We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Queenstown Hotel - Though Wifi was frustrating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Queenstown Hotel - Though Wifi was frustrating”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Heritage Queenstown for 3 nights. We had a very spacious room in the 'Forest Wing' located on the 4th floor. Just note the lifts only going to level 3 for some reason, so this must be due to the fact at some stage this could have been an extension to the hotel with an extra floor? So if you have mobility or are in a wheelchair it is best you avoid this floor if you have walking up and down stairs (approx. about 15-20 stairs) or if you struggle to carry your own suitcase.

The room: Well appointed, with comfortable Queen size bed (had the European split down the center, though did not really feel this being a problem). The bathroom is a good size with a full size bath and separate shower. The shower had a fantastic flow head with good pressure. There is a good stocked mini-bar, though like many other people I have NO IDEA why they have crazy expensive prices for items, surely the hotel would sell 3-4 times more items if the prices were reasonable??? TV has Sky Television network with a good selection of channels available in the room. Though one MAJOR frustration is this hotel charges expensive prices for Wi-Fi. This is crazy given the year is 2014 and most hotels of 4 star plus usually include Wi-Fi to guests regardless of where they are in the hotel complex whether it is their room or public areas. They do have free limited capped Wi-Fi in the hotel reception, but this is just frustrating.

The Hotel: Well presented with nice grounds. There is a good pool that is heated and is half indoors and half outside. There is a glass wall that opens up halfway across the pool, to give you the option of swimming inside or outside.

Parking: Free and secure basement parking. There is one spot allocated to each room (no designated parks). There is outside parking as well which is free.

Location: About a 10-15 minute walk from town. The hotel is located on a bit of the rise or hill at the end. If you wanting to go into town the cost of a taxi is approx NZD$10 each way. So this works well if you wanting to have a drink with dinner etc.

Overall: A great hotel that certainly fits a very good 4 star rating. It offers good overall value for money. Would return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scnzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good afternoon scnzl, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. With regard to the internet, we do have package deals where internet is included. My apologies that you were not made aware of this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    578
    179
    50
    30
See reviews for
332
768
52
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed in a nice room..modern, clean, well appointed...but could hear the people in the next room snoring.......................had to use lifts, a stairwell and outside corridor to get to the room....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myscreenname822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good afternoon myscreenname822, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. I am glad you enjoyed the amenities in the room, however my apologies for any inconvenience regarding the location of the room. We do have a team of porters who are available to assist with carrying luggage up to your room should you need assistance. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a week. Been to the Heritage four times over many years and have noticed a great adaption to modern rooms and comfortable stays. Staff are extremely helpful and very pleasant to deal with.

The hotel has a shuttle bus but on several ocassions never showed up which ruined dinner plans and caused some strife. The hotel is 15 minutes from town but a beautiful walk to travel from the hotel to town.

The hotel rooms were recently renovated which got rid of old televisions and allowed for a beautiful room designed comfortably and easy to use. The shower was a bit old fashioned and it would be great to see a frameless shower.

No problems with the rooms, corridors, service, or food (buffet breakfast). The food was well cooked but the eggs were overcooked. This hotel offers an amazing experience to any traveller. I would come here again over other hotels in the region.


Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisEB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good afternoon ChrisEB90, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. It is wonderful you enjoyed your stay. My apologies for any inconvenience caused over the bus service, however this is a separate company from us. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband & I stayed in this Hotel in Queenstown while on a visit to this beautiful tourist attraction of NZ. We had a fabulous view from the deck and got to watch all the busy goings on in the lake.
We found the Hotel to be a good location to the town, bus service stops at the door or if walking about 15 mins. The room was beautiful with all the amenities required. We had our family to dine with us and the meal was of a superb standard with very attentive staff. A wonderful big fireplace to sit around and chat before dinner and entertain guests. There is plenty of parking available for visitors or if driving. I would recommend this Hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Good afternoon Colleen M, thank you for your excellent comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

At the end of the town, the heritage is a good 15 minute walk outside of the center - but the walk along the lake is a nice one.

The rooms are in different parte of the hotel, with the parking garage been staight under it - with not a lot of availabe options. rooms are large and there is a lake view if booked.

Comfy beds, large lookers and a good choice for tea & coffee in the closet. The full breakfast was a huge disappointment, limited in choice and lacking a high quality of the products.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunchforone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good afternoon lunchforone, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. It is great you generally enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to breakfast, it was disappointing that you had a poor experience. I will ensure the F&B team are made aware of your feedback regarding the food quality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a lake view room.The room was spacious very warm ,expectantly clean and had all the modern comforts with a amazing view
The staff where very helpful and friendly.It was a great experience including the sumptuous buffet breakfast choice.
Overall faultless service and amenities .
Thank you The Heritage Queenstown ,you helped make our stay memorable one .
Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Lake View second floor unit 201.Just the best of everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Good afternoon Gordon B, thank you for your excellent feedback – I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Heritage in Queenstown and have been very satisfied each time. Would definitely recommend to anyone and am planning to return very shortly to hopefully take advantage of the ski season and have a romantic weekend with my wife.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grzzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Good afternoon Grzzly, thank you for taking the time to post your – it is wonderful you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back for a ski holiday in the near future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
3,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,356 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Property: Heritage Queenstown
Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is has a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing