We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed here for 3 days and got a great deal off "grabanight" website which was $65 NZ a night per room. We were really happy with this hotel as it is located resonably close so you can walk to the town centre. However it is a very large hotel and we tried to book the spa but it was booked out. Mainly due to school holidays, we had a look at it and though the spa very ordinary anyway.
We had a great time at this hotel and was very very happy with our stay and the hotels staff. Its the perfect hotel for ski or snowboarding holidays.
We didnt use the resturants but it had a wonderful lake view. The Millenium hotel is situated across the road and I wouldnt recommend staying there as it doesnt have a lake view and isnt as good as the copthorne even though its more expensive.
I am very pleased with this hotel and would have paid more to stay here if needed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melxxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    350
    182
    64
    31
See reviews for
146
356
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in August, lovely hotel, slightly out of town with about a 10 minute walk into town.

Check in staff are very friendly and helpful. Also the guy who books your tours for you, he was so nice and gave lots of information, tips and advice.

Rooms are a bit dated and smelled musty but was ok otherwise. Views are amazing. Food was nice too as were the cocktails at happy hour ;-)

Shower wasn't very strong and bathrooms are small and dated.

If I was to stay in Queenstown again I would probably look for accommodation closer to town though.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

christchurch
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2009

This hotel has an ok location, although other hotels are better located. That's it. That's about the nicest thing I can say about this place. The air condition is very loud, though it switches itself off at midnight, allowing you to sleep then. However, it is so strong you will be dehydrate. The buffet breakfast consisted of rubbery cold bacon, rubbery flavourless mushrooms, tomatoes coated in a dried packet mix of mixed herbs and then wilted under a grill. Not roasted or oven baked; wilted. The baked beans had developed a thick skin and as I was there a server added fresh ones to it and gave it a stir. Shudder. I ended up with cornflakes and canned fruit. It was ok. Two lights had blown in our room. the lighting was very dim due to the energy efficient light bulbs they used. I found this hypocritical against the airconditioning. The best part of the stay was going outside and feeling my sinuses rehydrate.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegreatnicski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

we stayed for three nights in this hotel in first week of may.We were pleased as soon we had the very first sight from our car,its in a great location and as soon as you enter the town u gotta see it.
The guys at reception desk were smart and proffesional ,within minutes we were checked in and we were upgraded to a newly furnished room lake facing instead of run of houses room.
although the floor plan of the hotel is bit tricky and we found some guest searching rooms and reception but it is not a big issue and one get used to soon.
the room was very well decorated and we without wasting time took the picture of it as we were sure we will make a mess of it soon.the view from window was wonderful showing garden of the hotel and lake.
It was very calm and quite .i always visit bathroom to get an idea of property and it was to the mark.
In the morning we went for the breakfst in restaurant situated on first floor,Big glass windows were facing the road and mountains.fresh snowfall could be vied on the peaks.brerakfast was very good comprising of hash brown,mushrooms,tomatoes ,juices ,fruits ,muffins andlot many nonveg items.(as we are vegetarians so we didnt peeped there).
one thing i must say to the copthorene guys that they should change breakfast from hotel to hotel and day to day.we stayed in all copthorne hotels during our tour and at the end i was literally bored of having the same same and same menu everywhere.
but the quality was good

  • Liked — location,ambience,food hospitality
  • Disliked — floor plan
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chirag d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Nice restaurant / lounge area, average room. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I stayed here for five nights in January 2008. Location-wise it's nearby the Queenstown airport, and it's also fairly accessible to the main town, about a 15 minute walk uphill. The room was fairly clean, but the decor was dated, and the bath tub had a drainage problem. The quality of the front desk service varied depending on the staff member, some were friendly and some were cold and unhelpful. I paid NZD160 for a superior lakeview room, which had a stunning view of Lake Wakatipu and the mountains. The hotel grounds are fairly pleasant for a walk. Given a choice, I probably wouldn't stay here again, there are better options in Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soslov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Aust.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We were upgraded to a room with a king size bed and lake view. It was perfect for our stay in Queenstown for our 25th Wedding Anniversay. The bed was comfy, had a great view while eating our breakfast. Good undercover parking and easy access to our room. The staff were helpful when needed. The room had pleasant decor. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_Aust_Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 58 in Queenstown
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Property: Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing