We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in queenstown ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in queenstown ”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay with exceptional service. We stayed in a room with lake views that were unobstructed. The hotel has an ideal location that is just far enough out of town to be totally quite but close enough to never have to drive. Only takes 5 mins to get to town. Fair price for a top notch hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jeffrey

Reading your review this morning was a real delight - thank you. My talented team will be so grateful that you enjoyed their service. We are truly fortunate to be located where we are - stunning views and close proximity to town - the best of both worlds. We hope to welcome you back soon.

With gratitude
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    537
    162
    56
    23
See reviews for
310
1,086
60
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I based ourselves here in the first ten days of April following a recommendation from our travel agent. We were not disappointed
The St Moritz has an excellent location overlooking Lake Wakatipu and only 400 metres from the wharf and centre of Queenstown. We stayed four nights in three different lake view rooms or suites as we came and went on various walking and adventurous activites in the Fiordland and Mt Aspiring National Parks. We left our luggage at the St Moritz and on each occasion of our return it was pre-positioned in the room we returned to each new time.
The rooms themselves are very good with an interesting art deco 1930's Swiss styling. They are comfortable and well appointed and the beds wonderful after a long day of exploring. The views over the lake are spectacular; those on the fifth floor really good. Breakfast in the restaurant was good with a large variety of hot and cold choices. There is an evening dinner service here but we chose to eat in the many restaurants in town. Cocktails at the bar however were very good.
The staff here are well trained and speak english well given many are from overseas. Nothing was too much trouble. Samantha was a particularly welcoming host. There is a hot tub here and a great mini gym that I would have liked to use but we ran out of time
Overall we were very happy with the St Moritz and would recommend it to those looking for a slightly more expensive hotel in Queenstown in a superb location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a 1 bedroom suite just for the night - booked as a mystery deal on Wotif. The service was great, food in the restaurant was beautiful and room was a good size. Bed very comfortable, decent size bathroom with an awesome big bath which our daughter loved. We had wonderful views from our room and the restaurant. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Alana

The unknown of booking accommodation via a Mystery Deal is always a little exciting due to taking the risk of not knowing what to expect. I'm thrilled you had a great time and that your daughter especially loved the bath tub in your room. We hope to welcome you all back soon!

Warmest Regards
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepwater, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed in Queenstown for 3 nights,staff at Hotel were very friendly. The rooms are very large, big Bathroom with a nice deep bath and roomy shower.the bed was Kingsize and very comfy. We asked for a room with a view of the lake,which we got on the 2nd day at no extra cost , with the tiniest balcony I have seen, but fabulous view. I am a smoker and by shutting the door to the room I could have a smoke. I always carry a small tin with me to use as an ashtray. They have a bigger balcony for Smokers off the Dining room too.
Service in the Dining room at night was a bit slow I thought, considering there were not too many guests dining. So don't know what it would be like when they are really busy.
Breakfast was good, with some good choices. All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Brigitte

Your positive and frank review is much appreciated. I'm glad to read that you found my staff friendly and that we were able to extend a complimentary lake view on your 2nd night - our rooms with a balcony are most certainly a great option for our smoking guests.

Kind Regards
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a Grab-One deal to stay for three nights. We knew the hotel was 5-star, but we reserved our expectations. From the moment we arrived, we were blown away with the service, room, and food.

The hotel desk clerk greeted us warmly and was very accommodating. The rooms were huge and spacious, and the bed, well lets say it was as wide as it was long. It was also very clean. Even the cleaners we met were very courteous and always greeted you with a smile.

We had dinner in the restaurant as we were tired from our drive from Christchurch, and the service was next to none. Even while waiting in the bar having drinks, the staff treated the rude and obnoxious group next to us (I'm ashamed to say they were Australian) with the same courtesy and professionalism as the rest of their guests.

Breakfast was included, and the service and food was great. The young lady (I think her name was Nadia or something like that) was really nice and helpful. We had seen her the previous night doing dinner, and after talking to her found she was helping out with extra shifts due to the sudden Easter/ANZAC week rush. She was terrific and looked relaxed, though it was very busy.

I have a side note for guests, just because hotel staff are there to help you, they are not your personal servants/slaves, so don't treat them as such. They deserve our courtesy, and please and thank you goes along way.

We will definitely coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kim

I'm absolutely thrilled that Hotel St Moritz exceeded your expectations in all aspects of your stay. I am truly fortunate to work with the talented individuals on my team whom genuinely care for each and every one of our guests - I will certainly share your commendations with them all, especially Navjeet who will be delighted to know of the impression she made on you during your visit. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here on a conference recently. Staff were very helpful, rooms very large with great views out over the lake and the most comfortable bed I've slept in (apart from my own). you can walk into the centre of town in 5 minutes and escape back to the comfort of this small boutique hotel with a great open fire. Nice breakfast on site too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Russell

Thank-you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us during your conference and that you were able to feel as comfortable here as you would at home. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back - perhaps your next holiday destination?!

Warmest Regards
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have just attended a conference at this location, and everything was fantastic. The one bedroom suites are huge, with great views. Really comfy beds made my stay even more relaxing. The rooms have kitchenettes and a washer/dryer which would be great if you wanted to save money. No cable TV, so only limited channels available.

Location to town is excellent, only a short stroll to restaurants, bars, shops, waterfront. Lots of great places to walk and take in the incredible views - they really need to be seen to be believed.

Staff at St Moritz come from around the world and they are very attentive to your needs. I was staying on the second floor, but the current bathroom renovations did not affect me at all.

Room Tip: Room 601 was stunning, with a deck and hot tub looking over incredible views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyajane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Address: 10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defined by a warm spirit and distinctive style that embodies the spirit of Queenstown. Blending understated luxury with warmth, and genuine hospitality, Hotel St Moritz is superbly located in town and has panoramic lake and mountain views. Offering traditional Guest Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Alpine Suites, each room cleverly blends timeless classics with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort. Dine in Lombardi - a relaxed ambience, offering an array of dining styles and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Moritz Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
St Moritz Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown St Moritz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing