We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #52 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Like all Rydges, it goes without saying, it was a beautiful & comfortable stay. Breakfast was also very good and the hotel ground very properly kept. It was a pleasant stay & the service staff was very good too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your recent comments.. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will endeavor to pass on your feedback to the team.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Comfortable beds within a spacious room were welcoming, and the decor was very pleasant. Unfortunately the bathroom was in need of some upgrading and the balcony barely fitted two chairs and a table - it felt quite claustrophobic. The restaurant was booked for a private function and we felt that should have been advised on their website, as we had booked this Hotel to have a special family night for dinner. We ended up in the Fireside Bar to try and get a meal as the Hotel had advertised the normal menu would apply. No seats, overcrowded and very noisy. We ended up sitting outside in their courtyard to eat a very quick meal before leaving. Not what we had hoped for in Queenstown. Views were fabulous though and the staff pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi there, I appreciated you find the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor so that other potential guests can read about your experience at Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

While reasonably comfortable this hotel is looking a little tired, especially in the public areas. On the upside, wireless Internet was free, but the bathroom is especially tired and basic (no bath), which didn't matter so much to me as I was in Queenstown working, but if you were there on a ski holiday, a bath would be nice at the end of the day. My stay was out of ski season so pricing and value were fairly good.

Room Tip: If you don't eat in the hotel, you may need to drive rather than walk into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi there, Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

I do trust you otherwise enjoyed your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Once again, thank you. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Scenery spectacular but pity the service does not match. Continually had issues that spoilt the holiday. A general vcouldnt care less attitude and I felt if we went to the front desk we were intruding. No follow through of issues, staff obviously not happy working there and it showed. Spoilt a good holiday staying here, never again

Room Tip: STay at Crown Plaza is my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kookaburra_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi there, thank you for your recent comments..Please be assured that I will be discussing your feedback with the relevant Department Managers to ensure our improvement in these areas.

I take all guest comments and experiences very seriously and rest assured remedial action has been taken to address your concerns.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great location, however given the other offerings for the same price in Queenstown this hotel would have to improve substantially for me to 'want' to come back for another stay. The other hotels I have stayed at in Queenstown I found to be much better value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi there, thank you for your recent comments..Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting moving forward.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I usually try to avoid big chain hotels when on holiday because I've had to stay in too many such places for work purposes. However I really liked this place. The room we had was clean, fresh and nicely decorated, with an excellent lake view. The one room service meal I had was excellent, and the spa pool was lovely out under the stars. Great value for money throughout a Wotif booking too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi there, I trust you had a fantastic stay in Queenstown as I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I will endeavor to pass your feedback on to the team.

Thank you
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Have stayed there before and wasn't disappointed. Great view of the lake and easy walk to town. Parking was limited in the hotel. Large rooms, good beds, decent bathrooms. Balcony although it was too cold and windy for us to use.

Room Tip: Parking within the hotel can be difficult.; They don't always have enough spots. Try and get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi there, thank you for your recent comments.. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback on to the team so they can read how pleased you were with the service they provided.

Thank you..
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 59 in Queenstown
309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £81 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing