We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Scenic suites in Queenstown was great. There was 4 of us and the 2 rooms we very spacious and well equipt. The Main room had a kitchen and a large lounge room, the kids room (big kids 17 & 19) 2 double beds and still room to move. The staff were great and the rooms were very clean. A short walk to town much easier going down the hill but even after a day on the snow we still managed to get up the hill. Although we had trouble with booking through ANZCRO the staff at Scenic we're very understanding so when we needed another night they were great especially Jessica on reception. Booking tours through the hotel was easier and the same prince as in town. The restaurant was very good value make sure you get your 2 for 1 voucher from reception and either have the steak or pasta, you won't be disappointed. All in all a great place to stay in Queenstown. WIFI was only free for 1 hour but we got to see more of the kids so not really a bad thing.

Room Tip: The remarkable wing has good views of .. You guesses it the Remarkable mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Very positive comments about enjoying your room and our location to town, the 2 bedroom units are definitely ideal for families. We value all of your great comments about the staff here and I will be sure to pass these onto the team.

Once again thank you for your wonderful review and if you return to Queenstown we look forward to welcoming you back at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    332
    100
    28
    9
See reviews for
157
491
43
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room was charged for long before we even went on our holiday and arrived at the hotel. The room was standard and plain. Bed was not the most comfortable too soft and not enough back support. Room had no microwave so couldn't warm baby's bottle and felt that it was a great contrast to the 1 bedroom suites which boast a full kitchen.
The card in room stated that sheets were changed every 3 days and to me that is not 4 star quality.
The restaurant food was bland and tasteless and really not worth it... i would eat elsewhere is staying at this hotel.
Balcony provided outside the room was not covered either so doesnt really serve its purpose in a place like Queenstown which experiences snow and rain etc.

Overall a standard room, standard experience and probably will not be staying here again. Only thing it had going for it was the view of the mountains which you can get at any surrounding hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe choose the 1 bedroom suite for a better experience.... not sure though if it will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jermich2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.

At the time your booking was made prepayment was required. There is now a pay later option on our website so payment can be made at the hotel on arrival. Regarding the linen changes as we are an environmentally friendly hotel this is one of our practices, however we are more than happy to change linen at any time during your stay if requested.

With your feedback we are able to work on areas which need improving, once again thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed the view of the mountains from your room.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We couldn't fly out for a week after being snowed in after attending the Oyster Festival in May this year, some freak storm blew in late on the saturday closing the fest as marquees were being battered around and made it too dangerous, then driving and hour into our trip early monday morning got caught in the snow coming down, no chains first time ever, was freaking out all the way such a challenge that day, thanks to Go Rentals when we finally arrived back booked us into the Scenic suites.
The staff at reception, the porter, the staff in the dining at breakfast were marvellous quick check in, we had a large room with kitchenette, tea & coffee micro-wave and everything else, washing machine, a big shower, lounge large flat screen and great in house movies through the night never got much sleep at all, had to have a nanny nap each arvo.
After the drive up from Bluff was enough driving for me, caught the bus to and from town just up the next corner, where you get off, you can purchase tickets for all the other bus routes outa town, we went to Arrowtown a couple of times, and all the others just for a ride Queenstown is a wonderful city everything walking distance, we were lucky to see it under a blanket of snow...comin back to shop

Room Tip: if you can get one overlooking the condala hills or towards the lake, we were out all day so didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Queenstown would have to be one of the best places to be stranded. It is great to read that you had a very enjoyable time here. We value all of your wonderful comments regarding your stay here with us and I will be sure to pass these onto to the team.

Once again than-you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Scenic Suites Queenstown soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I checked into this place with my family and upon my arrival i was greeted by the duty manager. while going through the check in process I over heard another conversation with another guest and "Paulo" from the hotel ( honestly this is not a hotel ) and Paulo mentioned to the guest that we had plenty of rooms.

Upon arriving at my room (9109) we found out that it was a handicap designed room. Upon further investigation of the room we found a hole in the wall and several other things wrong with it. So I called the front desk to be asked to move to another room. I was told that the hotel was full, then I mentioned that I just heard Paulo say there were plenty of rooms. The response that I got was that is what you booked and there is not any more rooms of that type. So I asked what will it cost to get another room. I was told I had to pay NZ$160 per night. Then I mentioned the defects and they said they would get engineering to look into it.

One night we order room service which was clearly a joke, food was covered with aluminium foil, which is hotel standard?

Well to cut a long story short, 3 days later nothing was fixed and we left the room feeling like a disabled person because the beds were horrible.

The purpose of our trip to Queenstown was to purchase several properties and this hotel was on the list of properties that had units for sale. Based on the service and attitude of the team we decided to buy property at another location.

As for a hotel using the name "suites" it is basically a motel, be wise look elsewhere.

FYI he property if close to town but we warned that the location is on a hill which is very steep to walk up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crusinonmyharle... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
In regards to the conversation that you over heard whilst checking in. We have several different room types as we manage two properties. The staff member would have been referring to another room type, the superior rooms were fully booked as you were informed. The only room in Scenic Suites that we had available was a one bedroom suite which you were offered an upgrade to for an additional charge. All of our superior rooms have the same décor the only difference is the outlook from the room which during ski season view rooms are booked months in advance.
Thank-you for bringing the maintenance issue with the small hole in the wall to my attention this has since been repaired. Please accept my apologies that this was not taken care of during your stay.
The food and beverage department only use tin foil on the small dishes that the lids do not fit onto so that the dish stays nice and hot when it arrives to our guests room.
We currently have a replacement schedule in place for all of the beds in our Scenic Suites.
Once again thank-you for your feedback as it enables us to improve our services.
Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night and wanted to stay for a month! Booked the king with 1 bedroom, laundry in-suite (detergent complimentary). Very clean and well maintained, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

The room had a large bed room, connected bathroom with walk in shower, large kitchen, large living and dining rooms. Excellent sound system and large screen LCD TV. There is a small vestibule shared with neighbouring room which isolates the sound from the hallway.

The walk to town is approx 250 metres downhill, keep in mind if you cannot handle the uphill return trek.

Feels like a timeshare accommodation as the suite had everything one could need.

+ Brand new bed.
+ Friendly and helpful staff.
+ Great views.
+ Fast free wi fi.
+ Free underground secured parking.

- Nothing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

We value all of your wonderful comments regarding your stay here with us.

Once again than-you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Scenic Suites Queenstown.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Scenic Suites for 6 nights, we found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable, it was nice to come back after a day out and your room was clean and tidy again, great location, very close to everything, staff were very friendly and helpful, this was our first time to see snow and it was wonderful to look out the window and there it was on the mountains.
The walk up the hill coming back from town can make you puff a bit, but it wasn't too bad, overall our stay was awesome, great service, fantastic views and very tidy rooms. If I ever have the chance to visit Queenstown again, I would stay here again, one hour free wifi every night, supplies were always replaced each day, I couldn't ask for anything more.

Room Tip: We had rooms 9314 and 9316, it can get noisy in the hallway when people come back late or go early i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

We value all of your wonderful comments regarding your stay here with us. I will be sure to pass on all of your comments to the team. It is definitely stunning to look out to the snow-capped mountains and of course it makes for great skiing up on the slopes.

We look forward to hosting you again if you have the chance to return to Queenstown in the future.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

These apartments are in a great location just a walk from the town. The apartments are well appointed, clean and comfortable. Our apartment had a fantastic view over Queenstown and the lake, however because it faced the main road it was quite noisy at night ( surprising that there is non stop traffic all night). We ate in the restaurant one night but I couldn't recommend this restaurant it was not very nice food at all, the service was just okay. Most of the staff were very friendly.
I was disappointed that you can only get 1 hour free Wi fi for your entire stay, it's available but you have to pay.
Would we stay here again? Most likely we would!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Scenic Suites Queenstown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay at Scenic Suites Queenstown.

We value your positive comments about enjoying our location and your room being well appointed and clean. It is disappointing that you did not have an enjoyable experience in the restaurant. I will be sure to pass onto your comments to our food and beverage team.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Scenic Suites Queenstown if you return to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Suites Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Suites Queenstown

Property: Scenic Suites Queenstown
Address: 27 Stanley St | P.O Box 149, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Suites Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Suites Queenstown has one of the most desirable locations for Queenstown hotels. It’s just five minutes walk to the bustling town centre, yet the hotel’s elevated position gives commanding views over Lake Wakatipu and the Southern Alps. Combined with the convenience and quality of four-star apartment style accommodation, it’s hard to go past Scenic Suites Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Suites Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Suites Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Scenic Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Scenic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing