We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lake view is lovley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

To wake and see snow capped moutains across the lake was something of a treat, clean and spacious lake view room quiet and well equiped.All the staff from reception,restaurant ,bar and breakfast just wonderful.The meals we had was good variety and quality great views from restaurant in my opinion the only place to stay if in Queenstown

Room Tip: lake view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your exceptional review. I have passed your comments onto our entire team as we strive to earn all our guests wonderful feedback such as yours,
We do hope to see you again,
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank nzgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is situated a 30 minute walk from the town which takes about an hour for the return journey up a steep hill. The room we were given did not face the lake so when we asked if a lake view room was available, we were told that there was but it would be 38 dollars per room per night to upgrade or 45 dollars per room per night to include two breakfasts. We thought this was a no brainer because breakfast was 23 dollars per person. We therefore changed to a lake view room which was wonderful. There was a safe in the room and a key could be collected at reception and there was 30 mins free wifi in reception each day. Reception staff were extremely approachable and efficient. There were laundry facilities in the hotel.the views from the bar, restaurant and breakfast room were amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return to us on your next visit to NZ.
Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Manish K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I am regular visitor to Queenstown and the Mercure in the Queenstown
Once again the checkin staff were friendly and quick.
I had room service which was quick.. the menu was limited because the kitchen had closed...
Bfast was typical hotel buffet.... but the view are amazing from the restaurant
The room was once again amazing... or the view is.
The hotel is up in Fernhill which is a short drive into town... or a tourist bus that picks up at the door...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your concise and positive review. We are very happy you have become a regular guest and look forward to welcoming you back!
We hope you visit us again soon, Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have visited Mercure Queenstown over year ago during winter.

My first impression: reception everyone friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately I can’t say it about restaurant staff. We had dinner over there nearly every evening.
Food is ok, nothing special but after all day on the slope it was the easiest way to stay at the hotel and have dinner.

Last night I have order steak. I asked to cook it medium rare.
When meal arrived I have notice that steak cook is medium-well. It was over cook for me.
When I called one of the floor staff, she took it back to the kitchen, then come back and said :
“ chef said that this steak is cook medium rare and lady is wrong” Or something like that
Even if chef said that, you don’t go to the table and repeat that !
I was speechless.

At the restaurant there is no knowledge how to deal with complains.!

Location: Long walk to the town. Lucky there is a bus that picks up and drops off right from the front door.

Advantage: Amazing view, free 30 minutes WiFi at lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voss v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the various great benefits of our hotel. We are sincerely sorry for the manner in which our wait staff responded to your issue in the restaurant. We have certainly addressed this issue and believe it will not occur again.
We hope you visit us again soon, Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank smash45
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
898 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £80 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing