We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding reception”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were invited to a 70-person wedding recently, and since this hotel was where the reception was to be held, we opted to stay here too. It is in a very nice location, but the only downside is that it is a 10 - 15 mins drive into Queenstown city (so a car is necessary). Our room was more than adequate, with extra couches, fridge, huge wardrobe system and wall heater. Decor was shabby chic. The views from our room were nice, looking at the mountains. Our cousins room (214) had a spectacular view of the Shotover river.
We dined at the restaurant and the food was excellent (average++ in price), the wines are fairly pricey (but good quality). Breakfast is included and this was a nice range of the usual English-style fare.
As for the wedding reception itself, we cannot speak highly enough at how this was conducted. All the staff were friendly and attentive and we would have no hesitation at recommending this as a wedding reception venue.
Thanks for a nice stay,
Donna & Stu (John & Nic wedding party).

Room Tip: Ask for views of the Shotover river. Choose the ground floor as there are no lifts. There is a Presi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muriwaidonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Donna & Stu,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Queenstown and for taking the time to write a review.

The team really enjoyed hosting this wonderful wedding and were are all very happy that everyone had such a good time.

Thanks for your kind words about the hotel and our team.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    180
    59
    24
    20
See reviews for
65
396
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This place looks great in all of the photos and it didn't disappoint!!! The features that this hotel have are amazing for a very reasonable price. The rooms are quite nice, not over extravagant but quite nice. Very well house kept throughout the whole stay as well. Highly recommend using the spa and sauna as well as the private cinema. Really friendly staff. Nice and close to Coronet Peak if you are planning on going there by means if your own vehicle. Great for couples looking for a relaxing holiday with a little bit of class.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Braxi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Braxi33,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Queenstown and for taking the time to write a review.

Thanks for your kind comments. We are all very pleased you had a great stay.

The team always happy to get good feedback:)

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everything was amazing, except the rooms realllly need some refurbishing..Way out dated. Other than that, the view was amazing.. Reception ppl are so sweet and welcoming. I forgot my necklaces in the bathroom when we checked out, and they called us to let us know! I didn't even notice they were missing. So glad we experienced amazing snow!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi ray1802

Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Queenstown and for taking the time to write a review.

It was great to get that big snow fall when you were staying.

Pleased you had an amazing time.

You are right our rooms are not modern but that's our style and overall most guests enjoy our unique feel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I would like to take the time to write this to not only thank the staff for such friendly great service but to also let others know that if they are looking for a place to relax and unwind then this is your stop. From the moment you arrive at front gates you know you have arrived somewhere special. The location is stunning with breathtaking views over shot over river. It is hard not to notice the amazing decor of hotel which is just beautiful as you enter. The facilities are great. The hotel hosts its own in home cinema which you could book out for your own private use and take own wine and cheese. There is a large selection of movies and each room also has own lounge room with DVD player so you can take to your room if you prefer. There is gym and squash courts and tennis court which we did brave in frosty conditions. There is Los pool, spa, sauna and steam room. Ladies if you are wanting one pampering there is full spa services available. Just up the road from here you have the coronet peak ski fields, onsen hot pools and ten pin bowling. It is 10 minutes from town and costs $20 by taxi. There is also a bus which costs $8. We stayed in town for three nights and then stayed here 4 nights which turned out to be ultimate choice of both worlds as by the time we arrived at nugget we were ready to just enjoy our retreat. I would highly recommend this stay to anyone. Special mention to Jen and Susan who were always so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookied68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Brookied68,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Queenstown and for taking the time to write a review.

Pleased to hear you had a great stay. We have lots of extras at Distinction Queenstown and when guests make use of them like yourself it really adds to the experience.

Team really pleased to see their names on TripAdvisor thanks.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I loved this hotel, the setting and scenery was breath taking, rooms were large and spacious and our room looked out over the river gorge, simply stunning. Would have been even better if we hadnt of had two rooms of the same family staying either side of us who thought it was fine to access each others room through our balcony space!
It is a bit out of the town centre but you can get there by a quick taxi ride.
Definitely try the restaurant just beside the hotel for food - Gantleys, just beware you could end up sitting there all day drinking some fab NZ sauv blanc!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the river are great but dont get any evening sunlight to relax in. Out the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forgetmenotxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi forgetmenotxoxo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Hotels and for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the view which is a highlight for many of our guests.

I like your photos thanks for posting them, the one of you both drinking wine in our restaurant is a great pic.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. I chose to stay here based on the Trip Advisor reviews and because there was a good deal on offer. I'm so glad we did - the view from the River View rooms is breathtaking, and the décor of the hotel is very grand and luxurious. The room was very comfortable - everything we needed was available.

The location is about 10 minutes out of Queenstown, so it's a great spot for a getaway, but a little inconvenient if you want easy access to restaurants and shops.

The hotel facilities are good, with a spa available and an indoor pool.

We really loved our stay here, but I would recommend eating elsewhere...Unfortunately we found the restaurant was not very good at all. We arrived late on the first day, so decided to eat at the hotel rather than travel back to town. The meal was very expensive and not very tasty at all. We both found our meals were small, the meat was chewy and flavourless and the vegetables were overcooked. The dessert was also very uninspiring! We are not fussy eaters, but we really didn't enjoy the meal and didn't enjoy spending over $100 for it! The next night we went into town and ate at the Speights Alehouse for less than $70 and enjoyed the meal far more.

We also were surprised that the continental breakfast at the hotel was $20 each - for a bowl of cereal and a cup of tea. No cooked options were available that day, unless we wanted to order off the menu (which would have been cheaper, but we didn't know that till we sat down with our cereal!)

Room Tip: River View room has a beautiful view of the river... obviously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w3ndytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi W3ndytravels

Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Hotels and for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased to hear that you overall you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your feedback on our restaurant, I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations, I will be looking into your experience and passing on your comments to our team.

Our Dinner restaurant overlooks the Shotover river and has some of the best views in Queenstown. We offer Pub Fare with meals starting at $12.50 and mains meal from $27.00. Generally we get very good feedback about our offering.

Continental Breakfast is $20 which includes cold meats & cheese, choice of breads or toast, fresh muffins, croissants, fruit & cereals selection, gluten free bread, dry nuts & fruits, pastries, selection of Twinings tea & juices and fresh bean to cup espresso coffee.

Cooked breakfast is offered every morning and can be ordered from our waiting team or buffet service.

Your Sincerely

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just about perfect. Room had a view to die for.
Facilities are well thought out and first rate. Very well cared for. Everything you'd want in a hotel and more...the cinema room (with pop corn thrown in) is a lovely, clever touch. The gym (although I couldn't bring myself to use it after skiing all day!) is large and very well provisioned, and the pool is terrific. Tennis court for the summer. If you look at the photos provided by the hotel on tripadvisor, then you'll get a very good idea of what the hotel actually looks like.
What the photos can't show is the level of service which you get. The staff are really very helpful, and very willing to help or to provide advice. Wonderful warm and genuine hospitality.
Before booking you should realise that the hotel is somewhat out of town. That was a plus for us, especially since we were skiing and the hotel is right at the bottom of the Coronet Peak skifield access road (bus stops opposite hotel and drops off near the gates. Hotel has skiroom/drying room). It's only a few minutes drive into town, and just at town there's a convenient and cheap carpark.
The only slight quibble I had was that we ate in the restaurant twice during our stay, and the meals varied somewhat. First time was excellent, and enough to encourage us to eat there again (though we don't normally "eat in" if we stay in a hotel). Second time was not quite so good. Maybe a different chef? But anyway, I'd STILL give this place 5 stars, and we will be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiatoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi kiatoa,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Hotels and for taking the time to write a review.

It great to hear you had a good stay. Your kind comments about the team have been passed on and well received.

I have passed your comments about consistently delivering excellent dinner food to our chefs.

Kind Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,371 reviews
4.4 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
1,535 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Property: Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Address: 146 Arthurs Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing