We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We have been there in March and got lucky because they gave us one of the best rooms, with an amazing view of the lake below. We didn't stay much (only one night) but the staff was very nice and the room was quiet and tidy. The only disadvantage is that is not easily reachable if you have got some deambulation problem, as its position is on top of a very steep road.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matteo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Very positive comments about you enjoying the great views of the lake from your room.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    281
    118
    36
    11
See reviews for
117
288
46
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quiet centrally located in the city of queenstown. The rooms are clean and spacious and comfortable. It overlooks the lake so gives a nice view from your hotel room. The hotel has all the basic facilities and the staff is very helpful and welcoming. We stayed at the hotel for 3 night and it was a nice comfortable stay. The market is jus 5 mins walking distance from the hotel. Its worth the money.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vaishnavi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

We value your positive comments also about enjoying the views from your room.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night during our 3 night stay in Queenstown. The place is a bit old, requires some renovation (especially the toilet/bathroom). Parking was a bit crowded and troublesome. Otherwise the stay is OK with reasonable access to town and helpful staff. The manager actually moved his car to make room to park my car :). Overall not a disappointment, but just average.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank in_oz_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel in Queenstown.

We value our guests comments as it helps us make improvements where possible.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Upon check in toilet was dirty, bathroom vanity had hair on it, floors were dirty, powerpoint in bathroom didn't work. Had to call reception at 2am to complain of ongoing excessive noise of guests partying in adjoining room. Fire alarms went off at 7.30am first morning, then 6am, 7.30am and 8am second morning - no good nights sleep or sleep ins here. Guest laundry was filthy - literally dirt all over top of both washing machines and inside. Dryers looked like never cleaned. Tokens for laundry charged at $2 each one day - the next day they were $4 - when we questioned this we were treated like liars, no apologies were issued or offers to honour original price (a petty issue but on top of everything else it seemed like a big deal). Rooms were creaky and noisy - can hear people walking around in adjoining rooms and everyword ppl say outside - they should invest in double glazed windows. No allocated parking meant that other guests parked right up against our door and we had less than half a metre to squeeze past the car with our bags to get to our car in a back parking lot. Really tainted our stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimMiller925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel, we value commenst from our guests as it helps us make improvements where needed.

I have read all your comments about the room allocated during your stay and have taken action on the items we can correct before the next guest stays.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights & felt it was good value - albeit we were in a 2nd floor room which had a great view of the lake.
The distance from town/slope is fine if you are mobile & all staff we dealt with were very friendly.
It is a long established hotel which is evident in some areas - but all clean & maintained, & was a great location for the price. The hour free wifi in room was enough for our needs.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeteWR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

I'm glad you found the staff friendly and our location good during your stay, along with enjoying the great views, we value your positive feedback.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed there recently, great value for money, very very clean and tidy. Reception staff were just so friendly and helpful. Had dinner in their restaurant and it was delicious and the staff there were fantastic and made sure that we were happy well done!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get one with an awesome view of the lake just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Very positive comments about you enjoying your room, staff, meals and all at great value for money.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The photos make the hotel look a bit better than what they are :)
The service was ok - nothing special they weren't that friendly, just rushed through everything.
It has a good location, just walking distance to the heart of the city.
Only bad comment I would say is the noise. VERY noisy, we could hear everything. I would describe it to the same as sleeping in a tent :) could hear everything from the kitchen, them talking, doing dishes everything.People walking by, people talking in other rooms etc. didn't have the best sleep and I am a heavy sleeper!
View is good though, could see the lake from our room which was nice. If your looking for somewhere cheap this is ok.

Room Tip: ask for one with a room and not close to the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0phia8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel, it helps us to make improvements where appropriate.

I am pleased you enjoying the great views from your room down the lake, and the great location of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
880 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Property: Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Circle a Line Hotel
Scenic Circle a Line Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing