We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rydges Lakeside, Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Have stayed there before and wasn't disappointed. Great view of the lake and easy walk to town. Parking was limited in the hotel. Large rooms, good beds, decent bathrooms. Balcony although it was too cold and windy for us to use.

Room Tip: Parking within the hotel can be difficult.; They don't always have enough spots. Try and get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi there, thank you for your recent comments.. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback on to the team so they can read how pleased you were with the service they provided.

Thank you..
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

First time staying at a Rydges hotel, we stayed for a week in a Lake View Superior Room on the 9th floor. Arriving at the hotel, it looked amazing, in fact it was the best looking hotel in Queenstown. However once we went inside you could really tell how run down it really was. Many other reviews mentioned negative things about this hotel which we chose to ignore and see what it's like for ourselves but everything we read turned out to be true. The stench which came from the 9th floor was unbearable, not sure what it was but its just like walking into a retirement village.

The place really needed a facelift, furniture broken, mould etc. What was very upsetting is the room came with a King bed since we were in a 'Superior Room', it was not a King bed, instead two singles pushed together. This is totally unacceptable given it is advertised as a KING bed.

The good points are; location is fantastic 10min walk to the town centre, the porters are lovely, room service is excellent, views are spectacular and looks like a fancy hotel until you walk inside that is!

Room Tip: - stay in a room above the 7th floor, great views! - free WiFi Available just ask reception - mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at Rydges Queenstown and it was the worst room. On 7th floor overlooking car park. Out dated decor, damages furniture, holes in the walls in the hallway. Shower 18cm of floor very hard to get into. However room was clean. This was sold as a delux lake view room. You could see the lake but over the car park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

HI there, I do apologise for the obvious displeasure you experienced with your accommodation and maintenance issues that were evident in your room. Please be assured that I will be discussing your feedback with the relevant Department Managers to ensure our improvement in these areas.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Rydges hotel Queenstown is an amazing hotel. It is extremely clean and has lovely views. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel pool was beautiful and the resteraunt food was lovely. The fireside bar could have a little more options on the menu but the food we received was great. Overall it was a great stay and i enjoyed it

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luluxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Thanks to the helpful reviews on Tripadvisor, I asked for a high floor room - preferably not the 9th floor - as warned by other reviewers. To my horror, when we checked in, we got the 9th floor room next to the elevator. I asked the guy at the check-in desk if there were any other rooms and he informed us that there were absolutely no other rooms since the Royals were in town.
We accepted our fate and my wife and I went to the 9th floor in hopes that it wasn't as bad as other reviewers had said. Unfortunately, the reviews were correct. Although the room was a nice size, the bathroom is antiquated and the view of our room was over the car park and jacuzzi a floor or two below. The floors were stained, yet the worst part was a stench that pervaded the entire floor - not just our room.
My wife and I went down to reception and talked to a wonderful and helpful woman who helped us get another room on the first floor that didn't have the smell and had a newer bathroom. We were much happier. Had we got this room initially, I would have rated the hotel higher - the hotel is in a great location and easily within walking distance to town. Had we been stuck with the same room, I would have rated this hotel much lower.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Clean and modern facilities, with a amigable staff makes this a great deal. Within walking distance from down town and accross the street from the beech.
Some of the units have an amazing view and if not just go up to the restaurant for breakfast or the bar for a drink. Free WiFi and they will be flexible with your travel arrangements and your local tour plans.
Having read some of the recent reviews I would hope that their fate was just shift related and that their administration gets to follow on that. My experience was great. I would definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher in the building might give you better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacoboR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi there, thank you very much for your recnt comments..Guest feedback allows us to improve our services and reward our outstanding team members. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback on to the team so they can read how pleased you were with the service they provided.

I appreciated that you found the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor so that other potential guests can read about your experience at Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Thank you
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Rydges in Queenstown does not meet the expectations one has from the Rydges brand, by far! The hotel interior is old and the room we had was outdated and run down. We had a lakeview superior room on the ground floor, which meant lake view was actually car park view.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor, you don't get the promised lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,621 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £89 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing