We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Would stay at again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 27 July 2013

A really nice hotel with everything you need, nice and close to the city (although it is up a bit of a hill from the main centre). The hotel was clean, the room spacious and staff very helpful. The buffet breakfast was particularly good and I would recommend it if you can get a package that includes it! I would definitely be looking to stay here again if I returned to Queenstown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle2202837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Many thanks for your comments I will pass these on to the staff and we appreciate your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here in June for 2 nights, thank goodness we spent our other 8 nights in Queenstown elsewhere.
Our room was close to the elevators and staff service doors. As the area in the corridor was tiled not carpeted we heard every suitcase and service trolley that went past...Loudly. The persistent banging of the service doors didn't help either. Conversations could be heard clearly, definitely no sound proofing here! We thought it was just us but family staying in another room found the noise levels disturbing too. The bathroom could have used some exit mould. The rest of the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and had it been quiet we could have slept well. Breakfast was very average. Customer service was average ( bordering on offhand ) compared to every other place we stayed in NZ.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JulieandSimon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your comments and I am dissapointed that we did not meet your expectations, I will certainly be discussing this with my team, thank you again for your comments we appreciate all feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Much better from the outside than the inside! Aside from the main lobby, the entire hotel is painfully outdated and reeks of mold and mildew. There was black mold growing around every door and window.....we had to buy air fresheners for our room!
Walls are paper thin and you can hear every time someone turns on the faucet/shower or flushes the toilet. Our neighbors got up at 5:00am every single morning......
Wi-fi for your room is a total ripoff, since it is measured in MB and not GB, you essentially can't open any attachments or download anything without burning up your allotted data. They offer 20 free mins of wi-fi in the lobby each day, so stick with this option.
They charge almost $2 per minute for calls to toll free and local numbers, so don't use their phone.
Also, they don't inform you until checkout, but there is a $4 service charge for all card payments, which is highway robbery!
Unless you like moldy, stinky rooms which haven't been updated since 1980, I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Walls are paper thin.....try to get a top floor room to minimize noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BamaSlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Many thanks for your feed back on the hotel and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Some 150 of the rooms have been upgraded over the last few years and I will see to it that the room you occupied has a spring clean. Once again I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Great hotel, and close to town centre and all amenities. Staff [especially Amy] were so helpful, Amy organised us a more suitable room and even helped with luggage. Wonderfully comfortable beds, and super breakfast. Yes...very confusing layout but it does make sense eventually!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Many thanks for your comments on your stay at the Copthorne Hotel and Resort, I will pass on your comments re Ami, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Hello reader if your looking for a lovely hotel just walking distance from the centre of town this is the place for you .A great hotel great staff and fab food . my wife and i stayed here in october 2012 on our tour of beautiful NZ and staying here and meeting the international staff members and listining to there views on NZ was for us a great experiance.yes just like any hotel any where in the world you may find a fault or 2 but our visit was just top class.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimoc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Many thanks for your kind feed back on your stay at the Copthorne Hotel and Resort, I will pass on your comments to the staff and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The front office manager checked us in she was very pleasent and gave us a more suitable room then what we booked evon though they were pritty busy. $20.00NZD for parking underground per stay. The most confusing hotel layout ive ever seen but we managed to get around. we went to have dessert in the bar and although friendly staff up their seemed disorganised and we waited 15minutes to get our drinks when the lady told us the cocktail of the day unavailable, desserts arrived soon after not very good. The room was full of mold in the bathroom and on the net curtains, we didn't get the paper we ordered but it was fine. Great staff but rooms in need of some TLC.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thanks for your comments and I will pass these on to the food and beverage team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The location was gorgeous and the rooms and food upto standards. However they had a ridiculously high fee for a late check out and to get a 3 hour extension we were expected to pay more than our original room rate. I filled up a customer review card but I am surprised no one cared to get in touch for recovery.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKwatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thanks for your feed back, our late check out fees are up to $20 so if we have not communicated that clearly I apologise, thanks for your comments and I will follow this up with our front office team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 58 in Queenstown
844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £87 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing