We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - decent room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #54 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Check in was smooth and quick but the one issue I had right away was parking. There was none out front and the person checking me in said it was on a first come basis but I could check the back. I went to the back on got the last space which was tight as someone took too much space. I decided that I wasn't moving my car for the 2 nights I was there as I wasn't fighting for a spot. The hotel is within easy walking distance to town so you don't really need a car.

Anyway, somehow I got a lakeview room on the 9th floor which offered amazing views. The room was very spacious and had a mini refrigerator which is always nice. The bed was comfy and there was a balcony. The bathroom was decent but could definitely use an upgrade as it was quite tired. My biggest issue was the pack of soundproofing. I could hear my neighbours tv which was annoying but when trying to sleep, I could hear everyone in the halls and the closing on doors. The walls are paper thin. Luckily I had earplugs. I would recommend them if you are a light sleeper.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank ClemsonWendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi there, thank you for your recent comments..Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

I do trust you otherwise enjoyed your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown in the near future.

Once again, thank you. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great for theifs, hotels like this will encourage thefts if tourists have to carry large sums of cash to avoid the extra charge if you use a credit card...and who doesnt use cards when travelling?
When discussing with the hotel this month ithey explained that policy came from London where their HQ is. I asked to speak to managment and was dismissed by a receptionist? in 30 + years in tourism one does not dismiss a ' local' this is a tired old hotel with a new coat of makeup. without foundation.
I began in the tourist industry in 1964,,, the idea to encourage tourists to come to your country/premises was and still should be to give value for money. to leave good memories, returns save advertising. or do Rydges now only rely on the packed Asian tourist bus holidays if so advertise 'locals' not wanted. Rydges hotels do not do this country a favour telling guests that "this is what we" do it in ENGLAND; come to NZ companies but leave yoour 'extra' cost off \the charges.cost off the bill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaretinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi, thank you for your recent comments..Please be assured that I will be discussing your feedback with the relevant Department Managers to ensure our improvement in these areas.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inadequacies you experienced during your recent stay. There must have been some missed communciation here some where as our head office is not located in London, England? However I take all guest comments and experiences very seriously and rest assured remedial action has been taken to address your concerns.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Older style of a Rydges Hotel, but the close walking location to central town without all those party/pub noises plus parking is worth the visit, we found plenty of available spaces road level and up top park.
Most rooms have a Lake view/partial view apart from the Budget rooms.
Pleasant good reception staff, quick to acknowledge you on entering through the doors with a smile. Bar on Level 6 lovely and the Restaurant had great views although did not get time to enjoy a meal there this trip.
Rooms clean, maybe a bit dated...but all you need ........comfy bed, clean bathroom, TV and a beaut lake view, prompt housekeeping.
Think the outside maintenance crew need a kick in the butt with some overdue work in several areas, but would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Most rooms have some lake views but if you want to see the Queenstown city lights at night ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Reading previous reviews after booking I was a bit concerned but must say I am now quite annoyed that people obviously have nothing better to do than moan about the slightest things. Yes the hotel is a bit in need of an update but nothing serious at all. To the people who book cheap rooms - you get what you pay for!! We had a lake view superior room and it was great, clean, comfy and the staff were all terrific, funny what happens when you are polite to people!!
Check the prices of other rooms in Queenstown and look at the great location os this place. Also how long do you want to spend in your room when you are on holiday, sad really.

Room Tip: the dearer rooms with lake views are the ones to pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Loved the lakeside setting with beautiful views. Rooms are a bit dated but are clean and well provisioned. Excellent service, and a pretty nice lounge. Just a short walk to all the shops and restaurants and activities to be had in Queenstown. Activity bookings available in hotel.

Room Tip: Get a lake side room with the wonderful views and balcony to enjoy an afternoon glass of wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel has a quite good location - a short walk from the city centre.

In general you feel that hotel is not the youngest. Outdated lifts, strange corridors, may kill the first impression. Balcony - quite nice. Chairs on the balcony - disgusting though.

Housekeeping? I was waiting the whole day almost for housekeeping. Shoudlnt the room have been cleaned before noon? What I found? The bag with toilet paper and towels on my door. Taking into account that the information "please make up my room" was available from 9 am, I was disappointed. The beds were not made up.

Parking? Its so ridiculous for the huge hotel like that offer so limited parking. Additionally, a receptionist was advising to park the car by the road, not in the other free place, because of arrival of buses with tourists. Btw, the location of the car wasnt an obstacle for any buses at all.

Other problem - after one night, the cards stopped working. It took awhile to go down to the reception. I didnt even hear "sorry". I didnt really understand why it was my fault. I got only a message "now it should work".

I think that the hotel is not really interested in independent travels. Hotel is more for groups.

The hotel did the job - the stay was ok. Overall, I did not feel special - more attention I would get at backpackers. I would not go there for a romantic trip though. You can spend there a few nights, see Queenstown and survive at Rydges. But the lack of customer care and high quality, will start to annoying you after stay longer than 3 days. Nice view from the window will cheer up for sure.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a really low standard - choose the Lake View room, otherwise you will get disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacek_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time for expressing your thoughts at the end of your recent stay with us.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Staying here was a first for us, friends of ours have stayed here , so we thought it would be nice to try some where new. My first impression was the hotel is in need of a little makeover, the check in was a little slow, ( only one receptionists on duty) and parking was a nightmare, we had to drive way up the street and leave our car parked on the road side, the hotel does have its own few car parking spaces , but you would have to be in early. The room we found very clean and well presented, and best of all we had arranged a room over looking the lake front, we had our own little balcony with table and chairs, very nice to sit back with a wine and soak up the views. We chose to eat out in Queenstown as there are endless options for one to chose from. Value for money i still felt was good, and i would be happy to return again.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a view, its worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaneo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,277 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#40 of 59 in Queenstown
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £76 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing