down to reception and pointed out my paperwork stated I was getting superior room with a "magnificent lake view", not a view of the building opposite the road. After a bit of muttering, I was given a room on the third floor, but when I got there, it only had one bed. I went back to reception pointing out we needed two beds, at which point the Check In manager said he could only give me the original room with the view of the building and did I mind ?. I told him I would accept it if there was no other alternative (being Easter weekend), but I would be making a formal complain to the Copthorne Management, as we were staying there for four nights and had specifically booked a lake view room with two queen beds which was not what we were being given. At this point a lady (head of housekeeping appeared ?) and had a quiet word with the check in manager, who then handed me a key without saying what was happening, to what turned out to be a room with a lake view and three beds, next to the room with one bed we had seen earlier. I felt very frustrated that I had to spend half an hour arguing just to get the room type that I had booked and was listed on the paperwork. There was not much space in the room with three beds and my husband suggested that we get the third one removed as it was a rollaway, but I didn't have the energy to face reception again. However about ten mins later, there was a knock on the door, and the same helpful lady appeared and offered to remove the bed to give us space, which we really ended up appreciating as a week is a long time in one room with a small child. She was really helpful and encouraged us to contact her if we needed any assistance with anything. I'm not sure who she was, but she was a great ambassador for customer service.

The hotel was fine, housekeeping was good, lots of toiletries, fresh towels and well cleaned. I paid $10 for wifi to Skype my mother to wish her happy birthday but found that the connection was too poor to maintain Skype for more than two or three seconds. The hotel is well located, it's about a ten min walk, but quite nice to have a walk after dinner anyway. There was free parking and an free inhouse spa that you could book. We needed a couple of things during our stay, extra tea bags, booking the spa and found the reception managers on those occasions to be very helpful and friendly. (diff people from when we checked in). When I checked out, I ended up with the same person as check in, although he was perfectly pleasant and friendly. I was a little frustrated however, as there was a female check in manager checking someone else in next to him, as I checked out and I heard her advising of various things including 20 mins daily complimentary wifi in the lobby - grrr. Would have been useful to know as we ended up buying coffees etc in cafes with wifi each day just to check weather/messages etc and 20 mins a day would have easily covered our needs. Our friends who had also booked to stay in the same place as us for the one night they were in QT, were phoned at 11pm the night before they arrived to be told they had been moved to a different hotel (the other Copthorne) due to overbooking - not great customer service and especially not at 11pm. In summary, hotel was fine and most of the staff were very helpful but after my check in experience and seeing our friends experience I would probably choose to stay somewhere else next time. Lots of other hotels with better views, nicer rooms for the same money outside of public holidays - just need to remember to book early for Easter!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Our room was modern clean & well appointed with plenty of space, we had good lake views, Breakfast was good, it's a nice walk to the Centre of QT, or a short Taxi ride, The friendly & very helpful staff ensured we will stay here again on our next visit to QT.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 58 in Queenstown
827 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing