We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and chose a Junior Suite.

It had a nice and comfy king size bed and great views.(we were on the 5th floor).

Yes the place is quite tired and is in need of a facelift, but I would recommend a Junior Suite as it has a sitting room separate to the bedroom if you are staying for a few days. Free wifi was good.

The breakfast in the restaurant is ok, nothing to write home about.

We will be back again next year, again in a Junior Suite, and hope that the renovations are completed by then.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Narelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    645
    581
    324
    201
See reviews for
367
964
114
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel looks very grand from the outside and indeed the reception area and the bar are really nice. The pool/spa are is small but very clean. Our room was clean although quite cramped as it was a family room with 2 sets of bunks. I can't fault the service. I think had I been traveling solo or in a couple I would have chosen a more suitable room budget wise, but it served our purpose as 'backpackers' so to speak and I wouldn't be deterred from staying there again under different circumstances.

Room Tip: Don't go for the budget rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipsontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi there, thank you for your recent comment..Guest feedback allows us to improve our services and reward our outstanding team members. I will pass your feedback on to the team so they can read how pleased you were with the service they provided.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Like all Rydges, it goes without saying, it was a beautiful & comfortable stay. Breakfast was also very good and the hotel ground very properly kept. It was a pleasant stay & the service staff was very good too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your recent comments.. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will endeavor to pass on your feedback to the team.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Comfortable beds within a spacious room were welcoming, and the decor was very pleasant. Unfortunately the bathroom was in need of some upgrading and the balcony barely fitted two chairs and a table - it felt quite claustrophobic. The restaurant was booked for a private function and we felt that should have been advised on their website, as we had booked this Hotel to have a special family night for dinner. We ended up in the Fireside Bar to try and get a meal as the Hotel had advertised the normal menu would apply. No seats, overcrowded and very noisy. We ended up sitting outside in their courtyard to eat a very quick meal before leaving. Not what we had hoped for in Queenstown. Views were fabulous though and the staff pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi there, I appreciated you find the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor so that other potential guests can read about your experience at Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

While reasonably comfortable this hotel is looking a little tired, especially in the public areas. On the upside, wireless Internet was free, but the bathroom is especially tired and basic (no bath), which didn't matter so much to me as I was in Queenstown working, but if you were there on a ski holiday, a bath would be nice at the end of the day. My stay was out of ski season so pricing and value were fairly good.

Room Tip: If you don't eat in the hotel, you may need to drive rather than walk into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi there, Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

I do trust you otherwise enjoyed your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Once again, thank you. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Scenery spectacular but pity the service does not match. Continually had issues that spoilt the holiday. A general vcouldnt care less attitude and I felt if we went to the front desk we were intruding. No follow through of issues, staff obviously not happy working there and it showed. Spoilt a good holiday staying here, never again

Room Tip: STay at Crown Plaza is my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kookaburra_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments..Please be assured that I will be discussing your feedback with the relevant Department Managers to ensure our improvement in these areas.

I take all guest comments and experiences very seriously and rest assured remedial action has been taken to address your concerns.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great location, however given the other offerings for the same price in Queenstown this hotel would have to improve substantially for me to 'want' to come back for another stay. The other hotels I have stayed at in Queenstown I found to be much better value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments..Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting moving forward.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing