We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We got this one off a wotif.com deal and it was great. The service was excellent and the rooms spacious and clean. The bous was the heated floor in the well appointed bathroom. Nice touch to have a free bottle of Sav when we arrived though it could just as easliy have been a local wine rather than a Malborough one. We could have done with some extra pillows but the bed was comfortable and the sheets high quality. Its not too far out of town if you have a rental car so we didnt mind the short drive. The garden rooms are the cheapest but they are still warm and comfortable. We had a nice deep bath in ours. The decor seems to be a mixture of syles and it has a slightly opulent feel with all the huge paintings. For the price it is good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath if you are going garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a lovely stay at Nugget point a couple of weeks ago ( New Years ). The hotel has a beutiful view of the shotover river and the rooms were well appointed. I enjoyed the location, being only 10 minutes drive out of Queenstown you got leave behind all the noise. The staff were excellent and attentive to all our needs. Take advantage of the Onsen pools that's only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, this is one of Queenstown's top rated attractions, and the shotover jet is only 5 minutes away aswell. We were a family of 4 with 2 children aged 5 and 12. The hotel gave us a free upgrade to a suite to accomodate us better. There is free wifi throughout the hotel, which is unusual for NZ.This was the best hotel we stayed on our 15 day trip throughout NZ.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room that faces the river. The view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Our room at this hotel was lovely and it was a blissfully peaceful place in a bustling town, but we had a couple of concerns.

Firstly, the hotel is approximately 10 km out of town ($30 NZ for taxi each way, or $7/person each way in a bus that went once an hour the day we arrived) so it isn't overly convenient.

Secondly, there is no allocated car parking or even guide line markings, so if you were late back of an evening it was difficult to find a park amongst the haphazardly parked vehicles.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at Nugget Point for 4 days and 3 nights during the busy December Queenstown tourist season. Our family got an adjoining room with a view of the shotover river.

Pros:
- great view
- clean rooms
- highly accommodating staff
- spacious bathrooms with a separate huge shower enclosure and a jet tub


Cons:
- Bathroom amenities look like the bottles were used and reused several times. The bottles were not even full
- They lack staff. We left our rooms around 11:00am and came back around 5:00pm to see it was yet to be made up
- Staff who clean the room seemed untrained...the one who cleaned our room threw away my handmade oatmeal soap. It still baffles me why he did this
- breakfast is so-so. We opted to drive to Arrowtown to eat breakfast

Room Tip: get the rooms with a river view otherwise you will be facing the parking lot. Also, rooms at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azziedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I enjoyed my time at the distinction, and was pleasantly surprised when the upgraded our room for free! This room had a spa bath and so was a real bonus. The room (superior river view) was well appointed, spacious, and had a balcony overlooking the river and hills. We also paid to have breakfast included which made the start for each day a lot more simple and kept us well feed. The staff where always helpful and polite. Also for those of you not willing to spend $30 on a taxi from town you can use the local Connectabus service to get a bus out to the hotel and this will cost about $9 (you catch a number 9 bus to Arthur's point and tell the driver the name of your hotel).

Room Tip: Note if you don't have a river view room you are probably facing the car park, entrance area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We spent our last night at this property after a six day/five night trip to the South Island of NZ. It was our fourth place to stay (I'm writing the other reviews next) and without a doubt it was our favourite.

So the accommodation...

We stayed in a Garden view suite which was I think the least expensive room but it had a King bed (I'm 193cm and found it very comfy), it was very clean and had a nice balcony with the sound of a large fountain when you sat outside. The TV was small-ish but in fairness you are not coming to Queenstown to watch TV. There was a DVD player and you can get DVD's from reception for free. On that topic there is a large cinema room with a huge screen where you can watch what you want in any of a number of comfy couches. The bathroom was very clean and had all the small amenities you'd expect in a really decent property (sewing kits, shower caps, show shines etc). The room also had it's own couch, desk, table etc.

The restaurant...

We are vegetarians so while the starters were great the mains were fine (vege tarts were a little small but came with salad and mash) and the tart itself wasn't really hot but that is being picky. Our server, Dante, was great and put some romantic tango music on for us which was a nice touch (and beat listening to James Blunt). To finish the cheese platter was pretty tasty. And the view out the window during dinner was fantastic - river view, mountains in the background etc.

The Spa...

Per the other reviews the Spa was amazing (even if the hot tub wasn't working) - there is a great steam room, sauna, multiple showers, decent pool and it was really relaxing. The whole environment is done in a mosaic style which was pretty cool - as are the views of mountains out the windows. You can hire the entire place to yourself too!

The staff...

The three staff (Andrew, Dante and Anna) we met were fantastic - really helpful, friendly and welcoming. Definitely the nicest people that we encountered in all of the places we stayed at in NZ (which is saying a lot as the other places had friendly staff too - just not as uber helpful).

The other facilities...

There is a decent gym, tennis court, indoor squash court, cinema room and of course the spa - we're booked in for a few treatments tomorrow. There didn't appear to be a lift but in fairness if you can't cope with a few stairs to get to the first floor then you're in trouble if you're planning any walking in NZ. The place is a few miles from Queenstown but to be honest the peace and quiet is great and it's less than five-ten minutes drive into town.

In summary would definitely recommend the place and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We had a 2 night stay here in the Shotover Suite on a 1/2 price GrabOne voucher. For $200 NZD/night, it was reasonable value for money. If I had paid the listed rate (400/night), I would have been very annoyed. The hotel is lacking the usual standards of housekeeping and maintenance. Examples include a non-functioning, dirty spa tub on the balcony with a collapsed cover, green mildew in the toilet brush holder, loose roofing steel outside the window that rattles in the breeze, a very slow drain in the shower and a non-functioning drain plug in the bath tub, the fountain in the parking lot has partially collapsed in to the pool (and it looked like it had been that way for awhile!), spider webs on the balcony railings, the carpet on the threshold of the bathroom doorway is pealing back -- well, you get the idea.

The staff seemed kind & well-intentioned, perhaps just overwhelmed?

It is a bit of a shame really as the hotel is nicely situated on a bend of the Shotover River, well away from the bustle of Q-town. Someone spent a bunch of money on the Spa area with beautiful tiled pool, steam room & sauna -- and a big hot tub (alas, also out of service)

If they ever get the hotel up to the same standard as the spa, then it would be a "luxury hotel of distinction". It was woefully short of that standard on our visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.4 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,630 reviews
3.7 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 59 in Queenstown
910 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,469 reviews
3.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
3 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#35 of 59 in Queenstown
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Address: 146 Arthurs Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £91 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing