We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and good value for money”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Although this hotel is quite old and a little jaded, it still has very comfortable rooms and offers good value for money. it's just on the edge of town and absolutely on the lakeside so it's away from the noise of town but still within easy walking distance to everything; Queenstown being a fairly compact town and fairly flat. The hotel rooms have comfortable beds and are warm and cosy. They do offer rooms without a view of the lake at cheaper prices for those on a budget but if you can afford it it's well worth paying the extra for the spectacular view; of course the higher the floor the better the views, there are 6 floors.
The reception staff are friendly and efficient, we didn't use the restaurant because there are so many good and cheaper options in town, especially for breakfast, having said that again the restaurant has spectacular views, they also do a drinks in the evening so you can watch the sunset over the mountains. All in all a very good stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front on a higher floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyjosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Hi bobbyjosing…..another good honest review from a senior contributor…many thanks and keep up the good work.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    645
    579
    324
    201
See reviews for
366
963
114
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

It depends what you are looking for but being shoulder season and a huge place,we found it a bit soulless. Whilst our room was perfectly clean, our reception was the same as in most big hotels, perfunctory and impersonal. It's a fair way from town and easier to get to with a car. It's adequate and comfortable for a nights stay but not an experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thanks for your post WellingtonGrandma. A bit far from town??? Now there’s a comment I don’t see very often. Yes June is a quiet time of year but come into ski season, we have more soul than James Brown……..
Many thanks
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Reception and room all good. Friendly, clean & warm,

Room Tip: As is so often the case the bed was a little limp. Not firm like I prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravellers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thanks TwoTravellers34…..short sharp and to the point…love it
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington NZ
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is a lovely hotel, right by the lake and near to town. Rooms are large and comfortable. The bathroom was a little tired but everything was very clean. We had an awesome view of the lake from our room. The staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3 days in May for a terrific rate. The excellent location means that you don't need a car to get around. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are large and comfortable. We stayed in a budget room once before at this hotel whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Hi Linda F….come back anytime…thanks for your post…..
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel was absolutely a perfect place to say during our trip to Queenstown, NZ. We stayed for 14 days in Oct 2010 and enjoyed every moment. The restaurant, rooms and amenities were all terrific. To wake up and enjoy the beautiful sunrise over the "Remarkables" mountain range was so amazing. We had a splendid room with a balcony overlooking the lake. We took part in adventurous excursions everyday and it was so nice to come back to the hotel and relax in comfort. The staff couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly. A young lady at the front desk, I believe her name was Cindy was especially helpful in coordinating our excursion arrangements. I recommend the Rydges Hotel and Resort to anyone travelling to Queenstown.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maed674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Hi Maed674….love the photo’s…..I have passed your kind comments onto the team…they are a great bunch.
Many thanks
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howick, null, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Best nights sleep all week very comfy. Rooms are very clean. Great views.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
I trust you managed to see some of Queenstown and not just catch up on sleep CharlesH….thanks for your post
Cheers
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Rydges. We were upgraded to a king size, clean, comfy lake faced room. Staff at restaurant and room service are friendly, helpful & provided a great service. This hotel located in front of Lake Wakatipu. The views are spectacular. Easy to walk from the hotel to the mall. Unfortunately shower room is out of date, it was not in a hotel standard. Also It would be little appreciated if there's helpful & smiley faces at the reception desk. We had two days breakfast booked. Had to cancel next day booking. Felt like Buffet breakfast was not worth for $25 per person. overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nifernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Lots of smiley faces, that’s what I like to read…..Thanks nifernan…….
Many thanks
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,551 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing