We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it could be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Harrogate
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as good as it could be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed August 2014 and slightly disappointed. Rooms felt dated and cold (not yet heard of double glazing). Breakfast very average at best. Good points are free parking and view of lake. Bar food also good (a good thing as hotel is 10 minute walk from town centre).

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are disappointed that you felt your stay was not as good as it could be. We do hope that you enjoyed your time in Queenstown and our surrounding area's.
Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    278
    150
    43
    23
See reviews for
186
256
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here as it was close to town, free parking and breakfast. The lake view room was a good size but very dated. Rooms were noisy above due to terracing. They were kept clean and tidy every day. Buffet breakfast was good but the same everyday. The hotel itself is badly constructed so to go to breakfast we had to go to the ground floor walk to the next lift and go up to the 2nd floor and this is the same for most of the amenities
I will look elsewhere next time

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the town side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel or feel it was up to 4 star level.
We trust that you still enjoyed your time in Queenstown.
Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent five days at this hotel in August. The room was spacious and the staff helpful but it is not a 4 star hotel especially with the very limited provision of Wifi. Breakfast was fine but they required outdoor footwear in the breakfast room - rather unusual!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBursonThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Due to Health & Safety standards we do require footwear to be worn when dining in our Restaurant, I do apologise if this was not explained to you correctly in relation to your comment regarding "outdoor" footwear.
We hope that you enjoyed your time in Queenstown.
Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked our room for one nights stay but had the intention of staying for an extra night after receiving so many recommendations for things to do in Queenstown.

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff member that checked us in was friendly enough and the process was simple although he didn't inform us about where our room was, check out time etc.

The room was very large and we had 2 twin queen size beds. We only needed one but there was no reason for us to ask for a different room.

There was only one small electric wall heater in the room which was off when we arrived so it was very cold. The beds both had electric blankets though so that helped.

We had booked through Agoda and had read on their site that there was free wifi in the rooms. This was not the case so we queried it at the front desk. The staff member (different to the check in staff) did not seem interested and told us that guests are able to use 30 minutes fee wifi per day in the lobby. This was fine for our needs but we were still disappointed with the level of customer service.

We did not book breakfast as the room itself was quite expensive. Check was early at 10am.

The room was fine, the location was good with beautiful views but the level of customer service was nowhere near the standard received elsewhere in New Zealand.

Overall we were underwhelmed and decided against extending our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and we are dissappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel and do apologise for the level of service you received.
Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights as we were passing through and was ok, bit of hill walk from town late at night but that's queenstown I guess. Service was average but rooms were large enough. Nice view too and saves paying exuberant prices somewhere else. Breakfast wasn't included. Make sure you get a good price!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelliemariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for you comments.
We are pleased that you made the most of some of the exclusive deals the hotel has on offer throughout the year.
Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at Copthorne for about a week and I really wish I picked the other hotel I was tossing up on, Yes it has an excellent view but other then that it was pretty poor. I paid extra for the Superior lake view room which in all honesty was a waste as every room has a view and are all the same rooms. The rooms are clean and simple and the bathroom was nice. Staff and very up straight and had no personality or looked like they even wanted to be there.
We arrived quite late in the afternoon which i stated in an email to them, when we arrived our room was still not ready and we had to wait for it to be cleaned. Not really a problem it was just frustrating as they knew when we were arriving and it still wasn't completed.
I know all hotels are trying to be more environmentally friendly/economical but the heaters are appalling especially for the dead of winter, having to wear my snow gear to keep warm was a joke.
What hotel no days doesn't have free wifi everywhere?, Copthorne's wifi of 20 minutes which cuts out after 5 and can only be used in the lobby. Im from overseas and I would have liked to have had some communication with them rather then have to go into town and find free wifi.
Slightly overpriced for what I felt wasn't up the standard it could have been.

Room Tip: Pay for the regular rooms, as the extra for a "lake view" room is a waste of money Every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcdi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Please accept our apologies for the standard of customer service you experienced during your staff, this is not the normal Copthorne standard.
We do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown.
Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Polite staff, very clean, excellent room service, reasonable decor but small things let them down: terrace unusable as drainage blocked and deep puddle, plant trough full of weeds - minor, but easily solved with atentive management.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thereandbackagainNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieGuiney, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We appreciate your comments and are currently rectifying the drainage and plantings on our balconies, now that weather conditions are changing to a warmer climate.
Thank you for bringing these to our attention.
Kind regards
Jackie Guiney
Hotel Manager
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Address: 88 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Terraces Queenstown)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark rated hotel, 66 large superior hotel rooms and 19 x two bedroom apartment style rooms, with impressive views of Lake Wakatipu and the "Remarkables" mountain ranges from your private balcony or courtyard (no back facing rooms). Complimentary parking and only a short walk into the centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Apartments Queenstown Lakeview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing