We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, amazing views...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent location, amazing views...”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have just attended a conference at this location, and everything was fantastic. The one bedroom suites are huge, with great views. Really comfy beds made my stay even more relaxing. The rooms have kitchenettes and a washer/dryer which would be great if you wanted to save money. No cable TV, so only limited channels available.

Location to town is excellent, only a short stroll to restaurants, bars, shops, waterfront. Lots of great places to walk and take in the incredible views - they really need to be seen to be believed.

Staff at St Moritz come from around the world and they are very attentive to your needs. I was staying on the second floor, but the current bathroom renovations did not affect me at all.

Room Tip: Room 601 was stunning, with a deck and hot tub looking over incredible views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyajane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    537
    162
    56
    23
See reviews for
309
1,086
60
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Service and the staff were great and pleasant here and they let us check in early after we arrived early from the airport (our first day in New Zealand). Hotel was close to downtown Queenstown and the Skyline Gondola although it is up a steep hill when walking back!

However, for the supposed 4 star rating the hotel did not meet our expectations. The room/furniture/bathroom were clean but old, dated and disappointing. Some of the light fixtures did not work. Our view was not of the lake but a graffiti covered wall.

Overall, we enjoyed our time here but I would recommend looking at other options in Queenstown that may be better quality or value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Hitesh

Your commendations about our team are well received and I'm delighted we were able to provide you with an early check in after a long flight. It is however a shame that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. The hotel's furnishings are residential in aesthetic, and I certainly respect that such decor is not to everyone’s taste. The light fixtures that weren't working have since been fixed and we are currently in the process of removing the graffiti across the road that you could see on a council wall.

With thanks
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Service was fantastic from checkin to checkout, they recognized us as "accor platinum" members and were given a nice upgrade, the suites with lake views are great, bathrooms are a bit dated.
Views are the best, very comfy bed. Nice equipped small kitchen.
Tv stations are very limited. We were on the 5th floor, their is some noise as they are renovating from 9-5. Hotel is not and cannot be accessed at ground level, is a problem if you are not a good walker as involves some hills. Only 3-4 minute walk to town and shops. Parking is only via valet as no street or outside parking at all.
Lobby and restaurant atmosphere was very nice, restaurant quality was generally ok but their were some issues.
Thanks to all the staff and, a big thanks to Jo the acting manager who made our stay a very happy one.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view even if you have to pay extra it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarrodpercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jarrod

It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and I'm so pleased that you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay. Your feedback is sincerely valued as we continuously strive to ensure a memorable experience for all our guests - the Team will be delighted to hear of your commendations.

With Gratitude
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our family of 3 shared a 1 bedroom "garden room"suite. It was luxurious & spacious & had its own beautiful outdoor patio area with garden & table & chairs. I had requested a quiet room & it was wonderfully quiet. Although it wasnt officially a room with a view we were lucky in that our room (number 131) had a view of the Remarkables between 2 neighbouring buildings.
We all loved the comfort of the bed, its a firm mattress with individual bases and a 50cm thick down filled topper over the mattress - feels amazing when you lie down.
My husband usually has trouble sleeping a full night and he slept for 11 hours in this amazing bed!
Our son slept on the sofa bed, not nearly as comfortable as our bed but it was fine.
My husband enjoyed reading in the warm hot tub with the water jets massaging his back.
All the staff we met were very well mannered, helpful & professional.
We went to happy hour at the bar each night (1/2 price drinks & complimentary snacks) mainly to watch the sun set over the Remarkable mountain range, the view is mind blowing.
Lots of positives but 2 negatives: one is they charge $15/night for parking, we chose to park on the street right outside the hotel entrance for free.
Secondly, very restricitive wi-fi access, very unusual for a luxurious hotel in my experience & quite ironic that the Backpacker lodge next door had free parking & unlimited free wi-fi.

Room Tip: If you choose a room without a view ask for a garden room, quiet & has own outside garden patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyVerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear NZ Family of Three

I very much enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the time and care you've taken to do so. I was delighted to read about the highlights of your stay - in particular the comfort of our beds and those sunsets on The Remarkables - they are truly captivating. My team and I hope you and your family will visit us again in the near future.

With Gratitude
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We travelled as a group of eight friends, and I had not organised the trip nor booked this hotel. Looking at photos of it online, and seeing what looked to be the original eighties decor, I was not expecting this hotel to be as comfortable, well-organised and clean as it turned out to be. Compliments must go to the excellent staff (comprising French, Brazilians, Indians, German, Irish and Japanese) who ran this place like clockwork.
Worth mentioning is the central position of the hotel, with its excellent views over the lake. The bar and its 'happy hour' was a perfect start to our evenings. We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was quite good, and the service excellent. A good wine list too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the lake. Remember to turn down (or turn off) the room's heating, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Miguel

I'm genuinely thrilled to read how St Moritz exceeded your expectations - particularly as you hadn't chosen us yourself. Of most delight is to read your compliments about our diverse and incredible team - your commendations have been shared with them all proudly. It is hearing of experiences such as yours that motivate my team to provide the exceptional service they do. Thank you.

Warmest Regards
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Staff & Service were brilliant. The only negative was that the bed was too soft, so I didn't sleep that well! I don't feel that I need to write more other than to say I would recommend it to others.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Maddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Maddie

Thank-you for your praise and recommendations - it is sincerely appreciated. Just to note for next time: the softness of the beds relates to a feather mattress overlay placed on all our mattresses - we're very happy to remove these on request, and leave a firmer sleeping surface. I hope we'll see you again in the near future.

Many thanks
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Address: 10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defined by a warm spirit and distinctive style that embodies the spirit of Queenstown. Blending understated luxury with warmth, and genuine hospitality, Hotel St Moritz is superbly located in town and has panoramic lake and mountain views. Offering traditional Guest Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Alpine Suites, each room cleverly blends timeless classics with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort. Dine in Lombardi - a relaxed ambience, offering an array of dining styles and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Moritz Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
St Moritz Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown St Moritz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing