We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best winery in the region”
Review of Peregrine Wines

Peregrine Wines
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$119.06*
and up
Original Wine Tour
Ranked #41 of 119 things to do in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Peregrine Wines are the producers of the Peregrine, Saddleback and Mohua range of wines, located an easy 25 minutes drive from Queenstown in the heart Gibbston. Surrounded by a rugged and majestic landscape, our stunning Winery building has won international awards and accolades for its design and construction, which evokes the wingspan of a Peregrine (native falcon or Karearea) as it glides on thermal air rising from the heated land.Peregrine is a boutique, artisan producer of a premium range of wines that focus on Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris, Riesling and Chardonnay. It is a brand that since the first vintage has gain reputation both domestically and internationally as one of New Zealand’s iconic wine brands.Come and visit us at the Cellar Door every day from 10am-5pm. We trust that you will leave with fond memories of both our winery and our fabulous wines.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
432 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
“The best winery in the region”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We visited quite a few wineries in the Gibbston Valley and whilst all of them had good wines to try, TWO aspects set Peregrine apart.

1. Peregrine was the only winery that did not charge a tasting fee - an impost that is quite off-putting for someone such as ourselves who regularly visits the Hunter Valley near Sydney. (Yes, most of the other wineries revoke the fee upon a minimum purchase of wine but this can be as much as $60)

2. The stunning architecture and beautifully landscaped surroundings.

In addition, the staff were very friendly and happily volunteered to wrap our wine in bubble wrap when told that we were from overseas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    39
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

What a lovely place! We were greeted by the manager Rebecca who invited us to view the cellar area as soon as we arrived. Then she asked us if we wanted to try some of the wines, we tried around 6 different wines and she also explained many things to us regarding the export, differences in tastes and was generally very knowledgable about her product. Great experience!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great winery, well worth a visit”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Great selection of wines of various prices.
Tastings were very good and generous and the commentary was very knowledgeable and non confrontational.
Very educational about their supportingof conservation of various birds.
Barrel room is great for photo opportunities

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

They have the most beautiful wines and a lovely backdrop to enjoy it all against. They provided with you so much information about the wines and process and it was a great experience. They even gave me an order form so I can order from here in OZ.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Epic wines and a winery that has to be seen to be believed”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Popped in for a tasting and was treated to an amazing selection of wines from the super helpful cellar door staff... this place is state of the art and is what real winemaking is all about.... pinot to die for, an awesome rose and an excellent Chardonnay too...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sgmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peregrine Wines also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Peregrine Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing