We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet Ad was totally misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
NYC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Internet Ad was totally misleading”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

If you're looking for a no budget, no frills place to stay with so-so service and no amenities this is your place.
We booked the hotel very last minute and were totally disappointed when we checked in to the hotel. The hotel is located just outside of the main area of Queenstown, but within easy walking distance.

Our room had a sliding glass door that opened out to a roof top that wasn't decorated or furnished, basically just a big piece of nothing. That being said we were pretty disappionted with what should have been a stunning view of the lake instead was really just a view of a roof top. Such a poor design for a hotel.

The room service was ok, but we weren't thrilled with the lack of cleaning. Overall, not the worst place in the world that I've stayed but certainly not a place I would recommend or ever stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake and one that doesn't open up onto their rooftop area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    640
    578
    322
    200
See reviews for
363
958
114
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed here in late may, and considering the star rating hotel was very very average, should only be 3 star at best. While not bad service, but staff did seem thoroughly disinterested, and the hotel honestly felt we were in the seventies, old browns everywhere and bit's falling off left right and center, i don't recommend this hotel to anyone other than the budget traveler, or a someone with massive 70's complex. The location is very good which was the only thing stopping me from demanding my money back. Please refurb your hotel.

Will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Feedback is important and I thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us. Your comments have been noted and passed on to the relevant parties. Refurbishment plans are underway and we look forward to welcoming you back when completed.
Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My partner and i booked our stay at the Rydges through laterooms for reasonably decent rate mine and my partners wedding anniversary.
The staff are great but the whole experience was let down by a few MAJOR factors
Firstly, your in a cold climate and the last thing you want is a cold bedroom, especially if you have paid for a
‘Deluxe room” the heater in our room and the terrible, I complained and while my partner and I were out snowboarding they assured me they would get it repaired. They didn’t…when I asked to be moved they said they were full and gave me a portable heater!
Secondly the ‘hot buffet’ breakfast that should be renamed to ‘luke warm’ buffet breakfast left a lot to be desired + a whole in my stomach were decent food before a day on the mountain belongs.
The scrambled eggs were watery and lacked flavor; the sausages looked like they came out of a tin, small and flavorless, the baked beans weren’t cooked and to top it all of the hashbrowns were cold due to not being placed in a heated container, which the staff state has been broken for some time….

Not only was the above mentioned unfortunate considering the $25 charge per breakfast it was consistently unfortunate over our four night stay.
I advised the staff and they apologized but there was no change to the food.
In the end I settled for toast.
The other frustrating factor is that the $25 per breakfast does not include a decent cup of coffee, you can get one made from ground beans but an additional charge of $4 is required to get a half decent coffee!
What kind of 4 * hotel doesn’t include a decent cup of coffee in its breakfast?
Shameful.

Other than the terrible breakfast the hotel is right smack bag in the middle of the action with an excellent view of the lake however you can’t help but notice the hotel is dated and lack the facility's (Indoor swimming pool, decent coffee, working bedroom heaters) to make the stay as comfortable as one would expect for a hotel of this size, standing and price.

Overall a 4 out of 10

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ongoncatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for your post. I have noted your comments regarding breakfast and have addressed them with our Chef to ensure remedial action.
Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Was there for business and it was not a great experience. Rooms are very outdated, with minimal comfort and not really clean. It had a "balcony" which was shared with the other rooms... It is also quite far from the city center (10-15 min walk).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbouret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had spent the previous 2 weeks in a campervan! Reaching Queenstown meant handing it back and flying to Christchurch! One night in a hotel! Wasnt massively expensive but looking forward to a nice bed and good nights sleep! WISH WE STAYED in the campervan!!! At least it was clean! Didnt require 2 lifts to 10th floor!!! And didnt have an alarm clock wired into wall that wouldnt turn off go off at 4am!!!!!!! Had to bang off wall to stop!
Next morning when we told reception they hardly raised a brow!
Looks lovely from outside! Not very high standards but this was below satisfactory! Would have got a much better standard at a backpackers!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for your post. The room you booked and subsequently stayed in is our backpacker room. As I have said in numerous other posts, we offer three other room types. Superior, Deluxe and Suite. Readers of this post please note, our budget rooms are backpacker style as clearly stated on our website. I do apologise for the faulty clock.
Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here last year also and came back because we enjoyed it then. The location is beautiful opposite the lake and is a short stroll into Queenstown alongside the lake. We hired a car and, although the carpark was usually full, we didn't have a problem parking on the street at any time. We stayed in a junior suite. The room we were initially allocated was on a lower level where our view was obstructed by part of the building, so we asked for another room. The lovely staff graciously obliged, and we stayed in the same room 2 floors up. The room was as good as expected - nothing special except the stunning view. Perhaps they are in need of an update (including their TVs). We thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of having our room made up every day. As a couple aged 35-45, it is possible we may not stay here next time only because we would like kitchen facilities which are not part of these hotel rooms (at least a toaster) and also, not the hotel's fault, but it's guests are probably primarily 20 something (mostly guys) - which is Queenstown after all! - and guests attending business conferences. We went to the hotel restaurant which, although lacked atmosphere, served delicious meals (great seafood chowder) and lovely wine. The Inigo Bar is a great little hangout with a fireplace, & view.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchtobeseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I really enjoyed staying here. I think all rooms are with lake view. Large room, clean. Not sure about the food. Only tried room service twice and didn't like the food much. It was not an issue as it is only a 5minute walk to the town centre and there was a plenty of places to eat. Our room didn't get cleaned one day. They said they had too many check outs that day and cleaned it right in the morning the next day.Im sure all hotels at this price range should be able to service their rooms. Apart of that we had a great stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful. Awesome location and great views!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepper1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
1,536 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing