We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a great hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Was there for business and it was not a great experience. Rooms are very outdated, with minimal comfort and not really clean. It had a "balcony" which was shared with the other rooms... It is also quite far from the city center (10-15 min walk).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbouret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    627
    559
    312
    195
See reviews for
359
923
112
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had spent the previous 2 weeks in a campervan! Reaching Queenstown meant handing it back and flying to Christchurch! One night in a hotel! Wasnt massively expensive but looking forward to a nice bed and good nights sleep! WISH WE STAYED in the campervan!!! At least it was clean! Didnt require 2 lifts to 10th floor!!! And didnt have an alarm clock wired into wall that wouldnt turn off go off at 4am!!!!!!! Had to bang off wall to stop!
Next morning when we told reception they hardly raised a brow!
Looks lovely from outside! Not very high standards but this was below satisfactory! Would have got a much better standard at a backpackers!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for your post. The room you booked and subsequently stayed in is our backpacker room. As I have said in numerous other posts, we offer three other room types. Superior, Deluxe and Suite. Readers of this post please note, our budget rooms are backpacker style as clearly stated on our website. I do apologise for the faulty clock.
Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here last year also and came back because we enjoyed it then. The location is beautiful opposite the lake and is a short stroll into Queenstown alongside the lake. We hired a car and, although the carpark was usually full, we didn't have a problem parking on the street at any time. We stayed in a junior suite. The room we were initially allocated was on a lower level where our view was obstructed by part of the building, so we asked for another room. The lovely staff graciously obliged, and we stayed in the same room 2 floors up. The room was as good as expected - nothing special except the stunning view. Perhaps they are in need of an update (including their TVs). We thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of having our room made up every day. As a couple aged 35-45, it is possible we may not stay here next time only because we would like kitchen facilities which are not part of these hotel rooms (at least a toaster) and also, not the hotel's fault, but it's guests are probably primarily 20 something (mostly guys) - which is Queenstown after all! - and guests attending business conferences. We went to the hotel restaurant which, although lacked atmosphere, served delicious meals (great seafood chowder) and lovely wine. The Inigo Bar is a great little hangout with a fireplace, & view.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchtobeseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I really enjoyed staying here. I think all rooms are with lake view. Large room, clean. Not sure about the food. Only tried room service twice and didn't like the food much. It was not an issue as it is only a 5minute walk to the town centre and there was a plenty of places to eat. Our room didn't get cleaned one day. They said they had too many check outs that day and cleaned it right in the morning the next day.Im sure all hotels at this price range should be able to service their rooms. Apart of that we had a great stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful. Awesome location and great views!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepper1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We had a one week ski package and chose Rydges lakeland as our hotel. We had a fabulous room with balcony looking directly over the lake and mountains, which was quite magical. The staff were always friendly and our room was made up beautifully each day. This hotel is just a short and pleasant walk into town, which means that it is close but away from the hustle and bustle that is Queenstown by day and night. We would love to stay here again. The Ski Express package I can highly recommend for its flexibility; we were able to exchange a day's lift pases for restaurants or activities around Queenstown. Browns Ski Hire also gave us great flexibility by not charging for days that we didn't use the skis. Altogether it was a very easy and relaxed week - we actually felt that it was a longer holiday than just one week!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Fantastic location, everything went smoothly, rooms clean, views sensational. While not quite Heritage quality re room and service it is really not far off it and much better value for money, especially if you are bringing family and friends with you.

Tip - satisfy your need to eat out in town during the day and try eating in at the hotel restaurant for dinner! It truly has one of the best views of any eating establishment in town while the food and service are excellent by any standards in their price range and beats several restaurants more expensive. This is a good value hotel and restaurant combination, and by the way - breakfasts were great too!

Room Tip: Junior suites can be requested with a partition to separate bedroom from lounge and sofa/fold out be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryWhite_cpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Hotel is in good location and rooms quiet and clean with lovely views over the lake. The hotel itself is starting to look very tired and dated. It was snowing so wrong weather for the pool but the spa (hot tub) was open - this area left a lot to be desired. It was not well maintained and dirty. Across 3 days there were empty cups, cigarette butts etc - not impressed. But the rest of the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4kiwistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing