We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Tairua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed in a superior room overlooking the lake and it was perfect. On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the Vista Restaurant and had a 3 course meal for $42 which was first class and served to us in a timely manner. The breakfast was good and affordable. The hotel was very good value and I will stayed again when we next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyOudney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    630
    228
    77
    36
See reviews for
362
638
92
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rawalpindi, Pakistan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I stayed at this place for 4 days with my wife and infant daughter. It was quite location, spacious room, supportive staff and overall a very relaxing place.. As I I had hired a 4wd therefore distance to the town did not mattered. If without car, there is a lot of walk to the main city centre as Queenstown is a hilly area. The rooms should have a microwave inside them plus room broadband paid internet did not work despite several complaints and wifi was way too expensive which I think is same in Queenstown being an expensive city in internet case. Overall a really positive and refreshing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amirkamal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and your family was comfortable and provided with great service. Unfortunately, we do not provide microwaves in our rooms as we are a full service hotel, however we are always happy to assist when guests require food or beverage to be microwaved. We apologise for the broadband internet not working. We did encounter a technical issue on your stay with our service which proved to be a little troublesome to fix. We hope you do make it back to NZ and enjoy another leisurely stay with us.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I like this hotel (I've stayed twice here), even though it is a bit dated it's comfortable, value for money, beautiful scenery, good service, a nice restaurant and large rooms. It could probably do with an upgrade, although the lobby is pretty nice.

Room Tip: The best room we had was a room with two double beds and a huge window looking out onto the lake, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth31990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is not in the CBD but in Ferndale a couple of Kms out and up a steep hill. Best to walk to town and get the bus back, they run half hourly and stop at reception. It is located to give lake and mountain views to most rooms resulting in a 120m walk from the lift to our room. Room had two QS beds which you have to sit on to watch tv. Room facilities are to Mercure standards though we had a few oddities. There were plastic shelves in the bathroom which were not properly fastened and came out when you open the door, these shelves cause the loo seat to be lopsided to avoid them. A junction box had a loose lid and exposed wires and some trim was loose. You had to shift a cupboard to plug in the bedside lamp. The door handle was crooked. Oddities rather than annoyances.
Half an hour free wifi per 24 hour period. Reasonable buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lake view (most rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase_Mollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us overall and enjoyed our great views. We are however extremley concerned with the wires and loose plastic shelf in your bathroom and would love the opportunity to fix these as soon as possible if they have not already been reported to our Maintanence department. If at all possible can you send me a direct e mail to advise which room you were accommodated in on your stay so we may check and address these issues.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you again,
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
michelle.dent@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotonda West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Very nice hotel with a large comfortable bed and pillows. The view of the mountains and lake was wonderful. Very quiet in the evening so we were able to get a good nights sleep. About a mile from town, so you either have to hike or catch the shuttle bus about $3 per person each way. Everything was clean and modern. We were traveling with a group that included their beautiful breakfast buffet. The dining room overlooks the lake and Invincible Mountains. Terrific.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Hard to pick a rating for this one! The hotel is very tired and well over due for refurbishment. The rooms were cleaned pretty well but cupboard doors are starting to fall off, surfaces very scratched, everything looking worn out. (I am a bit particular though)
The views of the lake are gorgeous from the main area and I have never received such warm and wonderful service from any other hotel. Buffet breakfast was good.
Two types of rooms - standard garden view and a lake view, we tried out both as we had an upgrade for 2 of the nights. Thoroughly enjoyed a couple of wines in the spa pool on our last night! We booked this hotel using airpoints but I think the cost per night is quite reasonable. I would recommend staying here, however unless they renovate their rooms don't expect the Hilton!

Room Tip: Higher floors with a lake view (or the view is obscured by shrubbery)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendersNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We recently spent two delightful nights at this resort. The lake and mountain views were fantastic. The dining room prices were competitive with the prices we had been paying but the service and views were fantastic. Our waitress, Andrea, gave us a number of fine suggestions of things to do and see. The hotel manager, Paul Clark, was there to greet us when we arrived. We were part of an organized tour and arrived at the hotel in two 45 passenger busses. Imagine our surprise when we observed Mr Clark in his suit and tie climbing into the luggage bays of the busses and helping the drivers get out our bags. When one of our group asked why, he as the hotel manager was doing this, he said that he realized we had traveled all day and would be tired and anything he could do to speed us to our rooms was his pleasure. The hotel was extremely well run in all aspects and we can see why. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George3598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you so much for your review - we are thrilled you enjoyed a lovely experience and great value in our VISTA Restuarant. I believe its one of the best restaurants in Queenstown to offer this unobstructed, sensational outlook and great food!. We are indeed very proud of our General Manager, Paul and as you expereienced first hand, his great service ethic certainly travels down to his entire team. We have passed your kind comments onto Andrea.
We hope to have you come stay again,
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,571 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Property: Mercure Resort Queenstown
Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing