We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Dairy Private Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$124
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
353
199
69
30
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
199
69
30
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshotover riversteam roomsquash courtriver viewspa areabodhi treeburmese restaurantcinema roomarthurs pointcoronet peakno liftspa treatmentsview roomheated poolsome tlcour honeymoonboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2010

The hotel was shabby and run down with only minimal staff. Beds remained unmade, only duvet straightened. Bathroom towels very rough, washed out and some stained. Bedrooms depressing, balcony marble table top unsecure. Amenities not available - contractors debris lying around. Advertised shuttle bus service into Queenstown - which was 7K distance - not reliable and only 3 times per day. Preordered meals less than enjoyable. Hotel public rooms cold.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNPQ, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2010

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are extremely disappointed that we did not live up to your expectation and we can assure you a through review of our property will be undertaken. With Thanks General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

We stayed at the Nugget Point Dec 30-Jan 1, 2009. Queenstown itself is an amazing place and Nugget Point is about 10 minutes outside of town, perched on a rise above the river. The hotel is boutique but run very well.
We had booked an Alpine view room, thinking that it was facing the mountains we saw in the pictures. It was actually facing the parking lot so we asked if we could upgrade to the real view we wanted. For $50 US more a night, we were moved to a room facing the river and mountains and it was completely worth it. We would stand on the balcony and watch the Shotover Jets in the river, the clouds passing over the mountains and just enjoying the peace.
We decided to spend New Years Eve at the hotel restaurant since the weather was rainy and chilly and didn't want to be in the craziness of Queenstown proper. We didn't know what to expect but the food was spectacular - we lingered 5 hours over 5 courses and had an amazing bottle of wine that was recommended by Barry, the owner.
This hotel is on our list of places to return every time we go to NZ.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jbgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

Presidential Suite(316- this is the best of 4)
The room: Very large, very comfortable, great view
over the shotover river with a Jakuzzi
on the balcony.
The location: 20 minute out of town. The advertised
shuttle service very infrequent and
inflexible. Cab fare NZD 30 each direction.
The food & bar: the breakfast buffet is somewhat basic
and definitely not 5 star. They make nice
scrambled eggs though. I would not trust
them with a Margaritha.
The service: Amature, but willing if prodded.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bollingerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We stayed for two great nights at this fabulous luxury hotel located in an easy to find and idyllic spot just outside Queenstown.The hotel was a real treasure trove of interesting and high quality decor and furnishings from around the world.The owner, whom we met on several ocassions during our stay, was incredibly helpful and interesting.The staff too were very friendly and attentive.We enjoyed the relaxation of this fine boutique hotel and the garden and views were simply amazing.We dined in the restaurant on both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience of a magnificently decorated dining room,a huge choice of fine wines and meals that were exquisitely prepared and cooked to perfection.The whole ambience and experience will certainly encourage us to revisit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigersChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

On our 4 week trip to New Zealand, this was the hotel I was looking forward to staying in the most from reading the reviews and looking at the photos. The room was certainly the nicest and the service was impeccable, we were met on time at the airport and the two ladies on Reception (Helen and ?) were friendly, helpful and always on hand to advise and offer local knowledge.

However it was a bit of a shame that such a lovely hotel was pretty much empty and as a result the atmosphere lacking - not really the hotel's fault and it was early season but you felt abit self conscious and we found ourselves whispering alot! I think had this hotel been busy (and offered freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast!) that it would come into its own as it offers great service, lovely rooms with great facilities and wonderful views (for river view suites) but as it was we spent most breakfasts alone and saw a handful of people during our stay. The great thing about it was that we had very personal service which was a nice change to the usual impersonal nature of some hotels.

In light of its obvious capacity and that we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary it would have been nice to be offered an upgraded room....we were, but at a cost (and it was like, you have this room but look at what you could have for extra $ and we were sucked in..well and truly!). I know it shouldn't be expected but it wouldn't really have cost them anything to have done it and what a demonstration of excellent customer relations if they had done so. I think with so much choice for guests in this day and age, it's about standing out from the competition. Still, can't really complain at a hotel conducting themselves like the business they are!! In all fairness they were kind enough to leave chocolates and fresh flowers in our room on our anniversary which was lovely.

Nevertheless, the hotel was wonderful and the personal service did make it stand out. It is situated about 10 mins drive from Queenstown and it was nice that we had the benefit of peace and quiet and yet the hustle and bustle of Queenstown was accessible by the free shuttle which leaves the hotel 3 times a day. This doesn't extend to after 5pm however so if you are out on the tiles in Queenstown, you'll need to spend a tenner for a taxi to get you back.

We ate lunch once at the hotel the day we got there, lunch was advertised and yet there was no lunch menu and having lunch wasn't exactly encouraged. Again, not sure if this was reflective of the off season. Having said this, what we did eat was very nice. In terms of dinner, we were a little put off by an expensive dinner menu and a quiet dining room and ate in town every night.

All in all, a great little hotel with lots of potential. They are in the middle of building a Spa which will be a great addition. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank indylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews