We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so superior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #47 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Not so superior”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Rydges Queenstown overnight at the start of our NZ trip and again at the end of our trip. In both cases, we had booked a "Superior Lake-facing King" room. In neither case was there a good view of the lake. The first room had a lovely tower outside the window, the second had a "veranda" that was about 15 metres wide with a nice view of the car park.

Both rooms were old and tired, the bathrooms showed serious signs of wear and tear. To get to our first room involved a trip up one elevator to the 6th floor, a long walk down a couple of corridors, another elevator to the 8th floor and then another corridor.

The car park was, apparently, not up to the task of handling all the guests as the driveway was usually a mess of badly parked cars - almost a maze to get to the front door.

Reception and check-in was average, at best, with not enough staff and those that were on duty not being familiar with the computer reservation system.

Overall, there are better options available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback relating to your stay at Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown.

Feedback such as yours enables us to continually improve our product and service. I do apologise for the obvious displeasure you experienced with your accommodation.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    639
    567
    318
    198
See reviews for
362
942
114
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were placed here for 3 nights by a tavel agent who had worked with the hotel many times. The room was very small, there was no closet or even a hook to hang coats on. We checked in late and did not complain until the next morning. We packed all our things and asked that they change rooms while we were out for a day trip. When we got back we were told there was no room to relocate us. We asked what we were supposed to do with our wet coats as there was no closet. We were told to put them in drawers. Later we found there was a vacant room and the person had not been truthfull saying there was not. There was also no safe and we were told we could bring our valuables to the front desk if we wished. The bathroom was very small. We met a couple from New Zealand the next week. They said Rydges has a reputation of having a nice entry and lousey rooms. All in all, our travel agent did us no favors.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the old section. Both are poor but the old section is worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi there, thank you for recent feedback.. Please be assured that I will be discussing your comments with the relevant Departments to ensure our improvement in these areas.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inadequacies you experienced, guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel, and booked a deluxe lakeside view room. The view was amazing, with views of the remarkables and lake wakatipu. Room, however, was tiny, and looked old. Can't really complain though, as prices were really good compared to the lakeside rooms for other hotels, and being out and about all day, the small rooms didn't really bug us. It's just a short walk from Queenstown city, and hence really convenient when we went snowboarding.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Perth_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi there, thank you for your comment.. I will endeavor to pass on your feedback to the team to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a week in Queenstown and I had booked a Superior King room but luckily we had a free upgrade to a suite as the superior room was rather small. The suite however was great with room to spread out. It is in need of a little upgrading however but it still very comfortable. The views were amazing and a great place to stay as it is a very short walk into town. Very peaceful and quiet. the bar is a lovely place to have a drink by the fire. Would definitely stay again but would ask for a Deluxe or Suite room.

Room Tip: Higher rooms had an unrestricted view. Suite best for space wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesrules_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We travelled with a 10 month old baby. We got a suite on the sixth floor, so the views were great (although limited by the restaurant sticking out). However as a suite I expected a bit more. It's a VERY small suite. The balcony is one big one that connects to all the doors on this level including the pool. So no privacy at all..
The heaters in the room are old school things stuck on the wall that will burn you of you touch it- not safe if you have a toddler!! They apparently don't have any rooms with ducted systems. No microwave available for use to heat baby food unless you call the staff every time you need it and they can use their kitchen microwave.
The bar on level 6 is really nice. There were comfy lounges and fire places to sit by while we ate pizza (yum) and watched the World Cup.
Majority of staff are on work visas but most have been really nice.
Agree with other reviews it is in desperate need of a renovation and a good clean.

Buffet breakfast is a bit average and the hot buffet food (eggs etc) taste bland and watery.

I would suggest if you have a toddler not to stay here. Ask your hotel before booking about heaters, cot, microwave access, kettle and safety on verandahs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments..Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

I do trust you otherwise enjoyed your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you have been back packing and are upgrading to a hotel you'll enjoy this place. If you were looking for a friendly hotel with comfortable rooms I would look elsewhere.

It is a hotel you want to shut down for 6 months and complete a multimillion dollar refurbishment and staff recruitment and training programme on.

Be prepared to see behind the scenes in this hotel as you walk by store rooms and staff rooms with the doors left wide-open to put all the things you rather not see on show as you walk by. Staff are not rude but very average and defensive. If you stand at reception you will hear them tell customers why they are wrong and what the policy is without any empathy of care for their guests. They walk past you without saying hello or carry on a conversation with their friends.

Single glazed windows suck out every ounce of heat your radiators give off and they look like they were last decorated in the 1980s and you can see painted over damp patches. I would not be surprised if the mattresses were also a relic of the past too as the springs clearly gave up some time ago.

Breakfast is served in a dull cold room and most of the looked like it came out of a packet or the deep freeze but if you are ski-ing will fill you up before you head to the slopes. If you have breakfast included in your rate be prepared to pay extra for a barrister made coffee.

Look the rate was about 150NZD a night......you get what you pay for. Cheap price, cheap hotel and surly Rydges service. If you are not a hotel snob and are happy with a roof over your head and a private bathroom book now. If you want genuine service, and a room you'd feel happy spending some time in I would look elsewhere. Location is good and if you get a lake view room there are lovely views. I wish I could close this place down and re-open it as a top hotel the location could enable it to be.

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stubbsy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments.. Feedback such as yours enables us to continually improve our product and service.

I do apologise for the obvious displeasure you experienced with your accommodation and maintenance issues that were evident in your room. I would like to assure you that action has been taken to repair these areas. In addition our hotel is earmarked for refurbishment in the near future. Once this is completed, all our rooms and facilities will be up to the expected standard.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is right opposite the lake with terrific world class views from the restaurant amd most rooms. The rooms are a little on the small side but everything is there and the rooms are at the lower end cost wise. The breakfast (included in my room rate) was great and the view from the resataurant was world class for a view. Its worth staying here just for the view when you eat breakfast, really its that good! There is a small pool and a spa pool. There is also a nice bar to relax in. Very short walk into town along the lake edge. Car parking was a bit tight when I was there and had to park at a top level carpark a few times. Thoroughly recommended.
Visit "The Cow Pizza" for the best pizza in the South Island if not NZ and definately have their garlic bread loaf. We are talking better than Italy here, a must do, go early!! as its small.
The Shotover Jet, Skyline Gondola and Luge are also essential if in Queenstown.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbuoynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing