We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern room with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern room with a good location”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We only styaed in this hotel for 1 night due to a lte booking but for the price it was quite good. Though on the steep hill going into the town centre it is only a 10 min walk into town. The rooms were quite modern and very spacious. The only complaint I had there was no air conditioning and summer time in Queenstown can get quite warm. However, it cooled down at night quite quickly making it very easy to sleep. I was also annoyed that someone kept ringing our doorbell.....is it really necessary to have one each of the hotel rooms???!!
Overall, quite satisfied and preferred it to my second accommodation in Queenstown.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    331
    100
    28
    9
See reviews for
157
491
43
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

What a lovely surprise, views of the lake, spotlessly clean with good sized bathroom and all looked brand new. Very contemporary decoration and furnishings, friendly staff and great location just a few minutes walk from town (albeit uphill). Good value too - we booked using hotelclub.com for only a fraction of the rack rate. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_and_Paul_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Location: It's about 5mins (up a hill) walk from town with free underground car parking which is handy.

Room: We were located on the outer part of the building and had 24hr access direct to our room via a separate secure door which we liked. However, there are some small problems with the room. The shower tray is not deep enough for the speed/pressure of the shower and ends up overspilling. This is poor and you would expect better from a chain hotel. The mirror in the bathroom is heated which is a nice touch but the floor is not heated. I would think that this would be a better fitting heated floors especially during the winter/ski season. The good parts are there is a patio with direct access from the room and it is well equipped with iron/laundry racks and other pieces which you would probably find useful if you were there for a long time. Also, they provide you laundry powder and there are free laundry facilities. A twin room provides 2 double beds and the room is very spacious. Overall, the room was clean and modern.

The one thing I really disliked is that the wifi is overly stingy. They allow you, if i can remember, 30mins or 15mb of free wifi. We thought that this might be for each night and when returning to the front desk for another voucher, we were told this was all you had for the whole stay.

We didn't find the staff terribly friendly and given how generally kiwis are, this was a slight disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It was the first hotel where I got a map to actually find my room! And I needed it. The hotel is vast, it has 2 or 3 wings which you have to reach by walking outside, then it is up the long hallway, then down a long hallway until you finally find a small anteroom with 2 doors leading into 2 neighbouring rooms.
Having said this, my room was very nice. Spacious, clean, with balcony. The bathroom was spacious, with bathtub. I liked the small detail here - the hotel provides a small pouch for the half-used shower gels and shampoos to take with you. I've never taken the opened little bottles with me before, but actually - why not? They won't be wasted and may come handy if you are on the road for another night or two.
CONS: even though I liked my room, I had second thoughts about the location. The hotel is on top of a hill, and boy, did I get out of breath when I was returning (walking) from shopping!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Our first accommodation in New Zealand and it didn't disappoint. Short walk down the hill to town (10mins). Huge room with two small comfy double beds, huge bathroom with bath and separate shower! Room had balcony but facing in towards other units so little sun or scenery. Free washing facilities but no free wifi.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank untermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here twice, once in the Scenic Suites and again in the hotel. The suite was lovely and spacious and very comfortable with one of the best showers I've ever had, but had a limited view of the Lake and the noise from the air conditioners below was a bit irritating. The hotel room was good too, less space, but just as comfortable a bed - although the over the bath shower was not so good.
For the money though I think this was good value and very well located.

Room Tip: Rooms near the road do suffer from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerbilQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We had a great stay at the Scenic Suites. A friend and I took a girls trip to Queenstown for three days. The property is convenient to downtown Queenstown and all the waterside restaurants, bars and shopping. Easy to find when you drive into town from the airport.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the staff was very accommodating. We had breakfasts both mornings...once in the restaurant and once from room service. Food was great both days. Wireless internet service is available in a couple different packages, depending on time or download usage. Its only $5 for two hours of access.

Weather was good the majority of the time. Mornings were a bit cool, but once it cleared off in the afternoon the city is spectacular. Our room had a small view of the lake, but not all rooms do.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bchgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,425 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Property: Scenic Suites Queenstown
Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing