We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable with fantastic views”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Mercure the night before doing the Routeburn Track (one of the great walks of NZ). The location is amazing for its views particularly on a stunning day. As other reviews have stated it is a bit of a walk into town and back again but we were happy with the exercise given what our next 3 days were going to hold. You can easily get a bus up and down that goes every 30 mins (from memory). I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is a bit tired but we got a wotif deal well in advance of staying there so felt the price was value for money. I would definitely stay there again as the walk up the hill means you you don't have to pay top Queenstown prices!

Room Tip: Book very early if you are wanting to stay over the Xmas/New Year period! The rooms with mountain v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mccracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. We loved your positive comments on our location and the beauty and tranquility experienced from this vantage point.
We are also pleased you felt you have received great value for money. We hope to see you on your next stay before tackling another of our great walks or cycle trails!
Michelle Dent, Sales Manager, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    603
    224
    72
    33
See reviews for
353
612
89
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
390 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Yet again our family enjoyed another fantastic stay at the mercure. Great service, clean room, great facilities and a wonderful breakfast. We enjoyed the pool and spa and the gym has great equipment. This is our fourth stay and of course will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckoinchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely positive review. We are thrilled you have made us your “home away from home!” Please ask for me on your next arrival, I would love to welcome you back in person,
Michelle Dent, Sales Manager, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Positives the view, relaxed staff, helpful staff, nice vibe for kids, the restuarant for breakfast and dinner is good and hot tub.

Negatives the pool is unusable freezing, the carpets are dirty and old, not enough car park spaces, under satffed waits at the front desk are painful and you need a car to get to town.

Value for money is good I would stay there again.

Room Tip: There is one renovated floor try to get on it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Stephen,
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and that you felt you received great value for money.
We have certainly taken your comments regarding the carpets and Front desk waiting times seriously and have addressed these issues to improve our services and facilities to our guests. For our future guests we would like to advise the Connectabus comes every 30 minutes to the hotel and returns to our doorstep – a great way to avoid the busy CBD and its limited parking!
We are pleased you will return to us and look forward to welcoming you back,
Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I found some of the staff very unpleasant and impolite. The things are not as you would expect them to be, or how they appear to have been agreed, if you book online in advance. I would not trust what is promised. There are many nice alternative hotels.

The location a bit far away and you need fitness with the steep hills. The rooms are run down and cabinet/fridge doors in the rooms have problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
We find your review unusual in that the majority of our guests reviews they attest to our friendly staff. We also note you stayed quite a while ago and your review is vague and does not outline exactly what the issues were on your stay. We believe we are certainly represented in our websites accurately and as many reviewers also attest to, we deliver great value for money in the 3.5 star hotel selections of Queenstown. Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Property: Mercure Resort Queenstown
Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing