We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland & Characterless” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Hotel Queenstown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Norwich
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bland & Characterless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was the first of several Millennium hotels we stayed in during a tour of both Islands and they're all on a similar model, big, glitzy reception and public areas and rooms varying from below average to nicely finished (Queenstown was a nice, comfortable room overlooking the central garden area) but the thing that I really did object to in all of them was how they sought to charge for extras.

I could live with a charge for the car park, especially in larger towns & cities, but this place wouldn't even let me into the car park until they'd swiped my credit card which meant leaving the car parked in the small area outside reception. There was only 20 minutes free wi fi available, and even for that you had to sit in reception, wi fi was available in the room at a ridiculous daily rate. Wi fi is such an essential facility now it should be included, certainly in places in this hotel category. And if I'd have wanted to pay for anything by credit card they would have charged an additional 1.5%, luckily the hotel was prepaid but honestly who travels nowadays expecting to pay for everything in cash?

Very disappointed with Millennium as a chain, and wouldn't use them again,.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noosaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinesh G, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Noosaman,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

I am glad to know that you liked your room and its location and is diappointing to know that you were not happy with Car Parking, internet and credit card surcharges.

I would like to inform that car parking access is given on your room key hence the check in needs to take place for that. We did not have any intention of not giving you the car park access before your credit card was swiped but for security reasons check in needs to take place first.

In past we have received a lot of grief from our guests regarding the internet charges hence we dropped our prices to $ 10.00 which gives 500 MB of data for 24 hours. This price is very competitve among hotels of similar size in Queenstown. We do have other packages available and information is available in our guest rooms or can be obtained from Front Desk.

I agree regarding credit card surcharges but this policy is in place for last 4 years and you will find that hotel of similar sizes, activity providers and even airlines charge a credit card transanction fees. We only charge 1.5 % fees compared to hotels that charge 2 % or 2.5% fees. T

I hope the I have been able to answer to your queries and hope to have you with us at Millennium Queenstown in future.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    360
    206
    53
    16
See reviews for
89
362
53
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in a ground floor room facing the courtyard and it was a quiet and pleasant room. Overall the room was a fairly standard hotel room, but with a door directly accessing the courtyard, the quality of bed and finishes in the room being of a high standard and the quietness of the room allowing us to have a good sleep, made our stay in Queenstown really enjoyable. The room was also very reasonably priced, although the hum of the fan that ran in the bathroom throughout the night was the only thing we could fault.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boilingfrogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinesh G, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Boilingfrogger,

Thank you for your feddback on your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your comments and agree thet first floor rooms are nice rooms with access to courtyard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Millennium Queenstown soon.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

For the rate I paid, I was very happy with my stay at this hotel. The rooms were a good size, well maintained and of a good standard. I found staff to be very friendly and helpful at all times.

I personally found the bed a little too soft but others might find them 'luxurious'! My main disappointment was the cost of internet access, which in common with many larger hotels seems excessive, so I used the wifi in coffee shops instead.

The location was good, being a short walk from the lake and the town centre. The hotel provides underground parking charging $10 which isn't unreasonable, although there didn't seem to be any parking restrictions in the surrounding streets and I suspect you could park there.

If I have the opportunity to visit Queenstown again, I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank complicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinesh G, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Complicity,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

There is nothing better than a happy guest to bring a big smile on our face. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our service and facilities during your stay.

After getting feedback on our internet prices, we did reduce them from $ 25.00 to $ 10.00 for 24 hours package. This is a competitive price in Queenstown as hotels with similar standard charge a higher amount in Queenstown.

As you said, you will consider staying with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have been tramping on the Kepler and had two nights in Queenstown after our amble; so we definitely appreciate the beds this hotel has. Firm beds and yet really comfortable and soft.
They have shuttle services to the airport and into town, (although its only 5 mins stroll into town) and the rooms have everything you need plus some nice touch here and there.
I'll go back there again. Thanks Team.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side (non street side) are quieter we think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinesh G, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Sharron T,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are ecstatic to read your comments on how we were able to make your stay comfortable.

It will be our pleasure to host you again and look forward to welcome you back to Millennium Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We made this booking through Wotif.com. You pay and then get told the details of your hotel. So once we found out we were staying at the Millennium, we had to do some tripadvisor investigation.

We were pleased to see the manager is interested in everybodies comments placed on tripadvisor and responds to the feedback.

This was the first night of our honeymoon. The bed in the room was awesome- no other word for it. We never dined at the restaurant but the presentation of the staff and the rest of the hotel were top class,

To pick holes in the room, there was a mixture of "warm" and "cool" light bulbs. When we booked in we requested a late check out of 11am. However, this must of never made it onto our room details, as we had a phone call from reception at 10:30am wanting to know when we were checking out. We never used the internet, as it was too expensive in this day and age. The TV had a good selection of channels, however, the reception varied considerably between channels and was cropped and flickery on the majority of them.

We used the hotel carpark for its convenience and safety.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talk2libby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinesh G, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Talk2libby2,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is good to hear that you were pleased with the mystery hotel ( us) and its service and facilities. We apologies if request for late check out was not honoured as Front Desk should have confirmed this with you at check in. We endeavour to fulfill all our guest request and always advise them if we are not due to some reason.

We appreciate your comments regarding internet and will forward them to our Senior Management for further consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Millennium Queenstown soon.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I had a pleasant overnight stay at The Millenium Hotel during our recent holiday in New Zealand. I got a fantastic deal on a Junior Suite, and for what we paid, the room was very good. It was very large, with a seperate lounge area, and doors opening out onto the very nice garden area.

The hotel is a few years old now and the decor is starting to fade a little bit, however it is still pefectly acceptable. The place was very clean and the staff were generally very friendly.

The only negative from me is that the check-in process was a little bit chaotic. Our room wasn't ready for us at 2pm and we weren't able to get in until after 2.30pm in the end. I also had the $50 holding deposit charged twice on my credit card.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Easy_Farva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinesh G, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Easy_Farva,

Thank you for your feedback on you recent stay.

It is pleasing to know that you had comfortable stay with us at Millennium Queenstown. We apologise for the delay in check in time and for the authorisation charge. Please be advised that pre authorisation charge will appear back on your credit card as a credit after your departure. It does take a while depending on the origin of the credit card.

We hope to have you back soon with us at Millennium Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

A good hotel comfortable room and beds. Unfortunately there was an Asian group by us that chose to smoke in their rooms which permeated into our room, not the hotels fault just one of those things that happens.

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker check your room is away from smoking rooms as smell permeates along corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GENERAL_MANAGER_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinesh G, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi General_Mana,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. I apologise for the inconvenience caused due to smoking from other guests. We always make sure that all the guests are advised about No Smoking policy and some times it is difficult to monitor them.

We hope to hope you back with us at millennium Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Queenstown

Property: Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Address: 32 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#31 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Millennium Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing