We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Scenic Suites Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$169
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$105
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$422
US$381
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakauri Lodge(Queenstown)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
353
198
69
30
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
198
69
30
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshotover riversteam roomsquash courtriver viewspa areabodhi treeburmese restaurantcinema roomarthurs pointcoronet peakno liftspa treatmentsview roomheated poolsome tlcour honeymoonboutique hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
582 - 587 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Fabulous location if you have a car as this hotel is situated about 7kms from all Queenstown facilities. Decorated expensively throughout in a heavy, mock period style which, whilst it may appeal to many, we found overdone although comfortable. We were lucky in being allocated a riverview room with a balcony, which we thought was the very best positioning to take full advantage of that wonderful view. There did seem to be a shortage of staff, and this may account for the sloppy standard of service by the waiting staff - particularly at breakfast .... no plates, no dishes, no replenishment of juices, sugar, milk, bread... all provided when requested but really not good enough in an expensive hotel. However, the view made up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welltravelled63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post yout feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate this, as it is only with this feedback that we can continue to improve our service to you.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the views. However, we apologise that the service was not up to standard in the breakfast restaurant. We will endeavour to fix this problem as best we can.

We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again here at Distinction Nugget Point.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Before our family chose to stay at Nugget Point Hotel, I read through the reviews on tripadvisor.com and found many positive reviews as well as many negative reviews. There seems to be no middle ground. We stayed at the Garden View Room during Christmas period, and my opinion seems to be that this is a good hotel, but not for everyone. I will try my best to explain why, so that everybody who intends to stay here will be well-informed of what to expect, and know whether or not this is the right place for them.

The hotel is indeed beautiful. Its garden is stunning, and its reception area and dining room are stunning. It is located out of the Queenstown city amidst the mountain overlooking Shotover river. Its rooms are beautifully decorated to a very high standard. Our balcony (garden view room) is not so great though. It has lots of dry leaves (but it was very windy that day, so it is probably not the staff's fault). The staffs, whilest minimal, are efficient and friendly...

...but not everyone will like this hotel. The very first reason is that this hotel is one of the most expensive hotels in Queenstown. The price it charges for its rooms exceeds what normal 5 star hotels in NZ charges for their rooms by miles. However, the trend of top-end accommodations around the world has changed from the time Nugget Point opens, to something completely different from what it currently offers. Right now people who pay premium price for accommodation seems to prefer villa accommodarion, such as those of Aman and Banyan Tree Resorts. Thus, if those people are looking for those types of accom in Queenstown, Millbrook Resort and Heritage Hotel have them...at the same price Nugget Point Hotel charges for its hotel 'rooms'.

I read one negative review where an American traveller expressed his (her?) disappointment that what Nugget Point offers is no different than what other hotels offer. While his(her?) opinion that it is equivalent to 3 star hotel is certainly on the exaggeratedly side, (s)he has a point. Nugget Point's rooms, while beautifully decorated, are just that, hotel "rooms", with 1 King sized bed (or two single beds), with TV and sofa next to it. You can get a one bedroom suite, with separate bedroom and living room (although nowhere as beautifully decorated) at many other recently opened properties in Queenstown for the same price Nugget Point charges for its standard hotel room. And at $400-$700 where Nugget Point charges for its 'luxurious suites', you can get a 3 brm villa at the Heritage or luxurious villa at the Millbrook. As a result, there will be people who will not be happy...not because Nugget Point is at fault...but because the current trend for top end accommodation has changed.

The second reason is that this hotel is away from Queenstown. Without your own car, you will have difficulties getting around Queenstown. It also has no complimentary shuttle bus service (well, at least when we stayed the staffs told us that there wasn't one). Furthermore, being away from Queenstown, it will have no view of Lake Wakatipu, and this may turn some people off. Finally, like many have noted, this hotel is unusually quiet because it is very small (only 36 rooms). People who want absolute privacy (as if the whole place belongs to them) would love it, but people who want to see lots of 'action' would not like it.

Thus, I can only say that we certainly enjoyed our stay, but we recognise that this hotel is not for everybody. You need to have your own car, you must know that what you will be getting here is not a villa but either a normal hotel room for $200 a night or a suite for $400+ a night. If you are after away-from-it-all privacy, you prefer beautifully appointed rooms/suites over apartment-styled accommodation, you will love the Nugget Point.

PS. Our room also has no air-condition and it can be quite hot at night on hot nights, but Queenstown has very few hot days. So this should not be a problem for most of the time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nitra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. We appreciate how insightful your feedback is, and it certainly is true that aspects which may be positive to some are not to others. We believe that to many our location is a positive, as it is far enough out of Queenstown to be peaceful, with uninterrupted views, but only a short drive from the city and close to Coronet Peak ski field.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the location, privacy and the rooms. However, it is sad to hear that you find the style of the hotel to be behind the trends. As you say, each person is different, and so it is good to have variety among the top end hotels.

Thank you again for giving such comprehensive and useful feedback. This will be useful both for guests wishing to stay with us, and for us as a hotel to improve our service to you. I would like to let you know that a complimentary shuttle is being worked on and we hope to have this up and running soon.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

First I should say, unless you have a car, this would NOT be the most practical location for those choosing to visit Queenstown or Arrowtown. The lodge is about 7 to 8 kilometers from the center of Queenstown.
For those with cars, preferring to stay in a serene location far from the tourist crowds down below in the city, this is a good choice. There are several types of rooms. We had booked a garden view room for NZ$158, but were upgraded to a river view room, with a king-size bed, small sofa, writing desk, enormous armoire/closet, DVD player, tea and coffee maker, mini fridge, and flat screen TV. The views from the room and its balcony were stunning. The room was comfortable and elegantly furnished. The bathtub was large and deep with spa jets. Toiletries, such as shoe polish pads, sewing kits, cotton buds and the usual shampoo and lotion were provided, as were terry cloth bathrobes and slippers.
We also dined in the restaurant because we were too tired to drive into town. The food was good but overpriced. I had the venison dish for NZ$40. Two small pieces of venison, one small venison sausage, several tablespoons of silverbeet (Swiss chard) sauteed with some sort of bacon or Canadian ham (the menu did not list this ingredient, which is unfortunate as I do not eat pork), and three pitifully meager slices of kumara (sweet potato). I mean, how much more would it have cost to put half a kumara on the plate?
My partner's lamb rack dish was much more generous, with not only more meat but also more veggies. It cost NZ$38. Plenty of lamb and venison in NZ (despite the recent lamb mortalities caused by the spring blizzards).
The selection of wines by the glass was limited and not very good--there is no excuse for this in New Zealand, especially in an area surrounded by fine wineries.
The views from the restaurant would make this a good location for a romantic meal, but plan on spending about NZ$200 for a complete dinner for two (that is two mains, two entrees, desserts, and a bottle of wine).
This was our second stay at Nugget Point. Curiously, when we first called the staffer who answered told us that the garden rooms were fully booked (was it my American accent that provoked this reponse?). So we booked through Wotif instead. Some of the staff are great, others not as friendly and helpful.
A lot of Asian tour groups stay here. These seemed to be smaller groups, which makes sense as the resort is not that large.
We would definitely stay here again, but probably skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassarinhoAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We had one nights stay n this hotel, and were pleasently suprised at the quality of the rooms for the price we paid (Direct on thier own internet site) We arrived and were upgraded to a river view room. excellent!!!!! will be even nicer when the day spar facilities are open!! I highly recomend this hotel for couples who would like to spend time in a quieter part of queenstown or those who are here to ski as the mountina is just down the road!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobskinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I stayed at the Distinction Nugget Point Boutique Hotel for 4nights while on a skiing holiday. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and the whole hotel is appointed to a very high level. I received excellent service at all times and the staff were very friendly. The disadvantages of this hotel are the location ($25NZD Taxi ride into Queenstown), although it is very well located if you are skiing at Coronet Peak. The restaurant is expensive and the food was not to the same level as the prices. The hotel and restaurant were very quiet and it appeared to be struggling for bookings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chute_de_Neige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews