We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation in stunning location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Suites Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We loved this apartment, and Queenstown, so much so that a planned two-day stay became five days! We stayed in one of the larger one-bedroom units. It was really good value. It had a spacious sitting room, good-sized double bedroom, really nice outdoor terrace with sliding doors, and great little well-equipped kitchenette. Good TV, good (reasonably priced) wi-fi. Restaurant was pretty good (though not cheap). Nice bar area with log fire. Staff were excellent - friendly, professional, and willing to "go the extra mile".

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolPeteG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. We value your postive comments about your room and the staff. I am pleased that you enjoyed it so much that you were able to extend your stay.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    322
    95
    27
    9
See reviews for
152
478
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We used a grab one voucher to stay at a suite here. Although we didn't have much of a view, I was impressed by the size of the room, the cleanliness of it and the modern amenities provided. It is a weird layout to the hotel as it was difficult to find our way around - both to reception, the car park and the street. Beds are definitely on the softer side and it does have that slept in feel - I did not sleep well at all but it was quiet. On the whole I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleS1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. We value your positive comments about the size and cleanliness of your room. We are curently in the process of replacing the existing bedding in our Scenic Suites.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a GrabOne voucher for breakfast only. It was a decent buffet with a reasonable range of hot and cold food. Cereals, lots of fruit both fresh and tinned, sliced meats and breads, pastries, the usual hot stuff (slightly bizarrely with spring rolls as well), also congee for the asian guests, fruit juices, tea and coffee etc. Hot food not all that hot, but regularly topped up and of a pretty good standard for mass catering. Plenty of staff, understated but reasonable service, More smiles would have been nice, a more personal greeting maybe...but good overall for the price. Hotel's in a superb location for visitors - easy walk into town, and just off the main road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your breakfast experience. We value your postive comments about the range of food available and our location to town.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The first room we were assigned to looked straight at the back of the units in front of it. We were eventually able to get switched to the units of the front of the property, but our room was on the first floor and and only allowed for a partial type of view. It was a large on bedroom well equipped. The wi fi had to be paid for, this seems like nickel and dimming guests based on todays technology, plus the price of the hotel. The bed was one of the worst we have ever slept in. You could literally see two large worn craters on each side of the bed. You also could hear doors closing with a loud an voluminous slam throughout the night.

Room Tip: Request room on top floor with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I am glad you found your room to be well euipped. In regards to the bed we are currently in the process of renewing the exisiting bedding in our Scenic Suites. I am pleased you found our location ideal.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangaroo Valley
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We looked at far more expensive places that were not as good. This is generous accommodation in every respect. The rooms were great and the staff outstanding!
There was some traffic noise which was not unexpected as we did have the closest room to the street. The payoff was the best views.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKangarooValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown. We value your postive comments about the staff and the view from your room.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a really nice place to stay. Our room was very comfortable, plenty of space. It had it's own kitchen so that gave us flexibility on whether to eat in or go out. The bed was large and very soft - my ideal. The bathroom had a shower and separate bath, was very roomy and the complimentary toiletries were plentiful. Our room faced the gondolas and also had a view to the left of the Earnslaw terminal and part of Lake Wakatipu. It's only a short walk to town, and as others have mentioned, a steep walk on the return. There's underground secure parking. Parks are in limited supply so if you get in early enough there are plenty. Otherwise there's parking on the streets around the complex. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Traffic noise was minimal despite being relatively close to the street. The only downside was the time the cleaners came to service the room - after 5pm. We've never stayed anywhere where the room has been serviced so late and it was disconcerting when we returned to our room to freshen up after a day out and room service was just arriving. We sent them away. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites and Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Outstanding on all fronts. Services was impeccable, the views from the room were absolutely outstanding and the rooms themselves were excellent. Also received a complementary room upgrade which was a very nice surprise. Would definitely return on future trips to Queenstown

Room Tip: Spending that little bit extra is definitely worth it. Try and request a lake view room if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Very positive comments about you enjoying Queenstown, your room,and the staff.
We look forward to hopsting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#36 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#10 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Property: Scenic Suites Queenstown
Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing