We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights in room 416, a very large room with a view that stopped me in my tracks when I first entered the room - spectacular view of Lake Wakatipu. This room had 2 beds with very nice bed linens, an OK bath, sitting chairs & table, desk & chair, empty minibar (only had milk for the coffee/tea setup), a chest of drawers, closet - and did I mention that that amazing view?

Check-in was lighting fast, and staff very helpful. The bus into Queenstown stops at the hotel's front door. The breakfast buffet was served in a restaurant with more great views. But dinner in the hotel's Vista restaurant was really great - a really wonderful view of the lake & mountains thru huge windows, and very good food - we shared appetizers (red lentil hummus on kumara chips, salt & pepper squid, onion pakoras & prawn skewers - yum!)

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful, positive review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and the amazing views from our unique location. We are also happy you enjoyed our Chefs signature dish of Salt and Pepper Squid in the amazing Vista Restaurant. We do hope you return to us again on your next visit to NZ! Kind Regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    633
    229
    77
    36
See reviews for
362
640
92
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I would recommend against attempting to book a stay at this hotel. Dealing with the management staff revealed them to be unhelpful and rude. After a change of plans, the hotel was inflexible regarding a desired booking cancellation and after a protracted process we were eventually instead allowed to reschedule the booking to a different date.

The hotel itself is rather run down, with dated decor in the rooms, corridors and old bathrooms. The room itself had few amenities, e.g., there is no wi-fi. Queenstown is a fantastic place to visit, but if you are staying here I would recommend finding a different hotel.

[NB, The trip was made in May 2013, but trip advisor allowed the review to be backdated only to June 2013]

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMartin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback although we find it unusual for you to have waited a year to correspond with us. We understand you may have booked a fully prepaid no change, no refund rate which is why it will have been offered to you at the special rates. This rate offer is no different to any airline or other hotel company’s policy. We also find it disappointing you felt you received bad service as our hotel is renowned for great staff service and a passion for ensuring our guests enjoy their stay. For our future guests reading this review please be advised we have full WIFI in all our accommodation rooms and public areas. We offer our guests 30 minutes Free of charge per day up to 50 MB and then you may purchase extra WiFi as per your requirements. Kind Regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night. It was a bit pricey, but we did not mind it as it was a resort :p. We were in for a surprise as the rooms were old and we honestly felt that the stay is not worth the price at all. We had an idea to extend our stay but ended up checking out the next morning to a similarly priced but a much better hotel, and that too in a suite. Avoid this place if you can as you get much better places if you shop around.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank in_oz_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme for the hotel and we strive to offer the best service and views in Queenstown for the price point we offer. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the Southern Lakes,
Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Apart from being the hotel with the best view I have ever seen. I was lucky enough to meet the GM upon check in who personally checked me in. From here the stay just got better, being a place with so much to do, the concierge recommended the perfect activities and the hotel facilities were excellent for the price that I paid. The location puts it close to town, but far enough away from the noisy bars in the centre of town.

I have stayed here several tomes now and never had a bad experience.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank activetradingnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review on our hotel. We agree! we do think we offer great value for money and the best views in Queenstown in a peaceful, tranquil environment. Dean Daniels, our General Manager is thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure! Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I had a really enjoyable stay however my visa debit card was not accepted as a credit card so I had to pay an eftpos bond, I've stayed at a few hotels now and no one has ever asked me to do this. I paid the $50 and was told I would be refunded the next day, it's three days later and it's still not coming up in my account... I don't think I'll stay here again for that reason as it's a bit of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moniqua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience the authorisation policy has caused you on your stay. Nearly all hotel companies globally do request this security. We understand the timing of the release is at the discretion of the persons individual banks and some may take longer than others. We do hope this does not discourage you from staying with us again as we understand you enjoyed most aspects of our hotel and it's facilities, Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights with my 3 kids in a double king bed room. Woke up to amazing views, and enjoyed a nice breakfast (also with great views) before heading out for a great couple of days in the Central Otago area.
No major complaints - the hotel is showing its age in some ways - bathroom a bit dated, no free wifi in rooms, and there was a bit of noise from the elevator in our room, but really, for the price, this place was great. We had a car, so the location was no problem - a 2 minute drive to town, but if you are foot this would be a problem.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for lake views and avoid rooms close to the elevator if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy the hotel suited you and your family so well. We are currently installing WIFI into our rooms which whilst it won't be free it will certainly enhance our guests experience. We just also wanted to note for our future guests that we have the Connectabus coming to our hotel every 30 minutes offering a service to and from town for your convenience - saves having to find parking in the busy CBD! We do hope we can welcome you back soon, Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights, The views are just amazing and hotel is located right on the lake with the mountains in the background. The staff were friendly and helpful, car spaces were not too many so once park is full one does have to park on the street. The inside of the hotel does need a upgrade. However will stay here again as the views are just amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review. The best compliment is guests telling us they will return to us. We too believe we have a view of paradise from our hotel! We are progressively upgrading our hotel so I'm sure you will a modernisation on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,573 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,454 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Property: Mercure Resort Queenstown
Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing