We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse resort ever! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worse resort ever! ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We came to queenstown for our honeymoon, we booked the lakeside view with an extra comment "must be lakeside!" Since we had to pay extra for lake view!

When we arrived at the hotel, the concierge was not there to help with our luggage nor any welcome. We had to go in the hotel reception and ask for a trolley which they didn't have.
When I got in the hotel room, half of the view was lake and the other half was the building view!

Came back downstairs to reception asking if we can move to the lakeside wing when we already paid extra!

Reception could not help me, so she said the manager will come out soon, half an hour waiting for the manager at the lobby, she comes out and told me there was nothing in the lakeside, but she can show us another room if it's more nicer.
So we walked all the way to the other room just to see a downgrade room smaller than we booked and no view but the forest!
I have no idea what was the whole point of showing us a downgrade room! Very disappointing!

Never going back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Good afternoon Norman H,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. It is very disappointing to read about your experience with us. I would like to look into this further personally, if you would be happy to email me at Donnas@heritagehotels.co.nz with your details. I apologise for this experience as this is not acceptable and I look forward to you contacting me.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    584
    184
    51
    30
See reviews for
337
778
53
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

First impressions were not promising. There was no help offered or given in taking 3 suitcases and 4 hand luggages to our rooms and the decor looked dated. Furthermore the Heritage was very miserly in the meagre amount of free wifi given that most Queenstown accommodation and lodgings were advertising free wifi. The swimming pool was a token gesture. However the rooms and hotel were clean throughout, the beds were one of the most comfortable in our experience and the staff always friendly and accommodating. We grew to appreciate the real log fireplace and the ever replenished marshmallows by the fireplace. The Heritage certainly grew in our affections by the time we left. Inspite of its slight distance from central Queenstown we would certainly consider staying there again if they sort out the wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roentgen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Good afternoon Roentgen2000,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. My apologies for the service received at the beginning of your stay – I will ensure your comments are passed onto the Front Office Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here with my husband and my 5 year old son during ski season for nights. The hotel is situated out of town center by 5 min drive. If you have a car there's no issue, I actually prefer the quietness and it's more relaxing.

The building itself seems quite old but the interior is nice and the room was bigger than what I expected. We stayed in a family room.

Breakfast in the morning was great, enough variety and we spent a few days in the hotel as the weather was bad and mountain was closed, it was relaxing to stay in the restaurant with cosy fireplace. The service in hotel was generally great, friendly staff, in particular Fiona from the restaurant was really nice and very down to earth.

Overall it's a comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feimui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good afternoon Feimui. Thank you for your great review. I will be sure to pass your praises on to Fiona and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We (a family of 6 - two adults and four children) recently stayed at the Heritage. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the lakeside rooms have tremendous views and wonderful balconies. The staff was very helpful, even to the point of recovering an item left behind in the room and putting it in the post for us. As noted by others, it is outside of town so it is better with a car than without, although the buses and taxis are convenient on days when you do not want to walk into town

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good afternoon Chip H. Thank you for your great review. I will make sure your comments are passed on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahgunyah, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

A little out of town but with a car, no problem. Lovely big room and comfortable bed. Good heating. Couch and arm chairs made for a very comfortable room. Room even had a washer/dryer which was very handy! Undercover parking was great and they supplied umbrellas to get between buildings in wet weather. Cosy fire in restaurant area and good food served.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good afternoon Robyn L. Thank you for your excellent review. I will proudly share your praises with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is 1 of the better ones in Queenstown ideal for people with a healthy heart and prefer indoor activities. This hotel is situated on top of a hill with 2 swimming pool & bar, spa by appointment and beautiful views from the balcony in my room

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank eLson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good afternoon eLson88. Thank you for your great review. I will be sure to share your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Heritage is a pleasant and cozy place to stay.
Staff are very friendly.
The complimentary umbrellas for guests was really good to be used on rainy days.
I have booked 5 rooms for 3 nights for myself and my friends.
It's their first time to visit Queenstown and New Zealad and my 3rd time to visit Queenstown, I am a Kiwi from Auckland.
On my 2nd night, I was disturbed by the noise of a group of people shouting and laughing down stairs near the swimming pool, around 3 AM. they probably just came back from night club and got drunk.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Heritage Queenstown and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more beautiful view, choose the room with balcony facing to the Lake, they are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianUtamasinggih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Good afternoon AdrianUtamasinggih

Thank you for your great review. My apologies for the noise disturbance – I will be sure to notify the Front Office to ensure noise checks are completed regularly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Property: Heritage Queenstown
Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is has a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing