We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value for money!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights last month, after reading some reviews we were abit concerned but needn't have been at all, everything was fine. Sure the hotel is abit tired and could do with a wee re-furb but its a great location, stunning views and very quiet. Only major criticism would be the bed is was pretty rock hard which left us bit sore after 4 nights but apart from that for the $$ its great value

Room Tip: Partial lake views but ask for a high level as the trees out front could block your view - we were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    639
    575
    320
    198
See reviews for
362
950
114
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed here twice, in March for 4 nights, and more recently in May for 3 nights, with our just under 2 year old daughter in a junior suite room.
The view is spectacular, easy walk into town (and we had a pushchair). Plenty of space in the suite for a little person to run around, and plenty of room for the portacot.
I also wanted to compliment the staff who I had email interaction with, friendly and helpful.
Also thought the room was very good value for money, particularly as we knew our dates and could book a non-refundable option.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite room with doors to the bedroom - perfect for day napping and bedtime for a yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkamkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The beds are so comfy!! Room has too much stuff in it room 416. There is a massive table that takes up most of the room and you have to squeeze your luggage past. Also the shower has great pressure but hair found on the shower not such a good look. However it's a step up from a backpackers and we paid 119nzd and thought that it was worth it with a view of the lake. Perhaps they could turn the heater on to take the chill off the room in the winter. It was freezing at 2pm when we checked in!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZtraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights with a family of four in a lake view room. The view is spectacular, well worth paying a little extra for. Great hotel, offering everything that you need. Location is good, only a short walk to everything in Queenstown. Rooms were a little small, but not too bothersome as we were not in the room during the day. Breakfast options were good and at a reasonable price, free wifi was a big bonus. Parking the car was a bit hard though, there is not much space for all the hotel guests. Overall a great hotel, will stay here again on our next trip to Queenstown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecille59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I trust you had a fantastic stay in Queenstown, and would like to thank you for taking the time to complete and post your views on your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback on to the team.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeppoon, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Well where do I start.

Lets start with the first thing that annoyed me. You build a hotel but don't build carparks big enough to accommodate everyone. What's the point? I've stayed in a few other places that are like this as qnd it's terrible. Should advertise on street parking on your website as that's what we had to do and yes the top level was full as well.

Secondly no bag porters. Could've been a help as we had a couple of big bags and no where close to park. Had to drive down the street and drag our bags back to the hotel after checking in.

Thirdly old mate who checked us in was lets say dis interested. He'd rather stare at a computer screen than serve/check people in. I stood there for a good minute before he even acknowledged me. He could've at least said I'll be with you in a minute.

Fourthly the rooms. Where do I start? Old, out dated rooms. The beds are soft as feathers and gives no support. The bathrooms are ok. The showers are fairly crap. Sprays water every where and they're tiny. Shower curtains give annoyed the heck out of me. Couldn't stand in the shower without it sticking to you. I've had a better shower in the campgrounds we stayed in.

Fifthly the heater didn't work in our room. Didn't even get warm. The lights on but nobody homes.

On the positive note. The tv is good and the restaurant upstairs serves good food. Although the brekky buffet needs to be warmer and re filled more regularly.

I know management don't really care as I see you comment things but it's still the same old and hasn't changed. This is more of an eye opener for the people who know rydges for being one of the best like I originally thought. This hotel is far from it and work needs to be done.

Sorry doesn't cut it. You are really ripping people off by charging a premium but not delivering.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jono P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown.

We appreciate your feedback, therefore giving the team and myself a clear objective in our continued pursuit of service excellence. I have followed up with the relevant team and the Manager on duty to go through the service period to highlight where improvements and retraining needs to be made.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inadequacies you experienced during your recent stay.

Whilst I understand your resistance to return to Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown, I do hope you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to demonstrate that our standard is better than your recent experience would indicate.

Once again my sincere apologies, guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed at Rydges for 7 nights. We took a chance with our stay here as the reviews we had read were terrible. But we were proved wrong the minute we arrived. Staff were smiling, welcoming & very friendly. We stayed on level 4 in room 403 (deluxe lakeview room) with buffet breakfast included everyday untill 10am (breakfast was delicious with a huge variety of hot & cold food, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, coffee, hot chocolate and juices) unlimited free wifi and not even a 5 minute flat walk to the middle of the main strip of queenstown. Our stay here was perfect for what we wanted, you get what you pay for! Waking up to the amazing lake views was absolutely stunning, we slept with the curtains open every night! We definitely would reccomend Rydges and would come back again. If you want a fancy luxurious stay then you need to spend the money for it and look else where, if you want a fairly modern apartment with stunning views & a great price tag, then rydges is perfect.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Haylee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I trust you had a fantastic stay in Queenstown, and would like to thank you for taking the time to complete and post your recent comments.

Guest feedback allows us to improve our services and reward our outstanding tea members. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback on to the team so they can read how pleased you were with the service they provided.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Rydges Queenstown overnight at the start of our NZ trip and again at the end of our trip. In both cases, we had booked a "Superior Lake-facing King" room. In neither case was there a good view of the lake. The first room had a lovely tower outside the window, the second had a "veranda" that was about 15 metres wide with a nice view of the car park.

Both rooms were old and tired, the bathrooms showed serious signs of wear and tear. To get to our first room involved a trip up one elevator to the 6th floor, a long walk down a couple of corridors, another elevator to the 8th floor and then another corridor.

The car park was, apparently, not up to the task of handling all the guests as the driveway was usually a mess of badly parked cars - almost a maze to get to the front door.

Reception and check-in was average, at best, with not enough staff and those that were on duty not being familiar with the computer reservation system.

Overall, there are better options available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback relating to your stay at Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown.

Feedback such as yours enables us to continually improve our product and service. I do apologise for the obvious displeasure you experienced with your accommodation.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing