We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in Feb 2014- 2 before doing the Routeburn Track, and 3 nights after.
The hotel is comfortable, rooms large, clean and well appointed. My favourite part? The free wifi in guest rooms- although limited download, was plenty for social media etc. It was also refreshing to find a hotel with a guest laundry.
On my return visit (after Routeburn) the room I was given was extremely noisy- directly at the driveway. Once I expressed my concern to front desk staff, I was re-located with no problems. The room I was given was beautifully quiet.
My only complaint is the location- although just 5 minutes walk from pretty well everything, coming back to the hotel is via a short but steep hill. After 3 days of heavy walking on Routeburn, that hill was even steeper!
Happy hour in the bar is well worth heading down for- one of the best views in Queenstown & great value.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the driveway can be noisy. Room 602 funnels the noise into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    543
    164
    56
    23
See reviews for
312
1,100
61
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 separate weeks as part of the Accor Vacation club during February. Enjoyed the charm of the different style of this hotel. As members of Accor hotels since 1996 & the Vacation Club for 11 years now we had always wanted to visit this hotel. Our first room had fantastic views of the Remarkables & lake ~ a lovely surprise. Both times the rooms were generously equipped with clean towels & a variety of bathroom amenities. The staff in ALL departments were outstanding & made our stay so very enjoyable. We loved the lively atmosphere of happy hour & the wonderful dinners (we chose to eat there every night as the food was sensational & the view lovely and the staff so friendly & welcoming.) With the Accor Advantage Plus card it made dining such great value. It was a short walk to town & we parked our rental car in the street for the one night before we needed to return it having driven down from Picton during the middle week of our NZ stay. Thank you to all the wonderful staff. We hope to return another year.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redCairns_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We loved this hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was great with a beautiful view. The restaurant too was awesome, really relaxed and had some great deals.
Only criticisms were the tubs a little tepid and the tv reception in our room wasn't great.
But the room was so comfortable, that we didn't mind.

Room Tip: If you are staying in Queenstown, you have to get a room with a view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanneelizabeth1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in February in a one-bedroom studio. The room was quite large, with a separate kitchenette/living room area and bedroom and very large bathroom with shower and tub. The room was clean and the furnishings were nice. Really, my only complaint about the room was that the window was quite small (we were on the top floor, under the eaves). However, the view was absolutely perfect so it is a small complaint. I believe we paid extra for the lake view but I am not sure how much more it is than the non-lake view (whatever it was, it was worth it!)

Service at the front desk, in the restaurant, and room service were all fabulous. Note - if you ask for breakfast to arrive between 8 and 8:30, it will arrive promptly at 8! We got confused about an early morning pickup for a flight to Milford Sound on the day we were checking out and so were not ready and packed up, but the hotel allowed us to do late checkout when we got back from the excursion (very late checkout actually since it's supposed to be at 10am and we left at 1pm), which was another example of really great service. There was free wifi in the lobby and wifi available in the room for nominal fee (I can't remember how much it was, but I think it was similar to the other NZ hotels we stayed in that also charged for room wifi).

We had a meal in the restaurant that was one of the best in NZ and the room service breakfasts were delicious as well. I liked the location, mainly because being up the steep hill meant we had that beautiful view. And, it is such a short walk to be right in the middle of Queenstown shops and restaurants so we found it to be quite convenient.

This was probably the most expensive hotel we stayed in on our NZ trip but it was quite special.

Room Tip: You must get a lake view! You will probably need to pay extra for it, but it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison_722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in mid February 2014 and could not find any faults with this hotel. The room was immaculate and the breakfast was delicious . Wee had any issue with our hire car whilst staying here but all was sorted by the fantastic staff who were immensely helpful. We dined one night in the hotel and would certainly recommend the food, the wine and their service. Overall this was a hotel which I would certainly return to and recommend without hesitation to anyone visiting Queenstown.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GB0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice hotel but they nickeled and dime you every possible way.

Seriously if you are paying over $400 a night for a hotel should they really charge you $15 dollars for every 400MB of internet use, especially when the youth hostel next door had free wi fi.

If the fancy breakfast buffet cost $25 dollars should they charge extra for a latte.

If the room did not have heat

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Good Morning Larry

It is with much concern that I read of your dissatisfaction with our offering and value proposition. Whilst generally, I'm confident our pricing is commensurate to the market for a centrally located 5 star property, I acknowledge that our internet offering during your stay required improvement. This has been an ongoing project for us, and I'm pleased to report that we have now extended our complimentary WiFi product to better meet the needs and expectations of guests staying here.

Many thanks
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in Feb. Room was quite large with lovely view over lake (6th floor). Only drawback was no air conditioning as it happened to be very hot while we were there. However, door to balcony open and fan on all night made it just about ok.
It is a bit of a steep walk up from town, but it's quite short, and the location is pretty good really.
We ate in the restaurant one night and it was good. Breakfast too was fine - good service and they did keep replenishing things frequently - reasonable price at NZ$ 19.50 for continental.
Staff were all excellent - even the guy who took our bags to the room stayed and chatted with us and suggested activities. Then the receptionist and concierge staff were also very helpful, and the restaurant staff always asked about what we had done/ were planning to do, and seemed genuinely interested in the reply.
I know others have complained about the limited internet, but at least they give you a free allowance each day - better than some more expensive hotels we have stayed in!

Room Tip: Lake view is a must - ask for a high floor - you really need to be on 4,5 or 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Address: 10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defined by a warm spirit and distinctive style that embodies the spirit of Queenstown. Blending understated luxury with warmth, and genuine hospitality, Hotel St Moritz is superbly located in town and has panoramic lake and mountain views. Offering traditional Guest Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Alpine Suites, each room cleverly blends timeless classics with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort. Dine in Lombardi - a relaxed ambience, offering an array of dining styles and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Moritz Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
St Moritz Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown St Moritz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing